We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel The Exchange

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,155 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 772: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel The Exchange
 Click to rate
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel is absolutely brilliant! Stayed here over a weekend. Very querky with its own individual style. Room was amazing, and as for the bed...best nights sleep ever! The location is central - perfect location to Central Station, the trams, red light district and bars. Staff were ever so friendly and room, which had a tv and phone was cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CherWBear
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear CherWBear, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay and our comfortable beds. We hope we may welcome you again. Please book on our own website to get the best rates. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Mauritius
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is just amazing, and quite special with its decoration as you all have noticed on the pictures! We were in a 4 star room, small but perfectly functional. Only drawback is that there is no closet, and the space to keep luggages is in the opposite of the very small bathroom. However, the staff at the reception is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurent F
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Laurent F, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our special decorated hotel. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. PLease book on our own website to get the best rates. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just got back from 3 night in Amsterdam at The Hotel Exchange over Easter weekend. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough the location 5 mins from station and 2 mins from shops, bars and restaurants, the staff on reception are so helpful and amenable for organising sugar, kettle and umbrella for us. The hotel itself is beatific and quirky...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aggiebash2014
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Aggiebash2014, thank you for your great review. We are very pleased to read you had a great Easter weekend in our hotel. We love your kind words about our staff, comfortable beds and cleanliness. We hope to see you again, to get the best rates, please book via our own website. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

Usually, I choose big luxurious hotels or small but cozy boutique ones. Several weeks ago I found The Exchange hotel on Instagram and was attracted by their king size bed in a 5-stars room. I’ve called them immediately and booked that beige room with the coziest bed ever. Onе of thе bеѕt іѕ thе Hоtеl Thе Exchange which іѕ ѕіtuаtеd...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Darya Y
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Darya Y, thank you for your nice review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our 5 Star room with the two great balconies. Please note that we do not have room service, but you can have your favorite coffee and panini's at Café Stock of bring them to your room. Hairdryers are to be...

Paranaque, Philippines
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location if you would be using the train a lot. Rooms are clean, reception was very nice and helpful at all times. I suggest though, to get a higher floor, as my room was at the 2nd floor with street view. At dawn, there would be the street cleaners emptying trash ins, drunk people outside the street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KEFM1123
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear KEFM1123, thank you for your review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to read our staff was very friendly and helpfull. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. Please book via our own website for the best rates. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located in the center of Amsterdam close to the central station. Despite its location on the main street it still offers a nice and quiet place to sleep. The rooms are small but oozy. The staff is friendly and very helpfull.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mette J
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Mette J, thank you for your nice review. We are pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff was friendly and very helpfull. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. To get the best rates, please book via our own website. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is interesting in that it has different star-rated rooms available. My husband and I chose a 3-star rated room expecting that it would be above basic but wouldn't have any crazy amenities. Once we were in the room, we realized it had no amenities. It felt more hostel-like than hotel-like. Our room was 104, right next to what...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaitlyn M
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Kaitlyn M, thank you for your review. We are sorry to read that your stay was not to your satisfaction. As you have probably seen on our website, all our 61 rooms are different. We wish you had informed as during your stay as we are always happy to give our guests another room. We hope you will decide...

Shurlock Row, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, if a little noisy. Easy walking distance of all attractions. Rooms are small but are clean and have all you need , except tea and coffee making facilities! Friendly and helpful staff. Good hotel for short break.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penny L
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Penny, thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. Only our five star rooms are equipped with coffee and tea facilities, however we are happy to provide kettles upon request. We hope we may welcome you again in one of our bigger rooms. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, interesting room though not very practical as noted above... we booked at the last minute so the price was high but that's life! Now I am just filling in characters to make the 200 minimum.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Dave R, thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed the central location of our hotel. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Rainford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location was perfect. Very close to the station. Room was small, but big enough.There were bigger ones available if that would be important to you. All the rooms are decorated differently in modern artistic styles Would definitely use again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Helen, thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our central located hotel. We hope to see you agin in AMsterdam. To get the best price, please book via our own website. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

831 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (526)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (238)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Five Star Room (66)
Viewed
Four Star Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)
Viewed
Three Star Room (44)
Viewed
Two Star Room (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#68 of 364 in Amsterdam
984 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#138 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#53 of 364 in Amsterdam
490 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Price Range: $208 - $1,496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel The Exchange staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
2 months ago
Woking
9 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Boston, Massachusetts

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel The Exchange staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet and clean room! Room 302”
6reee, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“there are rooms that have black walls and ceiling, so if you are not into that, make sure to request a non-black room at the check-in”
332katerynak, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the economic rooms are on the smaller size.”
180wallyw, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“quirky little hotel, comfortable beds :)”
420leighannc, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Floor 4, Get a room with a view of Damrak”
JoeM641, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5