We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Show Prices
#70 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 206: English reviews
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for just one night (with breakfast) and we were so glad we did. Our first little break in Amsterdam and what a lovely hotel to stay in. We received a warm and professional welcome and given a small goodie bag with cookies and a gift. Nice touch! The room was impeccably clean with a lovely decor. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vivipoos74
London, United Kingdom
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 8 November 2016

My husband and I visited Amsterdam for a long weekend recently. I started feeling ill while we were travelling and arrived at our hotel with full blown flu, feeling terrible. The staff were so welcoming and helpful. We were early so our room wasn't quite ready but they fetched us some drinks and made us comfortable while we waited. Within...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LittleCee
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and in our hotel. At the same time we are sad to read that you were too ill to explore our beautiful city. Isn't this a good reason to come back ?

Carinthia, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoFra9800
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Sandefjord, Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a room in the 3rd floor, small and cosy. The hotel has a good location in the center, what surprised me was the quiet neighborhood. It was possible to sleep with an open window. Breakfast was good, (as expected from a 4 star hotel) really appreciate the freshly squeezed orange juice. The shower had no screen, an improvement...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olav M
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Thank you, Olav, for taking your time to write us your experiences. We look forward to your next stay in Amsterdam !

Derby
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited this hotel last wknd for 3 nights. It's in a great location situated between centre of Amsterdam and near museums also but in a quiet backstreet away from noise and busy streets. Took 10 minutes to walk to Rembrandt square on a very scenic route over lovely canals, loads of bars and restaurants around the hotel also. Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Thank you, Liz, for taking your time to write your comments on our hotel. We are happy you recommended us and hope to see you soon again !

Lower Withington
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife, 2 grown up daughters and a potential Son in Law visited Amsterdam for a Christmas Chill on the 28th December. I have Sofitel points so the Mercure (where we have been before) was an ideal venue. Nothing seedy, we hit the Museums (saw the Banksy one which was brilliant, the Ice Rink, the Brown Bars and the Sales....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, what a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much ! I will pass on your compliments to Wilma, of course. We look forward to your next visit !

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location is great for a base, the rooms are tiny though and the walls are paper thin If you face the entrance street then people walking back and talking are clearly heard. The bathroom is modern but the walk in shower has no screen so u tend to splash water everywhere. Don't know about the mini bar as ours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rustyruss67
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Thank you for your remarks and for your promise to return to our hotel !

london
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The reception was under renovation the whole week I was there ... no complimentary fruit baskets placed in the room for the utter inconvenience ... location is central Breakfast is excellent I get that Dutch hospitality is very different to the ones in the Far East ... must be a Calvinistic Christian modest thingy ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CharlieMcChan
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Dear Charlie, thank you for taking your time to inform us about your findings. We were redecorating our lobby last week and are sorry for any inconvenience you may have encountered.

Warsaw, Poland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great Hotel within the range of everything. 10 minute walk to Rembrandt square. 30 minutes walk to Amsterdam Central Station. The room was a bit tiny, but the front desk solved this issue. Great service at the Hotel. Going to stay st the same Hotel next time in Amsterdam as well. Recomended!

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans_Petter1971
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Thank you, Hans. We were pleased to be your hosts and look forward to your next stay with us in Amsterdam !

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect location, amazing room and bathroom with walk in shower! Staff were friendly and very helpful, perfect for couples wanting to explore the city as its a 20 minute walk from Dam Square and 2 minute walk from a tram stop! Will be returning to this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georgia S
Francis W, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review

Dear Georgia, thank you for your Amazing review ! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and in Amsterdam, and look forward to welcoming you again !

399 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
1:55
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
Privilege Double Room (48)
Viewed
Dining (45)
Viewed
Standard Triple Room (40)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (33)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#58 of 361 in Amsterdam
789 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#76 of 361 in Amsterdam
875 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#64 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
#53 of 361 in Amsterdam
380 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#117 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,822 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Price Range: $164 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District staff and other travellers.
31 questions
Ask a question
15 days ago

See all questions (31)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You should ask for a room in a higher floor. The parking lot might not be too bad as it seems to be more quiet than the street.”
 of 5 bubbles Jeannny, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Unless meals are in with the deal don't eat at hotel nice places just round the corner”
 of 5 bubbles Ourmaude, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Quite streets around hotel but poss room on inner courtyard would be better”
 of 5 bubbles lancsrick, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book early!”
 of 5 bubbles Lambourne89, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor means less noise.”
 of 5 bubbles chloey839, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5