Hotel The Exchange

Hotel The Exchange

A wild room, to be sure!
Traveller (840)
Panorama of the Five Star Room at the Hotel The Exchange
360
Panoramas (7)
3-star room
Room & Suite (476)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#180 of 411 hotels in Amsterdam
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel The Exchange is an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms. Most rooms are designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Café STOCK . Hotel The Exchange is 300 meters from Dam Square and Amsterdam Central Station which offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Coffee shop
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Vending machine
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Rotterdam Airport
55.7 km
See all flights
Centraal Station
6 minBrussels Metro
1,567Review56Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 582
  • 581
  • 218
  • 102
  • 85
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TheOrangeBackpack.nl wrote a review Mar 2020
Rotterdam, The Netherlands35 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
You would almost walk past it without noticing: a narrow door next to Stock Café is the entrance to Hotel The Exchange. But behind that mini door is a large hotel. The design of our room is subtle and clean: the walls are light gray and decorated with crumpled papers. There are large light bulbs with soft yellow and orange light hanging as night lamps. We were big fans of the spacious bathroom with beautiful design tiles. And best of all, this creative hotel is within walking distance of Amsterdam Central Station and in the heart of Amsterdam!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange
Responded Jun 11, 2020
Dear OrangeBackpack, Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to read that you had such a great time at Hotel The Exchange! We hope to see you again at Hotel The Exchange. Kind regards, Team Hotel The Exchange
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rebecca L wrote a review Mar 2020
Stowmarket, United Kingdom11 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A really creative hotel with each room telling a different story. Would definitely recommend for its individuality.

Finding your room is also part of the fun, with a rabbit warren of little corridors and stairs - feels like you’ve gone through the looking glass!

Rooms themselves are clean, warm and with good amenities. Shower gel, shampoo etc. Great cafe as well for morning coffee and pastries.

Staff really helpful and friendly. Can’t fault!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange
Responded Mar 15, 2020
Dear RebeccaL362, We were delighted to receive you recently. Thank you for choosing Hotel The Exchange for your recent stay in Amsterdam. We are delighted you enjoyed yourself and we hope you tell all your friends about our great property and really friendly and engaging staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards from the team, Brad Downton General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Harpreet K wrote a review Feb 2020
30 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Fantastic hotel quirky comfortable bed great location 10/20 walk from all the major sites. Clean bed sheets and they hold your luggage for you once you check out no complaints great value for money. I like the design of the hotel and the has lots of interesting decor to it. 10 min from the rail way station and cute little cafe downstairs nice pizza shop for the late night munchies next door lol
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange
Responded Feb 19, 2020
Dear 158harpreetk, We are delighted to be in receipt of your wonderful 5 star review of our fabulous city based hotel. Like so many other visitors to our hotel, most are amazed by the uniquely designed rooms. Our location, only 500 metres from the central station, and most sites worth visiting in Amsterdam, makes Hotel The Exchange, the perfect location for your visit to the city. The service team in our Cafe Stock, are friendly and engaging and make some of the best coffee you will find in Amsterdam. We are thrilled you enjoyed it. 158harpreetk, we look forward to having you return to our property when next visiting Amsterdam. Until then, kind regards from the team at Hotel The Exchange. Brad Downton General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MoiAli wrote a review Aug 2020
Edinburgh120 contributions99 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We paid quite a lot for our room and were surprised at how tiny it was. No room whatsoever on one side of the bed, and no more than two feet to the other side and at the end of the bed. Tiny. No wardrobe. No drawers. No table. No chair. No shelf. No room under the bed. I have had to put clothes in the safe and hang things from the light. There is no natural light, just a wall approximately 18 inches away. No shelf in the bathroom. No charging point for a shaver or electric toothbrush. Tiny battle of shampoo to share and one tiny bar of soap TO SHARE! When we explained at reception, the receptionist told us it was “the concept” but I’ve never heard of a hotel concept that involves having to leave your clothes, clean and dirty, in your suitcases all week, and to have to climb over them to get to the loo. A concept that involves having to climb over a partner to get in and out of bed. Having to share toiletries. We asked to change room and were told that we could check out the following day, then return at 3pm and check into another room that might have a little storage. I asked why not immediately. The receptionist claimed the hotel was full, although we have seen no other guests whatsoever. Had we not handsomely prepaid, we’d have left by now. Totally unacceptable and would not recommend. No manager available to discuss. We shall see what tomorrow brings...
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange
Responded Aug 22, 2020
Dear MoiAli, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hotel The Exchange. We are sorry to read that the room was not what you had expected. At Hotel The Exchange we have rooms ranging from 1 to 5 star; the more stars a room has, the bigger the room is and the better the view is. When you asked the receptionist to change rooms, they would probably have tried to give you another room in the same roomtype category. The rooms in this category could definitely have been full, since the smaller/cheaper rooms are the rooms that sell out quickest. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bryan S wrote a review Apr 2022
Santa Rosa, California5 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My expectations were probably too high. I don't spend a lot on accommodations so when a coworker said we should get rooms here I was skeptical. At about $400 (they charge you an additional $70 on arrival, despite the prices quoted on your booking through a third party. It's like the Winchester mystery house except they choose random areas and call them rooms. I've stayed in much mode enjoyable hostels, the "retro" charm is more of a tattered art student look. Pass through the shower to get to the room, but at least they give you a floor squeegee.

