We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Show Prices
#28 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,965 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,450: English reviews
Munich
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Nice hotel close to the main railway station, main shopping street and center. Excellent service and hospitality. I would recommend for anybody who is looking for quiet, comfortable hotel close to Zurich downtown.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Piotr_MM
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive feedback on tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you back soon, sincerely, Monica

Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Recommended by our travel agent and they didn't let us down! A bit expensive, as we expected in Switzerland , but worth it. The staff were excellent, the room was small but lovely, the breakfast brilliant. Would recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMPridham
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted you had a memorable stay with us and I will gladly forward your compliments to my team. Best regards, Monica

Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We were with a post-River-Cruise group in May, 2013 and stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel staff did a great job organizing and delivery our luggage. And hotel accommodation was good. Because we were a large group of guests, we were divided by 3 time slots for breakfast that was reasonable. However, the buffet staff allowed us exactly only...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Annie L
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback. While I understand your point regarding the breakfast time slots, it is the only way we can manage to serve breakfast to all of our guests. We are a small boutique hotel with limited space, as you experienced yourself and to seperate guests from others is just not in our spirit of hospitality. For...

Rockford
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed with a large tour group. We found this to be a warm, friendly, beautiful hotel. We prefer small boutique style hotels and this fit the bill - some in our group were disappointed as they prefer the large hotels with big spaces and large rooms We loved the well appointed rooms and the fact that they felt warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KAG102013
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for having taken the time to write about your experience on tripadvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed memorable moments with us and I will make sure to forward your compliments to Peter and his team. By the way: we serve Nespresso coffee (because George Clooney can't be wrong :-) Looking forward to your next visit, best...

Reviewed 4 May 2013

Arrived into Zuerich HB and easierly made our way to this hotel by walking (even with two large suitcases - four wheel versions). Upon arrival our room wasnt ready, however the welcome reception we received from Caroline was extremely warm and apologetic. We simply relaxed in the foyer on comfortable sofas, sipping away on refreshing apple juice and caught up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawjarra
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the tripadvisor community. I am most delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I will certainly forward your compliments to Caroline and the restaurant team. We look forward to welcome you back, best regards, Monica

San Nicolaas, ARUBA
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I liked this hotel, and the ladies on the front desk were very friendly, as well as the doorman. I had a king room in the newer section, while it had all the amenities and comfort, was very small. I really thought that for the normal rate charged at this hotel, the room was rather small. I liked the breakfast...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank twyatt
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your honest feedback. While I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, I am quite frankly shocked about your expereience at check-out and I would like to express my most sincere apologies. I assure you to look into the matter with my front office manager and this will have consequences. I have a zero tolerance policy...

Reviewed 3 May 2013

I often go to Zurich on business trips and generally stay at the Central Hotel. Being fed up with the overpriced, run down and tired feel of the Central I decided to look elsewhere. I took to TA and found this hotel. I was travelling with a colleague and he was skeptical as the exterior of the hotel looks a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CZonholiday
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

First of all, thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor. I am delighted you and your colleague both enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, our façade is not very attractive, which makes it even nicer when you enter our "wooden haven of tranquillity". We have different room categories that differ from one another with the bedding (single or king...

Ireland
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Really nice hotel, well laid out, friendly staff and excellent location. Booked in for 2 nights while working in Zurich and found the place easily, staff gave directions to where i needed to go. Breakfast was good and the staff were nice. Only thing was the rooms were small but i suspect this is common in the City. Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tent_man
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback, we look forward to have you staying with us again shortly. Yes, our standard room sizes are like in most traditional European downtown hotels not too big. FYI: we also offer rooms in our Urban Swiss SUPERIOR king category, which are very spacious and if you book it you'll have a nespresso machine and...

Munich
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We spent our anniversary weekend in Zürich at this hotel and it was perfect! - It is not cheap but you are on Zürich so what do you expect... - Rooms are very nice. The style is a bit older but everything is in very good condition and spotless clean (we were in a king size superior) - The service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank af_sydney
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

We are delighted to you enjoyed such a memorable anniversary weekend in Zurich and with us. Thank you for rieviewing us on tripdavisor. Best regards, Monica

UK
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Went for a weekend to the nice city of Zurich. We were looking for a hotel that was centrally located of the main attractions preferably walking distance including to the tram that takes you to the airport. Overal this was the perfect pick. From the main train station it was about 10-15 min walk. The lobby is nice and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcopolworld
Continental-GM, General Manager at Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your review on tripadvisor. Also, great to hear about your loudspeaker - bath tub experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, best regards, Monica

654 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (505)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (153)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Other (166)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (112)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Room (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#26 of 138 in Zurich
858 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 138 in Zurich
702 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 138 in Zurich
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
814 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#12 of 138 in Zurich
337 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcoming and surprising Hotel Continental Zurich embodies a subtle combination of tradition and urbaneness. Behind its contemporary facade lies a haven of tranquility with an homely feel, enhanced by wooden furniture and large club armchairs. Swiss chalet style runs like a golden thread through all of the rooms creating a cosy and authentic atmosphere. Enjoy cuisine with a Swiss touch in the bar-restaurant l'entupada. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Stampfenbachstrasse 60 | 8006 Zurich, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Price Range: $225 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Zurich Hotel
Continental Zurich zürich
Sofitel Zurich
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Zurich
#17 Family Hotel in Zurich
#24 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#27 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#33 Business Hotel in Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Hampstead, North Carolina
Singapore, Singapore
Perth, Australia
4 months ago
6 months ago
Kuwait City, Kuwait

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not good rooms, all old carpets, old-fashioned. By Sofitel a joke”
 of 5 bubbles frihet30, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Reject a room that faces the main road the hotel is on”
 of 5 bubbles Ian_Behind_Blue_Eyes, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The top floor was very quiet. Choose an upgrade for a more spacious room.”
 of 5 bubbles PurpleEmperor, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“5th floor superior rooms are just perfect”
 of 5 bubbles PhilAthens_Greece, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best would be to ask for a room with a standing shower, instead of a bath with shower. (depends on room type of course)”
 of 5 bubbles FLettens, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5