We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clayton Hotel Amsterdam American

Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam The Netherlands
Traveller (486)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (12)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#65 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Gold level
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Complimentary toiletries
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
River View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch, German

Location

Leidsekade 97, 1017 PN Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
Clayton Hotel Amsterdam American
601Reviews23Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 435
  • 86
  • 35
  • 22
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Tina H wrote a review Apr 20
1 contribution
+1
The Clayton was a beautiful hotel. The staff were so nice and very accommodating, especially David. Thank you for a wonderful stay. The Handleys.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
328buncranaman wrote a review Apr 18
Letterkenny, Ireland1 contribution
Hi, Im just back from a 4 days trip with my wife and this hotel. Ill start with the positives... Location excellent, Bar staff excellent, Concierge excellent, Bed super excellent. Gluten free bread was excellent. Reception staff generally very good. The breakfast food was good as was dinner if portions quite small. The not so positives: Our Super Deluxe upgraded room was small which was disappointing as we paid approx €450 per night and expected something bigger. The breakfast staff were NOT good. ( a la carte option) After being seated we were ignored for 15 minutes before I walked up to desk and asked if someone could take our order. When our food arrived the young girl serving left our food on the table and was walking away until we called her back and asked for some cutlery in order to eat the food. She brought the knives and forks and again was walking until we asked that she bring a spoon for fresh fruit salad....the poor young girl seemed to have no training as a waitress. Unfortunately this wasn't a one off...on a different morning we had an almost identical experience with a different young girl. It would take to long to explain but we were incredulous as to the calibre of staff employed by this prestigious hotel. Our biggest gripe with the ethos of the Clayton is that they only supply 1 free bottle of water between 2 people on the night of arrival only. My wife asked the receptionist for water on the 2nd night and she was told to "purchase it in the cafe". We didn't check their water policy but as we paid €457 per night we thought two small bottles would be included. Its generally no big deal but its the principle. We will be back in Amsterdam...but not in the Clayton American Hotel or any other of the Dalata Group.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Look out for small things. Bed extremely comfortable but noisy outside with trams and bar opposite.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken Theuns, Gastenservice/Front Office at Clayton Hotel Amsterdam American
Responded 3 days ago
Dear 328buncranaman, We thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your stay. Good to read that our locatio, staff, bed and our gluten free options at breakfast. We have shared your feedback with our internal departments, so thank you again for your feedback. With kindest regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Michael Underwood wrote a review Apr 13
Tallahassee, Florida37 contributions4 helpful votes
Many in Amsterdam would not know what you are talking about if you say "The Clayton," It's the American as it has been for more than 100 years. Our room was far from spacious. Stii the price was fair, the service perfect, the hotel beautiful and the balconey wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get a balconey
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken Theuns, Gastenservice/Front Office at Clayton Hotel Amsterdam American
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Tourist77927, We thank you so much for your nice review about your stay with us. We are pleased to read that you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you soon again when you will be in Amsterdam again. With kindest regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sparkhal wrote a review Apr 11
3 contributions
We are at this hotel now and very disappointed with our room view so spoke with reception who gave us another room however the room is higher but again only a view of a rooftop brick wall 😩 be advised not to have room 016 & 514 dark with a brick wall for a view. Would not stay here again for the price we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: See comments
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken Theuns, Gastenservice/Front Office at Clayton Hotel Amsterdam American
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Sparkhal, We thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay with us. We have shared your information with our internal departments. We are sorry to read that the view did not meet up with what you where expecting even after the room change to the room you had chosen. With kindest regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
C C wrote a review Mar 2024
2 contributions
This was such a lovely hotel, we stayed for 3 nights and couldn’t have asked for a nicer room. The staff were amazing, very attentive and always happy to provide suggestions of things to do. Just out from the centre but lots of transport around.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you want to get into the centre easily the 22 bus goes straight to Amsterdam Central in about...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken Theuns, Guest Services / Front Office at Clayton Hotel Amsterdam American
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review regarding our hotel and the staff! We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards, Francesca - Front Office
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Deridreireland wrote a review Mar 2024
Dublin, Ireland5 contributions7 helpful votes
WOW, what a fabulous hotel in a fabulous location in a fabulous city. Rooms were great and food was amazing..we had lunch in the afternoon and chose the steak and it was done to perfection..Every hotel should have a Carlos and Magdalena working in their restaurant..these two gems went over and beyond to give us a number 1 dining experence..we will definitely return to the Clayton Amsterdam
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken Theuns, Gastenservice/Front Office at Clayton Hotel Amsterdam American
