We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Basilea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Basilea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Basilea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 111: English reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I unfortunately had no sleep with noise from both outside and within the hotel. I got up to shower this morning to find the shower head detached (broken) so had to use this as a hose and the smell coming from the bathroom is near unbearable – it’s not actually carpeted but a laminate wicker flooring throughout the room including...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank delish2
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear delish2 Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property, your feedback is important to us. We are very sorry to hear that you had no sleep because of noises. Hotel Basilea is located only five minutes walking distance from Zurich`s main station and amidst the bustling and picturesque old town in the city centre. We...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 18 September 2016

I've stayed at this hotel for about 4 trips now, spanning 2 years. Experience: It's good. It's in the city center and hot-spots nearby are easily accessible esp the main train station. Room: I wish they provided a hot-water kettle. Rooms might be a little small depending on the type you go for but then it's Zurich. I guess some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Parkingby
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear Parkingby Thank you very much for staying with us 4 times already and for your good review. Am glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the cleanliness of our rooms. Hot-water kettles can be borrowed at the reception. We would be happy to welcoming you back another time at the Hotel Basilea Zürich Yours sincerely Michael Weidner

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located, close to the central train station, the river, nice shops, bars and restaurants. The staff at the reception is very nice and helpful. Rooms are large and could've easily accommodated larger beds. But it's not the place where you can rest after a long day working. The pillows are small and uncomfortable, no air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ayman M
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear Ayman M thank you very much for your detailed feedback. Am glad to hear, that you like our staff. We are planning to improve our room- climate during the warm summer season. We would be happy to welcoming you back again to Hotel Basilea Zürich. Yours sincerely Michael Weidner

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel right in the middle of the busy area. In old city with loads of food and drink options around. 5 min walk from train station and about 13 min from airport by car. Rooms are small but clean. You can ask for kettle and electric adaptors, yob just need to pay a refundable deposit. You can borrow the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mahmoud s
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear mahmoud s thank you very much for your detailed feedback. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you like our services. The area is safe during day and night and regularly patrolled by security. We would be happy to welcoming you back another time at the Hotel Basilea Zürich. Yours sincerely...

Freiburg, Germany
Reviewed 7 August 2016

In June, attending a conference, my wife and I spent two nights in this decent Zurich hotel. Since it is not easy to find a hotel in this town both near the universities and at a reasonable price, the organisers booked this three star hotel for us. You may reach it on foot from the Central Station, and at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lahjakas
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear lahjakas Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Hotel Basilea. The hotel is located only five minutes walking distance from Zurich`s main station and amidst the bustling and picturesque old town in the city centre. The area is very safe during day and night and regularly patrolled by security....

Reviewed 16 July 2016

Dated but clean tourist hotel in a very central location. Fairly expensive for what it was - perhaps to be expected given how expensive Switzerland is - but was decent value compared to prices of other hotels in town. Best thing: the central location. It's in the city's red light/bar district so there's a certain 'atmosphere' at night. All very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank muglo505
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear muglo505 thank you very much for your appreciated feedback. Am glad to hear, that our prices are decent compare to the other hotels. We are planning to improve our room- climate during the warm summer season. We would be happy to welcoming you back again to Hotel Basilea Zürich. Yours sincerely Michael Weidner

Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Very good hotel for reasonable price. Small but adequate rooms. Very cooperative and friendly staff. We stayed for 2 nights. Walkable from Zurich train station. This hotel is located at the center of Zurich. You will find many Indian restaurants close to this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dipak B
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear Dipak B Thank you so much for your extraordinary good review. Am glad to hear that you like our staff and our product. At Hotel Basilea we offer different sized rooms, from small budget rooms up to large family rooms. We would be happy to welcoming you back another time at the Hotel Basilea Zürich. Yours sincerely Michael Weidner...

Kandy, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed in two days accessible to city by 05 min walk.very basic facilities were available. Good for short stay .There are restaurants around the hotel so finding meals are not difficult. Room service not good and the staff members are flexible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dissanaw
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear dissanaw Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay at Hotel Basilea. I am pleased to hear that you had overall a good stay with us. Hotel Basilea is located only five minutes walking distance from Zurich`s main station and amidst the bustling and picturesque old town in the city centre....

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Awesome location with the Zurich Railway station and Zurich Lake within 200-300 metres. Look and feel is simple but has all the amenities which are required during your stay. Staff is also very helpful. Good hotel in the offered price specially in Zurich.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raja C
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear Raja C Thank you so much for your good review. We really appreciate it. I am glad to hear that you were happy with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back another time at the Hotel Basilea Zürich. Yours sincerely Michael Weidner

Casablanca, Morocco
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Although by far the cheapest decent hotel in downtown Zurich, the service is professional, the rooms, although very small, are very clean and fully functional, the location is ideal. At night things get heated in the neighborhood with its many bars and night life but there is no noise that reaches the rooms. It is within walking distance (3mn) from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amine Z
Michael W, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review

Dear Amine Z Thank you very much for staying with us and for your good review. Am glad to hear that you were satisfied with our service. We would be happy to welcoming you back another time at the Hotel Basilea Zürich. Yours sincerely Michael Weidner Resident Manager

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Old Town
Hotel Scheuble
Hotel Scheuble
#114 of 138 in Zurich
7 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Limmatblick
Hotel Limmatblick
#105 of 138 in Zurich
143 reviews
Hotel Alexander
#37 of 138 in Zurich
464 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#88 of 138 in Zurich
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 25, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Price Range: $199 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Basilea 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Basilea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilea Hotel zürich
Hotel Basilea Zurich
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Basilea staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Basilea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Back of the hotel is quieter.”
VivienneR811, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Single room number 3 is a quiet room.”
FredvanhetNederend, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No difference which way you face or which floor you pick because there is no view from the rooms.”
World_explorer_HK, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the 3rd/4th floor in the back of the building are quieter.”
LindaBWright, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“perhaps on the rear side”
lahjakas, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5