We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
See the most recent reviews
Showing 286: English reviews
Central Finland, Finland
Reviewed 15 September 2016

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yingchuanw
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

miami fl
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Very cordial and helpful staff when I needed an extra lamp for reading and an internet router to boost the spotty wifi. Very good breakfast and another meal I took at the on site restaurant. If hiking nearby mountains does not provide enough exercise there is a very well equipped gym. I stayed in what was likely the original hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biggerduck
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service of our staff, the breakfast offer, our gym facilities as well as our mountains in Grindelwald. We are sorry that we could not meet you expectations regarding the room. Many thanks for staying with us!

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We stayed in one of the self catering rooms, behind the hotel building. The room was spacious, equipped and airy. There is a lovely patio with a (partial) view of Eiger. The reception staff (Saskia) were quite friendly and helpful. We used the laundry machine, and due to some reason we over ran the laundry hour. The staff were quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nivi_vj
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. With pleasure we hear that you had a good time with us! Thanks for the suggestions regarding the light and the kitchen facilities. With pleasure we will take note about it when we will refurbish the appartements.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice room, very nice terrace, very nice bathroom, one of the few places with English tv satellite stations, very well decorated in a modern but fun way, very comfy bed, and very friendly staff. What more could you want?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gilhoop S
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review - we are very happy that you had a great time with us!

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We've been to this hotel three times now and have found it to be a delight on each occasion. It is located in the centre of Grindelwald on the main street. Access to cablecars, buses and trains is within easy walking distance. The views of the Eiger and surrounding area are excellent from the rooms, especially at the front of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajlms18890
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely feedback! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again and that you had some unforgettable moments in our mountain region! Best wishes and we hope to see you again with us!

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Rented one of the apartments (not listed, get it by emailing them). Large bedroom/living/dining room, separate bedroom with bunk bed , kitchenette, bathroom, deck. Great for family. Apartments are clean, functional, quaint (not posh), but a good deal. Front desk is fantastic. They put a wifi hotspot in room, that worked great. Hdtv in room (used chromecast to watch home...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ictict
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback! We are glad to hear that you had a great time with us! We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Bantry, Ireland
Reviewed 12 August 2016

We stopped here while going up to Kleine Sceidegg. Strolled up the main street mainly for the spectacular view of the Mountains in the backdrop as well as to get a quick bite to eat between changing of trains. Ordered 2 platters - one off course had to be the Swiss Rosti and the other one was a cold meat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debub
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review - we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Swiss food!

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We stayed in one of the so-called apartments that are behind the hotel itself. They are reasonable in price - at least compared to most options in this very expensive, but charming little town. We had realistic expectations having seen the pictures beforehand, but I would still say that we were surprised by exactly how old the decor was. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ebennike
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback - we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and do apologize for the circumstances regarding the W-lan. We will take care to solve the problem! Best wishes from Grindelwald

London
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Superb hotel. Welcome at reception from Melanie was exceptional. Really enjoyed spending Swiss Day here. Room very good, breakfast great. Very central. Highly recommend. Extra nice as a late booking when another hotel said that they did not have our booking despite us having paper confirmation - avoid that hotel - Wetterhorn. We have been walking the tour of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy T
EigerSelfnessHotel, Owner at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

We thank you very much for your nice feedback! We are happy to hear that you had an unforgettable stay with us!

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We stayed here for a week in one of the apartments and from our arrival to our departure everything was perfect. The staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful both on reception, breakfast, house keeping and taxi drivers. It's was our ruby wedding and we were greeted with champagne, strawberries and chocolate on our arrival, it made us feel very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jitterbug_12
EigerSelfnessHotel, Inhaber at Hotel Eiger Grindelwald, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in one of our apartments and that you had an unforgettable ruby wedding! Best wishes from Grindelwald

578 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (307)
Viewed
Amenities (79)
Viewed
Basic Double Room (27)
Viewed
Lifestyle Double Room (20)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
Second Basic Double Room (24)
Viewed
Single Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.7 km away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
831 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
725 reviews
0.4 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
269 reviews
0.7 km away
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
Sunstar Hotel Grindelwald
#8 of 41 in Grindelwald
321 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Tschuggen
Hotel Tschuggen
#6 of 41 in Grindelwald
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Barry's
Barry's
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Grill
Bistro Memory
Bistro Memory
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European, Bar
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cosy and uncomplicated hotel in the center of the village Grindelwald. Rooms, suites, apartments and chalets are available. Restaurant Barry's and Galleria with international dishes, bistro Memory with cheese and potato specialities, Gepsi Bar & Lounge. Selfness centre with sauna & spa area, fitness facilities and lounge. Open all year around. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Eiger Grindelwald

Address: Dorfstrasse 133 | Postfach 92, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Price Range: $224 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eiger Grindelwald 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Eiger Grindelwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#2 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#14 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Eiger Grindelwald staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
28 days ago
cardiff
Colombo, Sri Lanka
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Eiger Grindelwald staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Inquire if you are staying in new vs original building”
 of 5 bubbles biggerduck, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms higher up might be better”
 of 5 bubbles nivi_vj, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Best views from Lifestyle rooms on the top floors”
 of 5 bubbles ajlms18890, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing the street on high floors have the best views of the mountains. The apartments work well for families.”
 of 5 bubbles ebennike, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“South facing high floor had a fantastic view of the Eiger”
 of 5 bubbles denisep435, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay