We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bij-de-Amstel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 29: English reviews
Start your review of Bij-de-Amstel
 Click to rate
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

I made my reservation through Booking.com. I mention this because my comments may not apply on reservations made on other sites/platforms. They show you a price, but oh wait! You have to add linen (yes, linen) and cleaning (these I sort of understand) fees, which in my case, added more than €45 to the total price. This information *is* on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
Nimy, Belgium
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

My sister and I have visited Amsterdam many times but we wanted to make this visit a bit different. Staying at Bij-de-Amstel completely enhanced the experience. The apartment was a great size for the two of us, and it was clean and the bathroom was excellent (no bath but that definitely wasn't an issue for us). There was a lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flism82
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as hotels booked up. I'm not very picky normally. Told there was no lift so the stairs were fine. Really disappointed there was no wifi. Unacceptable as this was advertised and a vital selling point. Would not normally mind if away for a visit but as was in business this was no good. Tried to make contact with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgiegirl27
bijdeamstel, Owner at Bij-de-Amstel, responded to this review

Indeed there was a disturbance with the WIFI connection, which could not be solved during your stay, as we explained several times. In the meantime WIFI is working perfect and I really feel sorry for you that it wasnot during your stay. We didnot know that this interruption of the WIFI would happen. We checked the lights and we couldnot...

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed 3 days at the B&B Bij-de-amstel. Honestly it was horrible! First of all they weren't expecting us, so the room wasn't CLEAN (we paid extra 35 pounds for cleaning on the arrival and the room was never cleaned while we stayed there) or READY .. basically the OWNER demanded us to carry the mattress up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Inês R
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Everything about this b&b is great! It was our first experience of staying in rental apartment,but turned out to be great! Apartment is very clean and tidy , located in a very nice area on a bank of Amstel chanel! The owner was very nice and helpful!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natali K
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This accomodation is located in a residential part of Amsterdam so it is perfect if you do not want to stay in the hustle and bustle of the centre. However it is less than a 5 minute walk to the metro and then in only 10 minutes you will be back in the centre of Amsterdam. On arrival at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dannydbessex
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed in the bed and breakfast for 3 nights in October and we really loved it. The room and en suite were spacious and very clean. The bed was really comfortable! The apartment is in a quiet residential area but is right on the metro line so it's very easy to get into the city. The owner, Willemien, was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
Novara, Italy
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed at the bed and breakfast for three nights. Willemien was helpful and kind. The room was clean and nicely furnished, with lots of light, overlooking quiet gardens. There was a ceiling fan as well, which was useful given the summer temperatures. There was no breakfast available, but in the room we had a boiler we could use, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColdCappuccino
Sabie, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Reviewed 23 November 2012

It is a wonderful place to stay if you want to be on your own. Willemien was very kind and helpful. We had a wonderful time and recommend this place if you want to stay in a quite area in Amsterdam. The place is very near the metro and a small shopping place for your milk and bread.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank laeveld
Padua, Italy
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed in the bed&kitchen room for 4 nights, the room was quiet and noiseless and the location was in a residential quarter but very close to the metro stop. In the bathroom there was several towels and shower products so we didn't need to bring them from home. Nice and friendly, good price for the location and the provided...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Betbetbet

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#40 of 366 in Amsterdam
1,205 reviews
Fletcher Hotel Amsterdam
#131 of 366 in Amsterdam
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 366 in Amsterdam
798 reviews
Hotel Victorie
#256 of 366 in Amsterdam
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bij de Amstel is a cosy, quiet ‘Bed & Breakfast’ and ‘Bed & Kitchen’, situated in a beautiful area at a stones throw from the river from which Amsterdam derives its name. During a tourist and/or business visit to Amsterdam, Bij de Amstel is an ideal operating base to rest and enjoy yourself, while surrounded by luxury and comfort. You will find our colourful, fully equipped studio with private access in the attic of our nineteenth-century house. Very suitable for a longer – business stay. Also very suitable for parents with child.‘Bed & Breakfast’ is a spacious double-bedded room, situated quietly on the first floor at the back of the house. The room is equipped with all conveniences (bathroom with bath, internet, TV). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bij-de-Amstel

Address: Burmanstraat 9, 1091 SG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: $182 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bij-de-Amstel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We chose the ensuite room and it was large and comfortable. Pull the bell when you arrive as the family can hear that better than the push button bells.”
artpainter, 13 Oct 2012 | Read review
“Ask the owner if there also an other business in the house.”
Janv884, 22 Sep 2012 | Read review
“phone or email”
beckamalex, 12 Apr 2011 | Read review
3 of 3