Don't expect peace, this is a bustling and loud place. "Loudest stairs in Amsterdam" I joked at check in, when the receptionist couldn't hear me over folks heading up the stairs. The response was "yeah, get used to it" ha. Not super funny when you're jet lagged and hoping to catch some rest before checking out the city. Also not conducive to any sort of mid day rest - there are only gauzy window "treatments" completely non functional for blocking any light. Diffuse maybe but "that's the style" according to the young man who showed me the room. He says "the problem is, is day time" which. Fair.

Rooms have nowhere for you to put luggage or even your passport. Only a single small wooden chair and a random coat rack. You can check your luggage into a storage room but I'm not sure how that's supposed to be practical. Staff was accommodating to my early arrival even though there was a problem with the plumbing that kept me from being checked in.

If you aren't in need of rest and just want a spot to stash your stuff near the central station, I could see it but this place is bizarre and really not ina fun quirky way. Do yourself a favor and take the train a couple stops in either direction and find a place designed to actually relax in.

First room had two windows but curtains on only one. Second room they moved me to at least had curtains facing the street. Skylight in the bathroom kept the room bright as day though since there isn't a wall between the bathroom and the main room. You have to walk through the bathroom too enter the room. When discussing refund options with the receptionist, I found myself apologizing to her for the trouble. "It's okay, this happens all the time, like EVERY day." Really? I guess people keep paying to stay here. Don't be fooled.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange
Responded Jan 27, 2023
Dear Bzarath, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to read that your overall experience of your stay did not meet your expectations. In Amsterdam you will find a lot of old buildings that are being kept in the most original state as possible to give you a true Amsterdam experience. Our hotel is an uniquely designed fashion hotel by students of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute in collaboration with Design Studio INA MATT. We offer 1-5 star rooms: the more stars a room has the bigger the room is and the better the view. All of the rooms are equipped with a safety box to store your valuables. Also, we have a different view of the situations that you a referring to. Please, allow us to solve any issues in person to avoid miscommunications the next time. Kind regards, Team Hotel The Exchange
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C Remneson wrote a review Jan 2021
New Mills, United Kingdom1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a booking with this hotel for our wedding anniversary in 2020 and unfortunately due to the current pandemic and restrictions were unable to travel. We advised the hotel and asked if we could postpone to next year. Obviously given that none of us know when this is all gonna be over we didn't have a date to set straight away which we advised them. The hotel explained it could only be changed once regardless of any rules/laws in place, therefore we thought it would be risky to rebook immediately. When approaching them this week to rebook for late 2021 they advised that I needed to rebook a new date prior to my original booking date which does not make any sense and in my opinion is just them getting out of postponing on a technicality. It's a sad state of affairs when businesses take advantage of paying customers in such a time we find ourselves in. They took full payment of £240 and will not budge at all on postponing out trip when previously stating we had 2 nights credit to be used within 12 months. The staff are unhelpful, show no compassion and should not be dealing with the general public. 2020 was hard for everyone (as a wedding business closed for 10 months we know as much as anyone) and therefore I believe we should all be coming together and showing each other some flexibility and understanding where we can. AVOID THIS HOTEL like the plague if you value an ounce of customer service. I would be ashamed to work for such an establishment. Conmen to the core!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, shocking service!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange
Responded Apr 5, 2021
Dear stefanrA3625QP, thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review. We are sorry to see you weren't able to travel to Amsterdam for your wedding anniversary and we are sorry you don't like the way we treated your reservation. As a small business, we find ourselves in a very difficult position. We are unsure of how the crisis will evolve and do not know how many existing reservations for the coming months will be canceled or modified. To limit the damage, we have decided to only accept modifications and no free cancellations. As mentioned above, it is unsure how long the crisis will last. Therefore, we take it day by day and for now only accept modifications to a date in 2021. By closely measuring the regulations in regards to COVID-19, we constantly update our cancellation and modification policies. If the pandemic holds on, we extent the date to which you can move your reservation and allow people with a non-refundable reservation to modify their stay again. Unfortunately, we didn't receive a new date in time and we therefore had to cancel your stay and take the payment, as mentioned in our policy. Best regards, Team Hotel The Exchange
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tomas wrote a review May 2022
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was a terrible experience. The room was really tiny, i had no place to put my luggage, however the worst thing was smell in my bathroom. When i asked for the change, they just came in and sprayed it wirh air refresher. And cleaned the floor again. Certainly it dod not help. For such a price I expected far better
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Avoid the hotel.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange
Responded Jan 14, 2023
Dear Tomas1538, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to read that the size of the room did not meet your expectations. However, Hotel The Exchange is an uniquely designed hotel with 61 completely different rooms. Please visit the reception again if you are still having issues with your room, so we can discuss an upgrade if the availability allows this. We hope to see you again at Hotel The Exchange. Kind regards, Team Hotel The Exchange
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mic&Ant wrote a review Feb 2020
130 contributions169 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an overall good stay at this hotel for a weekend. It’s very tiny (there is basically no lobby) and each room has a different design, so your experience will vary a lot depending on where you’ll be accommodated. We weren’t crazy about our room 404, cardboard box themed. The brownish color of the room wasn’t an exciting vibe for us to sleep in. The location is very central and the staff is friendly. The idea behind this hotel is audacious, the outcome can be disappointing for some.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange
Responded Feb 25, 2020
Sunny greetings from Hotel The Exchange, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Amsterdam. We cater for many guests from all over the world who use our central location as a base to explore this great city. The hotel is unique in that every room has a different design and theme. We understand that not all our rooms will suit individual tastes but we try and match our guests with a room that compliments their personalities. Please let our reception team know if you wish to look at another room if the one allocated is not to your preference. Reception also have a guide book that has photographs of the rooms so you can see your room when checking in. miche_ant, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Kind regards from the team at Hotel The Exchange. Brad Downton General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John O wrote a review Feb 2023
12 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel Exchange is in a great location and can best be described as quirky in a good way. The staff there are super friendly and helpful.
The rooms are clean , the beds comfy although the rooms are quite small. The first night we were in room 220 which was incredibly small and claustrophobic , the strange decor added to the feeling of being closed in. The following morning we mentioned this to the recrption and we were offered a different room without any hassle which was really good. We would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If staying for more than one night adk not to be allocated room 220
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange
Responded Feb 18, 2023
Dear JohnoO5704GY, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel and our staff. We are also happy that you informed us about your feeling regarding room 220 during your stay. We are just happy that we could allocate you in another room more to your liking. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Grinno74 wrote a review Apr 2022
Rainhill, United Kingdom13 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The room we ended up in (425) is a joke - particularly for the price we paid.

