We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

873 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 659: English reviews
Start your review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
 Click to rate
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great atmosphere. Very classy hotel, nice rooms, great bathroom. Loved the spa. Makes me happy to be an IHG Rewards member. Good check in - good check out. I'll return, for sure ! Didn't get a chance to eat there but I'm sure the meal would have been excellent as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siam-Orchids
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for you review on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to learn that you had a great stay in our hotel and enjoyed our spa. I appreciate your loyalty as IHG Rewards member. I look forward to welcome you back soon and hopefully can you enjoy our food in one of our restaurants. Kind regards,...

Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 5 nights, it was wonderful stay. Nice location, professional and friendly staff, spacious rooms and bathrooms, very clean hotel rooms and other hotel facilities, reasonable value compare with service. The executive suite is perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TariqShalfan
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to learn that you had a wonderful stay in one of our Executive Suites. I am also happy to read that the team was professional and provided you with friendly service, I will definitely share you compliments with them. I look forward to welcome you...

Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel would have easily gotten six stars from us. The front desk, concierge, suite and the service were all impeccable. However, in a city of AMAZING restaurants, we decided that one night, we would eat in the hotel at La Rive. Having been told by the hotel staff (and online recommendations) that it was not to be missed, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CBSciarra
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am very happy to read that you had a great experience in our hotel and the top notch service that you were provided with by my team. However, I regret to learn about your disappointing experience in Restaurant La Rive and would like to offer you my apologies for...

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I just finished four days at this hotel. Perfect from every perspective: the rooms are large, soundproof, high-ceilinged and combine old world elegance with every modern convenience. And the service exceeds the perfect hotel. Never pretentious, from the concierge to check-in (thank you, Monique!) to the restaurant staff and housekeeping - always helpful and always a genuine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald U
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It fills me with joy that you had a perfect stay in one of our large comfortable rooms. I am also very happy to read to you had a great service experience from my team, we aim to make every stay memorable. In addition, thank you for the...

Katy, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excelente stay, service and staff. I highly recommend this hotel with spacious rooms, on the Amstel river. We arrived early and the staff were accommodating and allowed us to check in early. Great location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for you review on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to learn that you had a great stay in our spacious rooms. I am also very happy to read that you received excelent service from my team. Thank you for much for recommending our hotel and I look forward to welcome you back soon in...

Dallas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just came off a 4 night stay for a business event hosted by my company at the Amstel and a subsequent stay for the ISE show. Could not have been more pleased with the hotel both for the event and the client entertainment at different venues within the hotel. We hosted a dinner for about 70 people on our first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg E
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for you review on TripAdvisor. It fills me with joy to read that you had a great business event and stay in our hotel. Also that you savoured the food and experienced excellent service is a true pleasure to learn. Unfortunately we couldn’t meet your fullest expectations about the room. We will definitely take your feedback...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam for two nights before flying home after traveling for a month. What a way to end our trip! This may be the most beautiful hotel I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. It's classic. We had two connecting rooms on the top floor with a city view. The rooms are huge and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thefairygodblogger
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. It fills me with joy to see that you had such a pleasant stay with your family in our hotel. I am also very happy to read that your children also had a great stay and that my team treated them like any other guest. We aim to...

UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for a night...great service-beautiful room...classically luxurious & elegant. The pool is tranquil and at the level of the canal. Very peaceful swim! Room service breakfast was cooked to perfection & cocktails divine! Bit far from the centre but still worth a stay! Celebs & royalty frequent this hotel. World class luxury!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VitUnit
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and were provided with great service. How wonderful that you visited the Health & Fitness Club! It is indeed a haven of peace and you can view the boats passing by while swimming in the indoor pool....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A very quaint hotel but I found the bed very uncomfortable and had caused me back pains. Otherwise the rooms are spacious and have all amenities. The blue cafe is so cosy and lovely place to have dessert and tea. The restaurant downstairs is very good if you plan to stay at the hotel otherwise there are many choices outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna-Saket
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed our hotel and that the staff was friendly and accommodating. In addition, I feel sorry for the discomfort that you have experienced and that our bed caused you back pains. Next time you are planning to...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights, really impressed by the hotel and the staffs. Tim and Pete from concierge helped us with everything we requested from ticketing and restaurant recommendations. Food and services of La Rive are amazing. Djendro from La Rive recommended us to different restaurants knowing our next stop is Paris. Prefect stay here and I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 337mak
Anita B, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for on TripAdvisor. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our concierge team could help you with all your questions about Amsterdam. In addition, it fills me with joy that you savoured the food en service from Restaurant La Rive. I would like to thank you for recommending our...

756 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (595)
Viewed
Room/Suite (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (96)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (287)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (161)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,446 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
809 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#8 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighbourhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Amstel Brasserie at Hotel InterContinental
Amstel Brasserie at Hotel InterContinental
Cuisines: European, French, Dutch
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Price Range: $496 - $840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for executive suite and try to avoid 4th floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles TariqShalfan, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Suite on the Amstel--Fabulous!!!”
 of 5 bubbles CBSciarra, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“River view is a bit more but worth it...”
 of 5 bubbles Sotech, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are Spire Elite don't expect benefits from this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles christopherr271, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“definitely ask for a water view”
 of 5 bubbles wdcgirl82, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5