We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel St. Gotthard

Show Prices
#27 of 134 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel St. Gotthard
Hotel St. Gotthard
Panoramas (48)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

826 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel St. Gotthard
See the most recent reviews
Showing 563: English reviews
Los Angeles
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had an extremely disappointing stay at the Hotel St. Gotthard. We were given rooms on the top floor (likely a former attic with low slanted ceilings). I noticed that there are other positive reviews for this hotel, so it is possible that the rooms on the lower floors are better. However, ours was dusty, outdated, and claustrophobic. Plus, given...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank globaltrotter800
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear globaltrotter800 Thank you very much for staying with us and having taken the time to give us your Extended feedback.We are very sorry that you did not like your stay with us. We take your recommendation very serious and your critics help us to improve our service and installations. We are very sorry that you did not like your...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

centrally located (almost across the street from the main train station) hotel with somewhat modern-ish room decor. ideal for someone taking day trips out of the city since you can quickly walk to HB. The windows face hauptbahnhoffstrasse so the rooms can be a bit noisy on weekends and holidays.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank August H
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear August H Thank you very much for your kind rewiev. We are very glad that you liked our location, directly at the world famous Bahnhofstreet and in the middle of the main shopping area of Zurich. We are sorry, that even of our double isolated windows in the rooms facing to the Bahnhofstreet, you had some noise from the...

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 night/3 days between Christmas and the New Year. We had booked on line directly and thought the hotel was good value related to local prices. We arrived by train with 2 heavy suitcases and we were delighted to find that the hotel was literally 2 minutes walk from.the station. It was very well-situated for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin H
Martin S, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Robin H thank you for staying with us and having taken the time to give us your Feedback. We are very glad that you liked our Location and Service. We highly appreciate your information about the tea/coffee supplies and the breakfast. Those comments help us to improve our service. There must be a missunderstanding about the continental breakfast, our...

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location, very near to Zurich HB train terminus and department stores like Manor and Globus. Nice hotel, helpful and friendly crew. Good food at the hotel's Hummer Bar and Restaurant.. Worth to stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 986ben
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear von 986ben, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy that you liked our Hummer Bar Restaurant which is very well known in Zürich. Your nice words will be also forwarded to our crew. Looking forward welcoming you back at our Hotel. Best regards A.Kascioglu Deputy General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great accommodation tasty breakfast very friendly receptionist, very clean room ,very good location near the train station , shopping center. For my next visit I will definitely stay at the Hotel St. Gotthard.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank khaled a
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Mr Khaled, Thank you very much for your comments. We are very happy that you appreciate our location, breakfast and our services. We will for sure forward your encouraging words to our Team. Looking forward welcoming your back at our Hotel. Kind regards A.Kascioglu

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

the room was really good.. last leg of our Europe trip and it was very comfortable. Its right next to the train station and on a lovely street with all the stores and shops. It is close to all the main attractions and the breakfast was really good. would stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RStravels200
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear RStravels200, Thank you very much for your nice words. We are very happy that last leg of your Europe trip was satisfactory also a little bit thanks to your stay with us. More and more of our guests finds our breakfast very good. We hope to welcome you back soon at our Hotel. Best regards Ahmet Kascioglu

India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service and food. Excellent hotel. Across the road from Zurich hb. Station... Very convenient and centrally located. The concierge is extremely helpful and so are the people at the reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natashaabcdefg
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Natashaabcdefg, Thanky you very much for taking your time and placing your appreciations on Tripadvisor. We will with pleasure forward your nice words to our Concierge and Reception Team. Hope to welcome you back soon at our Hotel. Best regards A.Kascioglu Deputy General Manager

Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

this hotel is excellent!! I loved be there. I spent there three days with my family and everyone loved, the localization, the staffs and the city. I hope will be back soon to the city and of course, to this kovely hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy K
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Lizzy K, We appreciate very much for your time in filling the Tripadvisor form. Thank you for your nice words and we are very happy that we could keep you and your family satisfied at our Hotel. We look forward welcoming you back at Hotel St. Gotthard A.Kascioglu Deputy General Manager

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is just a few steps from the train station and it is in the heart of the shopping street. I had 2 rooms and was happy to be able to check into one of the rooms when I reached there early. Also they upgraded me to a bigger room on the 5th floor. Breakfast was one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buttercarp
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Buttercarp, Thank you very much for taking your time and giving us your opinion about our Hotel. We are very happy that you could profit from one of our free Upgrades depending on the occupancy. A day begins always with a nice breakfast an we appreciate very much that you liked it. We are looking forward welcoming you back...

Pano Lefkara, Cyprus
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

X-Mas SURPRISE we expected to be alone in the hotel in Zurich? - No, at breakfast this morning the restaurant was full. The Manager Mr. Martin of St Gotthard I spoke with said it has a long history of being a family hotel during holiday times. The hotel is super clean everywere, rooms great and service even greater. A hidden...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey C
kascioglu, Manager at Hotel St. Gotthard, responded to this review

Dear Geoffrey C Thank you very much for your positive and motivating words about our Hotel and our service. Zürich is getting more and more attractive during x-mas period. As our Hotel is placed in the hearth of this City and in the middle of shopping and Entertainment area on the fameous "Bahnhofstrasse" we profit alot from this situation. We...

604 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (61)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (397)
Viewed
Double Deluxe Room (50)
Viewed
Executive Suite (76)
Viewed
Junior Suite (46)
Viewed
Other (150)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#41 of 134 in Zurich
343 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#22 of 134 in Zurich
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 134 in Zurich
671 reviews
Central Plaza Hotel
#42 of 134 in Zurich
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel St. Gotthard, built in 1889, has been owned and managed by the Manz family for over a century. Recently refurbished, modernized and enlarged with great attention to details, it can be considered a true architectural achievement in itself and one of the leading business hotels today in Zurich. The five-floor building provides a free Wireless Internet access for all 143 spacious rooms, including 11 Suites. With its three restaurants and the newly designed Lobby and Front Desk area, the Hotel St. Gotthard meets all the expectations of the demanding traveler. The Hotel lies directly in the heart of the city, located on the world famous Bahnhofstrasse, within 10 minutes walk from sightseeing, the business district and Lake Zurich. Caspar Manz, the founder’s grandson, established the famous Lobster and Oyster Bar in 1935 and since then it has been a culinary institution amongst gastronomic circles. Pleasant piano live music will welcome you for your aperitif at the Lobby Bar and will accompany you through the evening. The hotel also has 5 state of the art conference rooms with a capacity of up to 100 people for successful meetings and elegant receptions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St. Gotthard

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 87 | Altstadt, Zurich CH-8023, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Price Range: $250 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Gotthard 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel St. Gotthard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Gotthard
St Gotthard zürich
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#26 Family Hotel in Zurich
#31 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#38 Business Hotel in Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel St. Gotthard staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St. Gotthard staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room facing courtyard is quiet”
 of 5 bubbles HillpeopleAustralia, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lower floor, as the top floor is a former attic which has low ceilings.”
 of 5 bubbles globaltrotter800, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room with balcony”
 of 5 bubbles 986ben, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on the 5th floor. Both rooms 535 & 536 had views of the shopping street and the mountains.”
 of 5 bubbles Buttercarp, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Usual quite rooms of main street, just the opposite if you like to watch outside.”
 of 5 bubbles geoffreyc514, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay