We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Hanzeplein 132, 9713 GW Groningen The Netherlands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (31)
Dining (20)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20-06-25 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from NH Groningen
Updated 20-06-25 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 20 hotels in Groningen
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
The hotel is located in midtown Groningen and in front of the UMCG (University Medical Center Groningenl). It is easy to reach by car; just follow the signs from UMCG.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Telephone
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch, German
1037Reviews3Q+A36Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 336
  • 523
  • 132
  • 28
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
elizer2015 wrote a review Dec. 2020
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands2 contributions
The only thing good is the location. Service really terrible. Booked a 3course dinner, front desk suggested that we could also order dinner from outside despite that we already paid for the dinner in the hotel. Well thanks, but no. The food at dinner wasn't special, not even good actually. At dinner we could pay again for the whole meal. Didn't do this ofcourse. Their way of cleaning the room is putting a lamp over all the mess they made on the table. After giving feedback there wasn't anything they could do for us. Not even apolygise.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Egbert Brinks, General Manager at NH Groningen
Responded Dec. 21, 2020
Via de mail heb ik op 11 december u een mail verstuurd, nadat u deze zelfde opmerkingen hebt doorgegeven via de enquete. In deze mail ben ik ook ingegaan op de fouten die we gemaakt hebben en heb ik u een voorstel gedaan hoe we dit kunnen compenseren..
Read more
michaelgesser wrote a review Nov. 2020
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands1 contribution
Despite the Corona restrictions, I experienced a very pleasant stay at the hotel. Good service, breakfast and dinner was great and the facilities clean and adequate. As the hotel is located just in front of the UMCG Hospital I needed to work, I like to book this hotel on a regular basis. I would definitely recommend this hotel for business and even private stays.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
j3fftse wrote a review Oct. 2020
2 contributions
Due to Corona Pandemic, not every EU Countries shut down their borders, but if you come back from certain Countries you have to Quarantine yourself for 14 days, and it can be a decission of the Healthministerium in less than 24 hours. This Hotel doesnt tolerate any reason from this Situation. For someone who is unable to quarantine, we had to cancel our trip once the decision was made that we would need to quarantine returning from this country. This hotel was not accommodating in these uncertain times and will charge you 90% from your full price. JT
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Egbert Brinks, General Manager at NH Groningen
Responded Oct. 7, 2020
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for sharing your comments via Tripadvisor. Hopefully I understand your comments well and otherwise please contact me. You tried to cancel your reservations with us, due to the Quarantine rules of your country after returning from us. Our reservation policy for normal reservations does make this possible until 16 hours on the day of arrival free of charge. There are some restrictions, for example the prepaid and promo rates, which gives you discounts, but less flexibility. This is agreed by you when making the reservation. The risk for cancelling these types of bookings is with the booker. If you do not want to take the risk, than it makes sense to choose the regular and flexible rate. But if you take the risk, you should also accept the consequences. That is what we agreed when making the booking, we can not change the rules afterwards. For bookings made via a third party, the third party decides what policy they follow. In that case you should contact them.
Read more
Peter_Ahouse wrote a review Aug. 2020
Eindhoven, The Netherlands169 contributions30 helpful votes
We have stayed at many NH hotels and the quality defers much. In this case too. The room was excellent it's location great but that's where it ends. Breakfast was a joke and yes probably due to covid19 different than normal but we've been in other hotels during this pandemic and there's no comparison. We used it only once and went out the other days and had quality instead. Parking was also a big issue with zero support from the hotel staff. Ended up parking at the hospital at 20 euro a day...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Egbert Brinks, General Manager at NH Groningen
Responded Aug. 30, 2020
It is correct that we offer a different breakfast as you may expect from us in normal times. How hotels are dealing with this coid topic are different, but NH Hotels chose to take no risks. The breakfast we serve is safe and the only way too make the social distancing possible. It is strange that the reception did not help you with parking, while we have better alternatives than the parking of the hospital. I will discuss this with my team, my appologies for this.
Read more
Piotr Z wrote a review Aug. 2020
9 contributions16 helpful votes
The hotel itself looks very shabby. Crude looks is nothing compared to poor service however. On the second day of our visit we were refused breakfast (which was included). Wi-fi did not work (it was advertised that they have free wi-fi) then they tried to up-sell you to paid wi-fi. On top of it the location can be noisy at night - it is right next to a big hospital, ambulances and helicopters landing nearby. In short: Avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Egbert Brinks, General Manager at NH Groningen
Responded Aug. 30, 2020
Dear sir, Due to the covid we asked our guest to reserve a table for breakfast. We offered 4 different time blocks. But when a guest arrives at a different time then reserved and there are no tables available......It is not possible to enter the restaurant when there are no tables free to use. As an alternative we offered you a take away breakfast whcih you could take to your room. Unfortunatly this was not an option for you. Wifi should work properly in the hotel since we did an update last year, so may be there was acommunication problem. Normally we offere a helpdesk in stead of a paid wifivoucher. But for streaming video's the wifi is not sufficient, specially when there are more users online. In that case we offer the paid vouchers as a solution.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$82 - US$135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
nh hotels groningen
LOCATION
The NetherlandsGroningen ProvinceGroningen
NUMBER OF ROOMS
127
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about NH Groningen
Which popular attractions are close to NH Groningen?
Nearby attractions include Forum Groningen (0.5 km), Sint Geertruidsgasthuis (0.4 km), and GRID Graphic Museum Groningen (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at NH Groningen?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at NH Groningen?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at NH Groningen?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at NH Groningen?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to NH Groningen?
Conveniently located restaurants include De Kleine Heerlijkheid, Restaurant Schuitendiep, and De Branderij.
Is NH Groningen located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Groningen.
Are any cleaning services offered at NH Groningen?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does NH Groningen offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at NH Groningen?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to NH Groningen?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hoofdstation Groningen (1.3 km), Sint Anthonygasthuis (0.7 km), and Jacob en Annagasthuis (1.2 km).