We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw

Save
Traveller (274)
Room & Suite (330)
Dining (41)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good41%
  • Average17%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“dam square”(211 reviews)
“great location”(148 reviews)
“superior room”(35 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Concierge
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (1,014)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveller rating
246
294
121
41
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
246
294
121
41
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdam squaregreat locationsuperior roomcentral locationmini barroyal palacered light districtminute walkshower curtaintrain stationthird floorrooms are smalldamrakeuroseuropetwindutch
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
431 - 435 of 737 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Rooms in this hotel are tiny by US standards. The Comfort Room is like a closet. I upgraded to a larger room for 30 Euros more per night. It was well worth it. The staff is very friendly, rooms are clean and new. The bed...More

Thank lhamid
Response from De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode LeeuwResponded May 15, 2013

That you enjoyed your stay made us happy but that you were overcharged by a taxi-driver made us feel ashamed. It is true that Amsterdam has a taxi problem. Not only are taxi's expensive but they also have some dishonest drivers who overcharge innocent tourists....More

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Took train from schiphol airport to amsterdam central, cost 3,80 euros single, what a bargain! The location cant be beaten and only 5-10 mins walk from the main station on the main road leading to Dam Square. Our room was ready early...More

Thank yen-chi
Response from De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode LeeuwResponded May 15, 2013

It was with pleasure that we learned that you had a pleasant stay. We shall look into the suggestion to have other pillows available. And yes, in this 102 year old building we have only one small lift which can hold 6 persons according to...More

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Firstly, this hotel is in a fantastic location, just off Dam Square and, although it is so central, it was very quiet in my room. The staff are exceptional, very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was excellent. The hotel has recently been...More

1  Thank Pat T
Response from De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode LeeuwResponded May 15, 2013

We thank you that you took the time to write a review and were pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As to the limited space for the clothes, our rooms were furbished bearing in mind that the average length of stay is 2 nights and...More

Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have given this hotel an average because of the bathroom which I think really let the hotel down. The first room which was given to us (302) had what can only be described as a broom cupboard for a bathroom, it was ridiculously small,...More

Thank DownSouthRosie
Response from De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode LeeuwResponded April 19, 2013

First of all I regret that you could not enjoy your stay to its full extend because of the small bathroom. Although our rooms look very modern, the building is 102 years old. At that time there were only 3 bathrooms per floor which had...More

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. We had breakfast once and ate twice in the resaurant. The food and service was very good each time. Our room was at the top of the building with only the roof top to...More

1  Thank stellaBirmingham
Response from De_Roode_Leeuw, General Manager at Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode LeeuwResponded April 19, 2013

Indeed, this winter was long and cold and even now, at the end of April it is still not as warm as it should be. The room you had has a nice view over the roofs and although this is one of the only 2...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Concierge
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Minibar
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$200 - US$396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$200 - US$396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#86 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#107 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (274)
Room & Suite (330)
Dining (41)
Amenities (2)
Nearby
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of
tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists
and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the
best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe.
Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops
of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones
Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods
such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring
...More
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Leslie0910
April 7, 2018|
Answer
Response from Georgia V |
Phone no to this hotel
0
Votes
Ragnor1
February 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Hotelamsterdam93 | Property representative |
Mrs. Thomas, sorry for delays in responding to you. Unfortunately renovations will be ongoing this coming April still. However, as mentioned by other guests, the construction activities are restricted to office hours only... More
0
Votes
Google Translation
Room Tips
"Get as high up and as far away from the construction as possible."
Read review
"Call the Hotel for the best room pros and cons"
Read review
"Great location"
Read review
"avoid the room 424, 218 is great"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing