We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Show Prices
#161 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,044 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Showing 691: English reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

This is a reasonable hotel, room very basic but clean. We had a room next to the kitchen and this was very noisy early hours of the morning which meant not a good night sleep. Would have been great to have a fridge in the room especially as no milk was provided for morning coffee. Breakfast was good though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eunibobs
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Eunibobs, thank you for writing your review. Kind regards, Hans

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2013

When we arrived we were greeted with a friendly welcome. All the staff were very polite and helpful. The room and bathroom was a bit small but that was not a problem .The room was clean and tidy, It also had a kettle with tea and coffee supplied. Just what's needed when you arrive. We had a problem with the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen H
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Maureen H, thank you for writing your kind words overhere in this review. Looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Hans

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We got a great deal with this hotel through Last Minute.com. The hotel is lovely, clean and in a really nice area - central with a tram stop just outside, very close to the center of Amsterdam but just outside the noisy busy area. Opposite the Zoo. Staff were very nice and friendly but despite a number of conversations about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann E
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Ann E, thank you for your kind words. I learned about the mix up with your credit card and I do apologize for this. Mistakes unfortunately do happen but I am glad that it is solved now. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Hans

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I was a bit nervous about this hotel after reading some of the reviews but for us it was fantastic. We got a great deal on the price by booking on lastminute.com which ended up being cheaper than a hostel room. The location was actually perfect for us because we hired out bikes for the whole 5 days we were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sarz323
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear sarz323, thank you for choosing our hotel and writing your review overhere. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Hans

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Really satisfied with all aspects this hotel has to offer. You can walk to a lot of sites ( good to lose some weight). Reception ....great. Room...... Small but very adequate and clean - shower a little small but we enjoyed the hot water. Overall , on a budget, this hotel is tops!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StuartPeat
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Stuart Peat, thank you for your kind review, very good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Hans

Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

After reading other reviews on this hotel, I have to disagree with some of the negative comments such as 'small rooms', 'bad smells' etc. Yes the rooms are small but very ideal for a couple or someone on their own. Everything in the room was clean and we were even provided with a kettle and tea and coffee which was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KellyTobias
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear KellyTobias, thank you for your nice review. we hope to see you again ino ur hotel. Kind regards, Hans

Llangollen
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This was a terrific place to stay, our room may have been compact, but it was clean, the beds comfortable and well stocked with tea and coffee. The staff were courteous, well presented and well informed. The breakfast was a great selection of Continental hot and cold foods, with a wide selection of coffees , teas and herbals . Even...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mervyn E
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Mervyn, thank you very much for these kind, kind words. It good to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Hans

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This hotel is a bit of a mixture. I've stayed more than once thanks to an employer having a deal there. The rooms seem to all be pretty small, with bathrooms squeezed in. They have showers right up against the toilet, and no bath. There is a hair dryer though, and fixed large bottles of soap. The beds are okay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WheredMyScreenNameGo
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Whered, thank you for your review. It is true we do not have special deals with taxi driver. To avoid problems we only work with the official Amsterdam Taxi Company; they are registered and work with meters. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, Hans

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Arrival We arrived at our hotel around 11am, to get to the hotel from the airport is very very simple: when arriving at the airport we went to the Iamsterdam information shop, here we purchased our unlimited tram for three days (€15). We then headed to the train station inside the terminal and got train tickets to Central Station (€4...

 Report
Helpful?
29Thank Lionbird1983
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Lionbird, thank you for your extensive review, it is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Just for your information, when a guest request a roomchange, we always ask to pack the luggage and stire them in the luggage room. Due to the fact that we are fully booked this period, we need to clean...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2013

A group of us have stayed at this hotel this week. Yes the hotel rooms are small but clean. The bathrooms are small but are clean. The rooms are quite warm but we are provided with a fan. Enjoyed our stay not that we spent much time there as we were visiting all the sights. The hotel is ideal as...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Aimee R
Hanskomen, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam, responded to this review

Dear Aimee, thank you for your nice review. We hope to welcome you back in the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster. Kind regards, Hans

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (163)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#132 of 361 in Amsterdam
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#194 of 361 in Amsterdam
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Plantage & the East

Neighbourhood Profile
Plantage & the East
The eastern edge of central Amsterdam provides visitors with the chance to imagine the city that Rembrandt called home (and to tour his historic house) while shopping like the thriftiest of locals at Waterlooplein’s massive flea market, or even enjoying a craft beer beside the tallest wooden windmill in The Netherlands. This verdant, serene, and stately part of town is home to Artis Royal Zoo, one of Europe’s oldest (and still best kept) zoos, and Hortus Botanicus, one of the oldest botanical gardens in the world. It's also an ideal setting for the Dutch outpost of St Petersburg’s Hermitage.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the greenest part of the centre of Amsterdam, the Hampshire Hotel Lancaster offers rooms in all sizes, from the individual traveller to families. The rooms have a private bathroom with shower, free wifi, coffee and tea facilities, tv and a safe in the room. In our lobby we offer free wifi and free coffee. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 48, NL-1018 DH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Price Range: $126 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Lancaster Amsterdam
Hotel Eden Lancaster
Eden Lancaster Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam staff and other travellers.
26 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (26)

Questions? Get answers from Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back would be better”
 of 5 bubbles 701melf, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Does not apply. It's somewhere to rest after a long day of enjoying beautiful Amsterdam”
 of 5 bubbles sheelaghm994, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ask for one that isn't in the basement!”
 of 5 bubbles Smigiggles, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Small twin room was actually very spacious! ”
 of 5 bubbles 875martinen, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the top floor. Even then you can still hear everything from the rooms around you.”
 of 5 bubbles karenlross, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5