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Deridreireland, We thank you so much for your nice review about your stay with us. We are happy to read you had a amazing stay. Carlos and Magdalena can't wait to welcome you back when you will be in Amsterdam. Greetings,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
richard c wrote a review Mar 2024
Waterford, Ireland41 contributions48 helpful votes
Very clean hotel , easy check in and all staff we met were very friendly and helpful throughout. 2mins walk to tram stop and right outside front door can do canal trips which again recommend doing to see the city from the canal We got a first floor balcony room which overlooked the Apple Store only criticism you could sometimes hear the trams each morning outside so maybe get a room other side if hotel if your a light sleeper Rooms have everything you need coffee machine, iron board smart tv Rooms a little small but for time spent in room suited us
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do some research on the tram network cheaper travel , as taxis can be expensive as a one way...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken Theuns, Gastenservice/Front Office at Clayton Hotel Amsterdam American
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Richcrow1974, We thank you for your nice review about your stay with us. We are happy to read that you liked our friendly staff and our location. We hope to see you again when you will be in Amsterdam again. With kindest regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mattski0604 wrote a review Mar 2024
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania253 contributions94 helpful votes
+1
I enjoy historic hotels, and the Clayton Hotel Amsterdam meets that description. The staff were wonderful; very helpful and attentive. The Cafe and the Bar are a destination to themselves. The breakfast was very nicely presented and the service at the bar and in the restaurant was very professional and polished. The location was superb; the tram is right out the door and in 10-15 mins on foot you can be at Dam Square, the Rijksmuseum, Vondelpark, Rembranthuis, Anne Frank Huis, Grachen Museum, etc. There are many nice bars and restaurants in the area and the scenery is beautiful. Watch out for the bikes and trams and you'll be alright. Next time I'm in Amsterday, I would choose the same hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid a room that on the side that faces the theater. The noise coming from the bar on a Saturday...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken Theuns, Gastenservice/Front Office at Clayton Hotel Amsterdam American
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mattski0604, We thank you so much for your 5 star review about your stay with us. We are pleased to read you had a great stay and you loved our breakfast, location and service. We can't wait to welcome you back soon! Greetings,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Da Bene wrote a review Feb 2024
13 contributions8 helpful votes
+1
Amazing Art Deco Clayton Hotel with superb FnB. It was an amazing, awe inspiring experience to spend a weekend at the hotel. We had lovely amenities in the suite including a free standing bath tub with view on canal, Nespresso, lovely Fender speakers, super comfy beds and throughout amazing staff! Shoutout to Liza and Eric and many more at the Café restaurant for their great service. The hotel is an exclamation mark to art deco, cordial Clayton service in the Netherlands, can’t wait to visit Clayton Düsseldorf and the other Maldron hotels!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book the parking in advance via the hotel’s parking partners.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken Theuns, Gastenservice/Front Office at Clayton Hotel Amsterdam American
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Dabenetene, Thank you so much for your great review about your stay with us! We are happy to read you had a great stay. Liza and Eric can't wait to welcome you back when you will be in amsterdam again. Greetings,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amo wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Wow what a hotel . Beautiful interior. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Spotless clean. Staff exceptional could not do enough for you. Food was delicious. Highly recommend and would definitely stay here again. Close to everything. Great stay
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken Theuns, Gastenservice/Front Office at Clayton Hotel Amsterdam American
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Ammo180, Than you so much for your nice review about your stay with us. We are happy to read you loved our hotel, staff and food. We hope to see you soon again! Greetings,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amsterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
C$324 - C$564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
american hotel amsterdam
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Hard Rock Hotel Amsterdam American
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamDe Weteringschans / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
173
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Clayton Hotel Amsterdam American - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hard Rock Hotel Amsterdam American
Which popular attractions are close to Hard Rock Hotel Amsterdam American?
Nearby attractions include Escapist Amsterdam (0.2 km), Happy Feelings Coffeeshop (0.3 km), and Rembrandts Amsterdam Experience (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hard Rock Hotel Amsterdam American?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hard Rock Hotel Amsterdam American?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hard Rock Hotel Amsterdam American?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hard Rock Hotel Amsterdam American?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hard Rock Hotel Amsterdam American?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sherpa Restaurant, Namche, and Sorel's Bar & Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hard Rock Hotel Amsterdam American?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hard Rock Hotel Amsterdam American located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Amsterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hard Rock Hotel Amsterdam American?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hard Rock Hotel Amsterdam American offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hard Rock Hotel Amsterdam American?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Dutch.