We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Save
Traveller (274)
Room & Suite (330)
Dining (41)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good41%
  • Average17%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“dam square”(211 reviews)
“great location”(148 reviews)
“superior room”(35 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Concierge
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,014)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveller rating
246
294
121
41
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
246
294
121
41
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdam squaregreat locationsuperior roomcentral locationmini barroyal palacered light districtminute walkshower curtaintrain stationthird floorrooms are smalldamrakeuroseuropetwindutch
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
421 - 425 of 737 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I'm surprised by the reviews complaining about the noise. With the door and windows shut, I couldn't hear a thing, which impressed me in a downtown hotel facing a street with restaurants and cafes a ten-minute walk from the train station. On a weekend in...More

1  Thank TaraRain
Response from De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode LeeuwResponded July 9, 2013

Most of our guests appreciate, like you, the fact that the rooms are so quiet despite the fact that we are in the middle of this vibrating city. And of course our location is the best one in town. We were delighted to learn that...More

Reviewed June 1, 2013

I am wondering if some of the comments are provided by real guests.... This hotel is well situated but should not rewarded with 4 stars. The hall is small and smelly.The cost is absolutely not reflecting the real standard fr the rooms and services. We...More

1  Thank AnneF36
Response from De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode LeeuwResponded June 5, 2013

It is with regret that I learned that your stay was a disappointing one. Our rates fluctuate according to the availability, as this is also the case with airlines. If someone doubts if the quoted rate is correct, I suggest to contact our reservations department...More

Reviewed May 31, 2013

While in a good location if you dont mind all the outside noise as the walls seem to be paper thin, and a friendly front desk, the housekeepers began cleaning the rooms next to ours at 9am completely disregarding the do not disturb sign on...More

1  Thank Jason H
Response from De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode LeeuwResponded June 5, 2013

As many guests praise our hotel because it is so quiet, your experience seems to be another one. Unfortunately cleaning of the rooms has to start around 8 o'clock as new arrivals do not appreciate to wait until the end of the afternoon before checking...More

Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

I had booked a stay at this hotel and was scheduled to check in at 11 PM however my flight was delayed and I arrived at the hotel at 01:30. I knew I could have a problem when the night desk clerk said "I hope...More

Thank GoldyNJ
Response from De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode LeeuwResponded June 7, 2013

A confirmed reservation is worth a lot to us. For this reason I investigated your complaint in depth. The reason why we gave away "your" room was not as simple as it looked like. One guest scheduled to arrive very early in the morning of...More

Reviewed May 24, 2013

I recently spent six nights at the Hotel Amsterdam. I was very pleased with the property. The location is excellent and is easy walking distance to all of the sights in Amsterdam. As for the hotel itself, it exceeded my expectations. The room was large...More

1  Thank renotahoe
Response from De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode LeeuwResponded July 9, 2013

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again. With best regards Rene R.F. Wildeman, General Manager

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Amsterdam
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$200 - US$396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$200 - US$396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (274)
Room & Suite (330)
Dining (41)
Amenities (2)
Nearby
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of
tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists
and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the
best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe.
Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops
of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones
Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods
such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Leslie0910
April 7, 2018|
Answer
Response from Georgia V |
Phone no to this hotel
0
Votes
Ragnor1
February 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Hotelamsterdam93 | Property representative |
Mrs. Thomas, sorry for delays in responding to you. Unfortunately renovations will be ongoing this coming April still. However, as mentioned by other guests, the construction activities are restricted to office hours only... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"Get as high up and as far away from the construction as possible."
Read review
"Call the Hotel for the best room pros and cons"
Read review
"Great location"
Read review
"avoid the room 424, 218 is great"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing