We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Grey Goose Farm Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newcastle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Grey Goose Farm Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 22: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 September 2016

When looking for a place for our family to spend a weekend, Grey Goose ticked all the boxes and it didn't disappoint! Our rooms were very comfortable, the food very good and as we had four little ones under 10 they just loved being among the animals around the guesthouse, eg ostriches, bunnies, springbokkies, wildebeest and many others. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gibbsfamily
Citta della Pieve, Italy
Reviewed 26 March 2016

We spent 3 days at Grey Goose and loved it. The setting is beautiful, the accommodation comfortable, the food delicious, the staff friendly and helpful and the geese, ostrich, zebra and wildebeest happy to be on show ! We so enjoyed our relaxing few days in this corner of this beautiful country. The only thing missing was wi-fi in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny T
Tanya R, General Manager at Grey Goose Farm Lodge, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Many thanks for the wonderful review. We are in the process of installing WIFI to all our rooms and we are hoping to be up and running before the end of this week! We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Kind Regards Tanya

Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Absolutely shocking. Check the attached picture for the quality of the water that they expect you to shower in and use to brush your teeth. Even after letting the tap run for 40 minutes the water was still seriously brackish. If I showered in that water I would certainly have come out of the shower more dirty than when I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anton_Fanton
Tanya R, Manager at Grey Goose Farm Lodge, responded to this review

Good day Mr Fanton, I do apologize for the water. We did indeed have a burst pipe. I had spoken to Shoan and Pierre (The duty managers) who had assured me that they had made sure that you had clean water on your last day. The water problem was only brought to my attention on the second day when we...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 17 January 2016

The atmosphere alone at Grey Goose farm is amazing. Quiet, open green fields and fresh country breeze. The food there has not disappointed, from breakfast to lunch and the bar late at night. Food is well prepared, fresh and the service to match. Staff members are welcoming and communicate well with customers. I recommend Grey Goose Restaurant to anyone who...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ZWNNKO
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Grey goose is a lovely place, quite and a lot of game, the views are spectacular and the kids are safe . Family room is relaxing, it has air-conditioning flat screen television with all other accessories to let u feel wright at home. Upon arrival we were helped by friendly staff and were accommodated to our room. Food from the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tableview123456
Newcastle, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2016

This was a great experience.The venue is situated between the mountains with a lovely nature view. On arrival we received a friendly welcome by the manager and the staff. After booking in one of the staff members accompanied us to our room. The room was very spacious and clean with a lovely nature view. This is a lovely place if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawiena
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We had a lovely stay at Grey Goose. Our room was very nice and we enjoyed a relaxed weekend stay.We had a lovely view and felt at home. The wedding reception we attended was outstanding and the food was great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Henriette R
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2016

My booking was 29 days in this guest house. I reported the television problem to the management and the reception attandants for 7 consecutive days. No one cared to assist me. I felt that I was treated as trash. The manager on duty told me that he does not watch SABC 1 what do I wanna watch on SABC1 anyway....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricanTravela
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 16 November 2015

We were only in Newcastle for 2 days after a rough 3 days in Bulwer. We enjoyed our stay, farmstyle (it's a real farm with traces of sewage stink - keeping the bathroom door closed does the trick). Seeing the rabbits and the Zebras was the highlight of our stay. It was a quiet and relaxing environment. The only improvements...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nondumisoj
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

The rooms did not have fridges, that was something bad as it got hot around my visit...the staff was friendly but that was not enough to meet the expectations the place gives off as a farm lodge...it's not that all bad but there is still a lot of room for them to grow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neo M

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle hotels
4.3 km away
Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Inn
#2 of 2 in Newcastle
11 reviews
2.8 km away
Avalon Guest Manor
Avalon Guest Manor
#3 of 25 in Newcastle
25 reviews
2.7 km away
iLawu Guest Lodge
iLawu Guest Lodge
#5 of 25 in Newcastle
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Blessings Guesthouse
Blessings Guesthouse
#20 of 25 in Newcastle
1 reviews
4.6 km away
Aberdeen House
Aberdeen House
#2 of 25 in Newcastle
17 reviews
4.9 km away
No photo provided
Patterson B&B
#10 of 25 in Newcastle
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are on a business trip, on holiday, or just want to escape the buzz of everyday life, Grey Goose Game Lodge is the place to be. Enjoy the comfort, tranquility and breath-taking scenery that we have to offer.Whatever the weather, Grey Goose caters for your every need. Enjoy the crisp freshness of your air-conditioned, en-suite room on those hot summer days or for those chilly nights, enjoy a cup of hot chocolate in our cozy lounge.Wake up to the tranquil sounds of nature, and enjoy a scrumptious, full buffet-style breakfast served in our very own “Gooseberries” restaurant (all included in the accommodation rates), or sit outside and enjoy the fresh morning air whilst overlooking the dam and beautiful amphitheatre in the distance.Come and experience our little piece of Africa, relax and let our friendly staff spoil you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grey Goose Farm Lodge

Address: Memel Road, Newcastle 2956, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Newcastle
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Goose Farm Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grey Goose Farm Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Grey Goose Farm Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room in another establishment.”
  • This is the water that you get in the basin, shower and bath. Not a very clean place this.
 of 5 bubbles Anton_Fanton, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Excellent food, prefer Grey Goose over our usual mediocre restaurants.”
 of 5 bubbles ZWNNKO, 17 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Relaxed venue”
 of 5 bubbles Dawiena, 10 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't use if on a business trip.”
 of 5 bubbles Medrep1, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Ask about early account settlement. I did and received a 25% discount on accommodation by settling my account upon arrival rather than departure.”
 of 5 bubbles 651freds, 22 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5