We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

LUGANODANTE

Save
Share
Piazza Cioccaro 5, Lugano 6900 Switzerland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Official Site
US$232
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Destinia.comUS$315
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (624)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (255)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-09-25 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from LUGANODANTE
Updated 20-09-25 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 43 hotels in Lugano
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The LUGANODANTE is located in the heart of Lugano within the city's financial and business district, in a fascinating pedestrian area rich in history, shops and urban lifestyle! Only 1 minute by funicular from main train station and 200 m from Lake Lugano. The hotel services include 84 rooms, an underground parking space, meeting rooms and more.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Classic
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Italian
2507Reviews18Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,096
  • 365
  • 36
  • 8
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Joy C wrote a review Sep. 15
3 contributions
Great service, great food! The BEST breakfast chef ever! It’s right at the end of the funicular stop, so very very easy to get to from the train station. FANTASTIC service by the hotel staff. Very clean, very very comfortable. At the Center of town, close to restaurants and the lake. Thank you for a great stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for the omelet for breakfast! Yummy!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlo Fontana, General Manager at LUGANODANTE
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Suzie567, Thank you very much for your comment. We appreciated it very much! We hope to welcome you very soon again at LUGANODANTE. Best regards, Carlo Fontana, GM
Read more
lisa wrote a review Sep. 11
Céligny, Switzerland1 contribution
Wonderful find and such good value for money - we got 4 nights here and paid for 3. We usually go for 5 stars but knew we would not use spar, pool etc and this felt like 5 star just without those! Super comfy/quiet rooms. Lovely bathroom with powerful shower, delicious breakfast and wonderful helpful staff. Also very good resto. Would definitely go back and highly recommend to our friends
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlo Fontana, General Manager at LUGANODANTE
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Scenic30742326613, I would like to personally thank you for staying with us and for having posted a great comment on TripAdvisor. Your satisfaction, which I know comes from a very experienced and loyal guest, is very important to us. You are a valued guest, please come back and stay with us again and again. Best regards, Carlo Fontana, GM
Read more
Chris Whitfield wrote a review Sep. 10
Carlisle, United Kingdom3 contributions
From the moment we arrived I could feel the warmth and genuineness of the staff at the Luganodante, the checking in process was smooth and the room was fabulous, spacious, modern, clean and we had a very good nights sleep in a comfortable bed. Breakfast was a buffet style and there was more than enough choice. All in all we could not have chosen a better hotel and would strongly recommend the Luganodante to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlo Fontana, General Manager at LUGANODANTE
Responded 1 week ago
Dear cwhitfield1214, Thank you for choosing LUGANODANTE for your stay in Lugano and for spending your precious time writing your beautiful review. We are happy to know that your experience was generally positive. We do always our best to make the experience of our valued guests the most positive possible from the very first moment they pass through our door till the end of their stay. Your satisfaction really means a lot to us. and we are re-energized by compliments like yours. We look forward to greeting you again soon. Best regards Carlo Fontana GM
Read more
XpatAdventurer wrote a review Sep. 4
45 contributions65 helpful votes
Have stayed in this hotel on numerous occasions (solo, with friends, and with my Mother & husband on 3 different trips) when returning to Lugano, where I used to live. The location is quite central, I'll give reviewers that. Nothing else about this hotel is above average (maybe breakfast I guess?), and some things are quite far below average for a highly rated hotel. I cannot understand the reviews here except that Lugano itself is wonderful -- the hotels are just not good if you are an experienced traveller. That's especially true here. Rooms are not particularly nice. It's noisy. The heavy, red, dated carpet is awful. There's not a lovely pool complex. There's no reason to recommend this hotel except that Lugano has so few hotels for the number of visitors. Three stars is generous. I write this because if I read the reviews here and then got to the hotel without understanding the situation with hotels in Lugano, I'd be really upset at the price/quality ratio. Don't expect much from the hotel -- the city is lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlo Fontana, General Manager at LUGANODANTE
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear rebeccasR861CQ, Thank you for choosing LUGANODANTE during your stay in Lugano and for taking the time to provide us with your feedback: we always pay close attention to our guests’ comments, positive or not, as they allow us to improve the quality of our services. We are sorry we could not fully meet your expectations, and to be honest we are also quite surprised, considering that you state in your review having stayed with us on numerous occasions. We are also surprised that you selected November 2020 as the date of your stay. Perhaps you were referring to an experience in 2019 or prior to our renovation. Indeed, we closed our hotel for renovation in late 2019, reopening in July 2020 with an entirely new design. We are classified by HotellerieSuisse (the Swiss Hotels association) as a Boutique and Lifestyle hotel and have indeed no red carpets. As for the pool, we have never claimed to offer such an amenity. As a historic building located in the center of Lugano, we do not have space for a swimming pool. If our guests wish to swim, we recommend the Lido di Lugano, which features both an indoor and outdoor pool (10 minutes’ walk from the hotel). We will not comment on the other aspects of your feedback (breakfast buffet, quality of service and rooms), as they have already been abundantly described in over 2,500 positive reviews from our guests. Finally, saying that all other 2,500 guest reviews are baffling simply because they don't correspond to your opinion may sound a little unfair and is self-explanatory. Best regards, Carlo Fontana, GM
Read more
I H wrote a review Sep. 3
New York City, New York2 contributions
Dont hesitate ! The pictures dont do this hotel justice. Location - best location in center of town. Everything a walking distance of 5 min or less Room - clear, exceptionally well maintained, very comfortable bed and spacious. Breakfast - very good, lots of choices. Staff - helpful, welcoming, attentive. Parking - very comfortable solution. less than 5 min to get the car. Very unique given location in center of the city. This hotel is a GEM and Lugano is amazing. Don't hesitate to book it !
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Carlo Fontana, General Manager at LUGANODANTE
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear ih311, We are so happy you loved your stay with us. Thank you for the nice review. We hope you will get soon the chance to come back to Lugano and enjoy our hospitality. Best regards, Carlo Fontana, GM
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$194 - US$362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
SwitzerlandSwiss AlpsCanton of TicinoLugano
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about LUGANODANTE
Which popular attractions are close to LUGANODANTE?
Nearby attractions include Lake Lugano (0.3 km), Laderach Chocolaterie Suisse (0.07 km), and Parco Ciani (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at LUGANODANTE?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at LUGANODANTE?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at LUGANODANTE?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at LUGANODANTE?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to LUGANODANTE?
Conveniently located restaurants include Agapé, Elementi, and Pasta e Pesto.
Does LUGANODANTE have an airport shuttle?
Yes, LUGANODANTE offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is LUGANODANTE located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Lugano.
Are any cleaning services offered at LUGANODANTE?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at LUGANODANTE?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does LUGANODANTE offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.