We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

934 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
See the most recent reviews
Showing 694: English reviews
Tromso, Norway
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

Second time I am staying at hotel Amsterdam and just love the good service, comfort and clean rooms, central location by the Damm square, and a lovely breakfast. It's especially nice when the staff asking how you are when you meet them in the morning and afternoon. It feels like they really take care on you. Thanks..;)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GuideGunnar
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with. Indeed check-in time is at 2:00 pm but if rooms are available we do our utmost to give the possibility to our guest to rest and unpack. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Yours isncerely René R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

Norwell, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We are very pleased with our stay here. You're right at dam Square. Our flight from boston, arrived early in the morning and we where at the hotel around 9:30am. Although check in was at 2pm I think, they let us in the room right away. That was huge for us because we left boston at 6:30pm, and I can't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank StelliosK
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

Like I explained to the guest in the previous review, we do not let our guests wait unnecessary when they arrive late. We cannot always guarantee that a room is available but we do our utmost and I am pleased to learn that this was also the case with you. I thank you for your positive comments and look forward...

Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, friendly front office staff, fortunate to have an early check-in. All in all PERFECT!Good shopping location nearby, near Royal Palace. Tram station is in front of the hotel. Good choices of food in the nearby location

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Skunder
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay and yes, when we have an early arrival we do our utmost to have a room available as soon as possible. By experience I know how it is to arrive after a long journey in a hotel. We look forward to your enxt visit Yours sincerely René R.F....

Reviewed 16 November 2012

Really great location next to Dam. Couldn't be more central. Friendly, helpful staff. Standard room was fine- big enough and comfortable bed. Clean and quiet. Overall thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sarahsten
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. And yes, we find it iportant that coffee for breakfast is drinkable and not of the poor quality you find in many hotels in the world for a reason we do not understand. We hope you had a nice journey back to Australia and look forward to...

Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I have stayed here many times over the last decade and keep returning. This visit was for business and so I was with colleagues, more often my wife and I have visited for mini-breaks. We keep going back because it is so good! The atmosphere is always both friendly and professional. The rooms are very comfortable (especially the newly refurbished...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin H
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

Our aim is to give our guests a pleasant stay and I am happy that we succeeded in your case. We are not the best hotel in town and not the most beautiful but I believe my staff makes the difference. As you have noticed our staff turn-over is extremely low and often people who have worked for us once,...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We were there on sept. 25 , 2012 as I wrote before we had our best trip . I needed to add that after we left the hotel and Amsterdam we headed to Paris for 5 days then back to Cairo. After almost 10 days from that my daughter 22 years found out that she forgot her wallet with all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ATEF G
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

A safe in a hotelroom is a place to have your belongings safe, as the name suggests. I cannot imagine that staff in any hotel would keep the belongings of guests that are forgotten after their departure. I appreciate your compliments but think that we did not more than you can expect of us. I am proud that during the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 November 2012

lovely hotel right in the centre of dam couldnt get a better location. superior room was really nicely decorated and bathroom was modern. breakfast is slightly over priced in my opinion but you dont need to have that anyway and you can hear people walking around upstairs but that was bearable. staff were friendly and helpful. i would definately stay...

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We thank you for your nice review. Breakfast maybe looks overpriced but not many hotels in Amsterdam offer breakfast at € 15.-- with the same items we offer. And if you don't want to spend it and just want a roll and a cup of coffee, there are many good alternatives only steps away. We were pleased to learn that...

Brandon, Canada
Reviewed 7 November 2012

First, you cannot beat the location! Close to alot of the attractions in Amsterdam. The train station is about a fifteen minute walk. Lots of shopping in the area. I was blown away by all of the small shops in the surrounding area. One of the other great things close to the hotel was the "Hop on - Hop" off...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank prairiephyre
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were pleased to learn that we have met your expectations. Yes, first of all our location is unbeatable but we also try to give our guests more than that. And the Dutch chocolate at breakfast is something real Dutch although most people drink it with a lot of whipped cream on top of it which is as fantastic as...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 November 2012

This is such a well located hotel and really easy to get to from Amsterdam central. The rooms are really really small. I was traveling alone but it would have been uncomfortable for 2 people... This was definitely not a luxury hotel but good for the class that it is in. The staff were so friendly and always willing to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniella B
De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw, responded to this review

We were pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, some standard rooms are small but within 4 months all rooms and corridors will be extensively refurbished in order to give them a contemporary atmosphere. The rate we ask for an upgrade is limited so for those who would like more space there is an alternative....

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here - location was fantastic, right in the main tourist area with heaps of restaurants all around. The lovely woman at the front reception was brilliant - always bubbly and cheerful, and super helpful. Our room was decent and comfortable - especially since we had just come off a 13 hour flight. I liked the nod...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob P

531 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Room/Suite (75)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (96)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Comfort Room (42)
Viewed
Economy Single Room (39)
Viewed
Junior Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Superior Room (42)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
489 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#103 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,800 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Great central location, affordable rates, clean & comfortable rooms and friendly & attentive hospitality. In an amazing location, just off Dam Square and right in the middle of Amsterdam's city center, you'll find Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw. This is where you want to stay if you're coming to Amsterdam. We offer authentic friendliness and true hospitality with rooms that are comfortable, well maintained, and always spotlessly clean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Address: Damrak 93 - 94, 1012 LP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Price Range: $242 - $510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam
Hotel Amsterdam De Roode Leeuw
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Fort Worth, Texas
over a year ago
Alabama
3 months ago
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose an alternative hotel,”
PhilipB596, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No lower floors in summer (noise)”
MuellerAndrew, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best location; great value”
LenaBoh, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms, although much more expensive, would be larger and better for a long stay.”
colleens983, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“superior room,facing the front of the hotel, with a balcony.”
evans333, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5