We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel The Exchange

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Exchange
See the most recent reviews
Showing 752: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel offers a quite a basic stay but can boast of location. Recommend if you plan to stay out put most of the time. The staircase is quite narrow but has an elevator.. the rooms appears darker at times, may be its the designer decorations.. Its not a luxurious hotel but a normal basic. I stayed in the three...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soundarya A
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Soundarya, thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we may welcome you again in one of our brighter rooms. Please book via our own website to get the best rates. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly staffs and always very keen to help. Quirky place in a heart of Amsterdam at a reasonable price, couldn't ask for more. Stayed there many times and never disappointed. will be back for sure :)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wally W
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Wally W, thank you very much for your review. We are really happy to read that you enjoy our friendly and helpfull staff each time you are here. Please book via our own website to get the best rates for your next stay. We are looking forward to it! Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

N.Ireland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights in a double 2 star room and have no complaints at all. The hotel is right on the Damrak, you would miss the entrance if you weren't tuned in but once inside its so quaint. All the rooms are decorated differently and each tell a story. Reception staff very friendly and accommodating. No noise could be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jetsetgirl01
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear jetsetgirl01, thank you for sharing your experiences. We are happy to read you enjoyed our central location and our staff was friendly and accommodating. We hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. To get the best rates, please book via our own website. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Nsw
Reviewed 16 January 2017

This hotel is in a perfect location 5 min walk from the train station The bed was amazing and so comfortable Staff are friendly and helpful The rooms are quite small but has all your needs maybe a little over priced but Amsterdam is expensive I have recommended this hotel to family and friends who also enjoyed their stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leighann C
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Leighann C, Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We are happy to read our staff was friendly and helpfull. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam, maybe in one of our bigger rooms. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

St. Helens, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Excellent location, right on Damrak, rooms clean and quirky, and a perfect little coffee shop under the hotel which was great for breakfast. Staff was helpful and we had a late flight back so our bags was looked after all day by the Reception Staff. Will definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joe M
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Joe, thank you very much for sharing your great experiences. We are happy to read that your stay at Hotel The Exchange was perfect. We would love to see you back again. For your next stay with us, we recommend to book directly via our own website to receive the best price. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Reviewed 3 January 2017

clean even though all white!! nice and helpful personel, great location easy to find and not far from center, train station and Dam square. Comfort (slept like a baby) and the hotel's cafe made some good coffee and the people worked there were very nice and helpful too!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamza F
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Hamza, thank you very much for this great review. We are happy to read that we had good coffee, nice staff and you slept like a baby! We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

I have no idea why people are complaining about this hotel? We have just returned from a 3 night stay over new year and we couldn't speak more highly of it! Staff were brilliant from check in, we arrived early .. check in accepts card payment only, no cash but we knew this beforehand due to contacting the hotel! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, thank you very much for this great review! It's very nice to read you had an amazing stay in our hotel last week. We are happy to read the staff and location were perfect and you had a great shower and the most comfortable bed ever. We would like to see you back again soon! Kind regards, Hotel...

Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Very conveniently located, about 5 minutes walk from the train station. Rooms were quiet and comfortable. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and we highly recommend it. I think probably this is one of the most affordable and center located hotels in Amsterdam.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niki4477
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Niki4477, thank you for your excellent review. We are happy to read that you had a comfortable stay and that our staff is friendly and helpful. We hope we may welcome you agian. If you plan to visit us again, please book via our own website to get the best rates. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchnage Team

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 26 December 2016

We stayed at this hotel from 2016.Jul.08 - 10 for two nights at a cost of $570 CDN. I am finally getting around to writing a review, sorry for the delay. This hotel is extremely conveniently located a short walk from the main station. It has a very small doorway entrance and is more easily located by looking for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank easyHwolf
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear easyHwolf, thank you very much for your detailed description of our hotel.We are very happy to read you enjoyed our central location. Due to our special design, all rooms are impregnated and approved by the fire department, so it is definatellt safe. We hope to see you again in Amsterdam. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

If you're after something a little different right in the heart of Amsterdam, look no further than Hotel the Exchange. It's about a 5 minute walk from the central station, and even less to Dam Square and all the shopping you could possibly want to do. The room I got had a huge comfy bed with the perfect number of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ella K
HotelTheExchange, General Manager at Hotel The Exchange, responded to this review

Dear Ella, thank you for your review. We are very happy to read you had a good stay in the coolest hotel ever. We hope you will be back soon in Amsterdam and visit us again. Kind regards, Hotel The Exchange Team

813 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (508)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (135)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (231)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (296)
Viewed
Five Star Room (66)
Viewed
Four Star Room (43)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)
Viewed
Three Star Room (44)
Viewed
Two Star Room (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#61 of 361 in Amsterdam
954 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#136 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#52 of 361 in Amsterdam
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel The Exchange an independent fashion hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's city centre, that playfully weaves together hotel design with fashion in unique rooms. Free WiFi is offered and accommodation varies from budget to five star rooms.Each room has been designed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). Flat-screen satellite TV is provided. The modern bathroom comes with a bath tub or shower. Hotel The Exchange includes a 24-hour reception and a ticket service. Our guests can enjoy breakfast all day at our on-site Stock café. Hotel The Exchange is 300 metres from Dam Square. Amsterdam Central Station is only a 5-minute walk from the hotel and offers direct connections by train, tram and metro all over the city. Hotel The Exchange is a 5-minute walk from the shopping street Kalverstraat as well as the Nine Streets area, the Jordaan district, and the Anne Frank House. Hotel The Exchange is a great choice for guests interested in food, nightlife and sightseeing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Price Range: $160 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#85 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel The Exchange staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
9 days ago
Woking
7 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel The Exchange staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there are rooms that have black walls and ceiling, so if you are not into that, make sure to request a non-black room at the check-in”
 of 5 bubbles 332katerynak, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the economic rooms are on the smaller size.”
 of 5 bubbles 180wallyw, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“quirky little hotel, comfortable beds :)”
 of 5 bubbles 420leighannc, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Floor 4, Get a room with a view of Damrak”
 of 5 bubbles JoeM641, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room serviced by the elevator in the lobby so you don't have to change elevators to get to the room.”
 of 5 bubbles sea-mike, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5