It’s described as a ‘superior room’. The use of the word ‘superior’ would suggest that it’s better (ie superior) to some of the other rooms. If that’s the case - god help anyone who ends up in an inferior room to this one.

Absolutely tiny - more of a broom cupboard than an actual hotel room. Massive wooden beam right across the room as well that anyone over 6 foot will keep having to duck under.

Really disappointed with this place to be honest.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from General Manager, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange
Responded Jan 3, 2023
Dear Grinno74, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to read that the size of the room did not meet your expectations. However, Hotel The Exchange is a uniquely designed 1 to 5 star hotel; the more stars a room has, the bigger the room is. Also, all of our rooms are uniquely designed. Please next time when the room is not to your liking visit the reception so that we can switch you to another room. Kind regards, Team Hotel The Exchange
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BeaSpagnoli asked a question Mar 2023
Province of Como, Italy75 contributions62 helpful votes
Si trova vicino a piazza Dam?
Random_Thoughts asked a question Jan 2021
United Kingdom180 contributions324 helpful votes
Are there any super market type shops near by that sell alcohol and snacks etc ??
Answer from HotelTheExchange
Amsterdam, The Netherlands1 contribution1 helpful vote
Dear Nevileshelly, Hotel The Exchange is located in the city centre of Amsterdam and there are lots of shops nearby that sell alcohol and snacks. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team
Answer from Bikram77777
Bangalore District, India16 contributions1 helpful vote
Many hotels and airlines aren't paying back. Understandably so. Everyone is cutting huge loses. It's an abnormal time. We've to be a little more considerate and compassionate during such times. I've lost money recently from another dutch hotel and a french airline.
Louise E asked a question Jan 2020
Farndon, United Kingdom
Do the rooms have hairdryers? Thanks
Answer from HotelTheExchange
Amsterdam, The Netherlands1 contribution1 helpful vote
Dear Louise, we are happy to inform you that all our rooms have hairdryes. Kind regards, Team Hotel The Exchange
rebelflicks wrote a tip May 6
18 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Its close to central station."
Read full review
Salva S wrote a tip Apr 2024
16 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't book a room to this hotel "
Read full review
pelinerhan wrote a tip Jun 2023
Ankara, Türkiye96 contributions70 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"book wider rooms"
Read full review
Rick W wrote a tip Jun 2023
Bern, Switzerland72 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request a room away from the street if you want a good night sleep"
Read full review
John O wrote a tip Feb 2023
12 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If staying for more than one night adk not to be allocated room 220"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amsterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
C$226 - C$391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamBurgwallen-Nieuwe Zijde / Old Center / Damrak / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel The Exchange - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel The Exchange
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel The Exchange?
Nearby attractions include Brews & Tales Amsterdam Craft Beer Tour (0.3 km), Museumphoto (0.3 km), and Our Lord in the Attic Museum Ons' Lieve Heer op Solder (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel The Exchange?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, baggage storage, and express check-in and check-out.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel The Exchange?
Conveniently located restaurants include De Silveren Spiegel, EatWith: Martine of Amsterdam, and Restaurant Bougainville.
Is Hotel The Exchange located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Amsterdam.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel The Exchange?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel The Exchange?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (2.4 km), Portuguese Synagogue (1.1 km), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (0.8 km).
All Amsterdam HotelsAmsterdam Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AmsterdamHotels near Hotel The Exchange
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars