Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Nova Hotel Amsterdam

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam The Netherlands
Traveller (397)
Panorama of the Double or Twin Room at the Nova Hotel Amsterdam
360
Panoramas (2)
Room & Suite (202)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
C$179
C$189
C$163
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#186 of 411 hotels in Amsterdam
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value

Nova Hotel Amsterdam is an excellent choice for travellers visiting Amsterdam, offering a family-friendly environment alongside many helpful amenities designed to enhance your stay.

While staying at Nova Hotel Amsterdam, visitors can check out Hagelswag (0.3 km) and Dam Square (0.4 km), some of Amsterdam's top attractions.

Guest rooms offer amenities such as a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk, and guests can go online with free wifi offered by the hotel.

Nova Hotel Amsterdam features 24 hour front desk, 24 hour check-in, and baggage storage, to help make your stay more enjoyable. The property also boasts breakfast.

While you’re here, be sure to check out some of the cafes, including Green House Coffeeshop, Winkel 43, and Corner Bakery - Amsterdam Oud Zuid, all of which are a short distance from Nova Hotel Amsterdam.

Plus, during your trip, don't forget to check out a , such as Gemeentearchief.

Enjoy your stay in Amsterdam!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 276, 1012 RS Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
11.4 km
See all flights
Rotterdam Airport
55.1 km
See all flights
Nieuwmarkt
10 minAmsterdam Metro
1,374Review50Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 358
  • 656
  • 236
  • 69
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Rod M wrote a review Oct 2021
Vancouver, Canada399 contributions66 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When I arrived, there had been a mix up with my reservation that turned out to be my error. Fortunately they still had a room for me that looked into an inner courtyard/hallway. That was fine because there was massive street work being done and work on the front of the hotel (complete with scaffolding and covering). The room was modern and had everything I needed, however there was an orange pop stain in the carpet next to the bed and a strange mechanism for the bathroom door (which didn't close completely). Also the doors to the rooms slam shut so in the inner courtyard you are constantly hearing slamming doors. The staff were nice but the daily room cleaning doesn't happen until the late afternoon despite requesting early room cleaning (only a problem when dealing with jet-lag).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Inner courtyard rooms are "quiet" except for the banging of the other doors.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lou wrote a review Sep 2020
England, United Kingdom193 contributions95 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and a friend stayed here in March this year as part of my 30th birthday celebrations, neither of us had visited Amsterdam before and I was worried we would be too far out. I was wrong the hotel is in a great position walkable from the train station and all main attractions, close by to the dam square.

The reception staff we all nothing but pleasant, helping us in any way they could and when we got there earlier than check in expecting to just leave our bags they gave us our room key instead which was great. The room was big and very clean (which we worried concerned about due to coronavirus becoming more prominent in each country)

We went to go for breakfast one morning but it was busy and didn't look very appealing so we went out instead, the drink machine was working the whole duration of our stay i notice a few previous reviews mentioned it wasn't.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again recommend this hotel to anyone else wanting to visit Amsterdam
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helma Hin, General Manager at Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Responded Sep 16, 2020
Dear LoubyLou, THank you for your kind words and it is always good to read one of our guests had an enjoyable time at our hotel. A lot has changed since March but we hope that our friends of the UK will come and visit us again soon! Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
137nigel1965 wrote a review Oct 2022
Horsham, United Kingdom75 contributions79 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for a long weekend exploring the city. The hotel is in a great location just minutes from Dam square but just far enough away to be quieter at night. I believe the hotel has around 60 rooms and was originally 4 properties which have been knocked through to create the space, it certainly doesn’t look that big from outside which makes it feel quite intimate. The reception staff that we encountered throughout our weekend were all lovely and very helpful and friendly, we did not book breakfast, preferring to get this out and about in the city. Our room was a comfort room but was big enough for our needs and had a comfy bed and clean spacious bathroom area. My only gripe is that there was no tea/ coffee making facility in the room, but this was available on the ground floor, although carrying this up the steep staircases to the third floor was interesting. I also felt that the carpeted areas on the floors between the rooms could benefit from a good clean as they looked well lived in and stained. All in all a great place to stay in the city and we would not hesitate to stay here again when we return to this great city.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues, request a room on a low floor as the lift only carries 3 people...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helma Hin, General Manager at Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Responded Oct 7, 2022
Dear guest, thank you for your nice review and it is good to see you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. We hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
R.b wrote a review Mar 2020
12 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a 3 night stay here. On arrival we were giving a key which had to be handed in each time u leave the hotel and asked to pay city tax which was €38. The hotel has a very small lift so was great if we didn’t want to take the steep stairs. Our room was 503 which was spacious for us both however the room was dirty you could see the dust sitting on the phone, bins weren’t empty, tiles in bathroom weren’t cleaned, stains on curtains and carpets and on the second night there was very bad rain which had leaked through the window causing a constant ‘drip’ sound but we used a towel to catch the water so the sound stopped. The breakfast was not great, the scrambled eggs were vile so I just stuck with boiled eggs (seems we weren’t the only ones dissatisfied with breakfast as the lady at the desk was dealing with a compliant about the breakfast on the second day as we were heading back to our room). There is a free coffee machine in the lobby which was great and location is excellent being only a to couple of minutes walk to dam square. Bed was comfortable and had a fridge in the room which came in handy. The room was never cold and you can adjust the heating by the heater. The woman who checked us in and out was not very friendly or approachable but the gentleman that was on Monday & Tuesday evening was very friendly and great customer service with a smile. This hotel was cheap and you get what you pay for but unfortunately for us we would not stay again due to the dirtiness and breakfast options.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helma Hin, General Manager at Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Responded Apr 10, 2020
Dear Rachel, I am sorry to read that you were not happy with our hotel. We will certainly look into the situation of room 503 because it should be spotless and will instruct our cleaning staff. The fact that you need to leave your key is for security reasons and the city tax has been ordered by the city of Amsterdam and totally our of our control. The breakfast is mostly highly appreciated and everything is freshly baked every morning. I know you will not return but would like to thank you for leaving a review for us to learn and take action.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lee wrote a review Dec 2022
London, United Kingdom951 contributions121 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Recently stayed at a hotel in the city center of Amsterdam and it was a complete disaster. While the location was convenient, the rest of the experience was far from enjoyable.

To start, the floor was not clean and when I entered my room, there were wet patches on the carpet. The fridge made a constant noise and the walls were so thin that I could easily hear conversations from my neighbors. The bedsheets had a bad smell and did not seem clean.

In addition, the hotel required me to leave my room key at the reception desk whenever I left the hotel, citing safety reasons. However, the room keys are actually cards and it was hard to understand how leaving them at the desk could possibly enhance safety. There have also been reports from other guests that their belongings went missing during their stay, see old reviews.

When I arrived at the hotel at 1pm to drop off my luggage, I was told that I would have to wait until 2pm to check in. I returned at 3:40pm and was told that my room was not yet ready and that I would have to wait another 25 minutes. The hotel offered me a free breakfast as compensation, but after everything that had happened, I had no desire to eat there.

Furthermore, the overall condition of the hotel was poor and did not live up to the standards of a 3-star hotel. I could have found a similar level of accommodation for a lower price or spent a little more to stay at a globally recognized hotel chain with included breakfast.

To top it all off, when I checked in, the receptionist insisted that I pay an extra city tax, despite the fact that I had already paid for my stay in advance through a well-known travel website. When I showed her the price summary that included the tax, she claimed that I had not paid and it was unclear what had happened between the hotel's booking system and the website.

In conclusion, I would highly suggest avoiding this hotel. The reception service was unprofessional and the environment was dirty and noisy. It was not worth the time or energy to stay there.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: choose the option that the fee can totally refund
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
owner of Aurjwan wrote a review Aug 2022
Amman, Jordan84 contributions16 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked for 3 nights , the location of the hotel is excellent just in the middle of everything . The reception staff are good in general and they tried to help especially Kamala, and the other person ( was in duty on 29 )who tried his best to help even outside the hotel by giving very useful information .
The breakfast is good and variety of food and also the staff I remember one called Ronny he is very friendly
But something is wrong with this hotel as nobody cleaned the room for 3 days although we asked few times , they claimed no adequate staff for housekeeping and sometimes as it seems the housekeeping staff did not listen to receptionist! Very clear .
Anyway the experience of cleaning and housekeeping was very bad especially when one of the staff shouted at me when I put the waste bin at the door to help them to take it or to alert them the room badly need cleaning .
Very strange feelings and I will not stay again
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helma Hin, General Manager at Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Dear Feras T, we sincerely apologise for the housekeeping situation. We are struggling to find good staff for housekeeping and it is our main priority at the moment. We have let the bad staff go by now and are hiring new and more motivated staff. It is too late for your stay and again we are very sorry for that.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John D wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Me and my wife stayed here for 3 nights. We arrived early on a Saturday and could not check in until 14:00 but we were able to put our cases in a locked cupboard until then and we could have made use of the facilities however we chose to go for a walk instead.
The staff are very friendly and polite.
The hotel was very clean and the room was also cleaned every day.
As we we're there for my wife's birthday I had arranged for a bottle of prosecco and box of chocolates with a note to be placed in the room. Payment was arranged before we got there and the hamper was presented in a nice basket, and also included a punnet of grapes and 2 packets of nuts.
The beds were comfortable and although there was no air conditioning there were 2 fans provided. The plug sockets had usb ports which was very handy as we had forgotten our travel adapter and needed to charge our phones. There was also a hairdryer supplied. Unfortunately there was no tea or coffee facilities in the room itself but there was a machine in reception which was free and was actually a very nice coffee.
We stayed on the 3rd floor and the stairs are quite steep so may be a struggle for some but there is a lift available.
Overall a very nice stay and I would definitely stay in this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helma Hin, General Manager at Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Dear John, Thank you so much for your very nice review. We always try to offer extra service whenever possible and it is nice to read it worked out fine. We hope you and your wife will have nice memories of your time in Amsterdam.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caitlin Horner wrote a review Aug 2023
Scotland, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 4 nights with my husband. We had such a great stay. Hotel was lovely and is very central aswell.

Room we had was room 40 it was spacious, clean and the bed was comfortable aswell. You get fans, an extra pillow and hair dryer in the room and a fridge. Also Shampoo and body wash in the rooms to. If you need to use an iron or ironing board just ask reception there more than happy to let you use it.

All staff members we met were lovely and always there to help you when needed. Also the housekeeping staff aswell our do not disturb fell off the door a few times but they always chapped just incase to make sure we didnt need anything so thank you.

We had breakfast once and it was nice basic but nice and fresh.

You get free coffee in the lobby as they dont supply tea or coffee in the room my husband preferred doing it this way. But huge thank you to nova hotel we had a great stay
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helma Hin, General Manager at Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Responded Aug 28, 2023
Dear guest, thank you for pointing out all the positive features regarding our hotel! It is always nice to see that our guests had a good time iin our beautiful city and at the Nova Hotel. Please come back some day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda J wrote a review Aug 2022
16 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The best thing about this hotel is the great location within walking distance of old town and most trams. The staff here were super nice and helpful. We stayed here 3 years ago and was hesitant to rebook because our room was so small back in 2019. Since then, the hotel has had some reconstruction, and our room was larger and more comfortable. We were on the first floor in room 2 with an entrance from inside the atrium. The room was super clean, decent size bathroom, comfortable bed, and a large screen smart TV. The breakfast had a good selection and there is complimentary coffee available 24/7. The only downside was that we could hear doors constantly slamming as guests went in and out. And the last night we were there, we had difficulty falling asleep due to hearing the guests above us stomping around the room until very late. Overall, we would definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helma Hin, General Manager at Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Responded Aug 19, 2022
Dear Ljjubilado, thank you for the nice score on your review. Always good to see guests return to our hotel. We are situated in historic building with wooden floors like they used some time ago. We tried to insulate our floors as well as possible but sometimes there are loud guests indeed. We sincerely apologise for that. We hope you still had a very nice time in Amsterdam.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bex wrote a review Apr 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice little hotel in the centre which didn't break the bank. The room was quite basic but had pretty much everything needed. We were in an attic room with sloping ceilings. The large mirror was on the only full height with no electric socket near it. The hotel team brought us an extension lead without any fuss. No kettle in the room but they have a free tea/coffee machine in the foyer, available 24/7. We checked out at 11am but our flight wasn't until the evening. The staff stored our luggage in a locked room until we were ready to collect it. Everyone, from housekeeping to reception, were friendly and helpful. There really wasn't anything to fault.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring ear plugs. The central location of the hotel means there was quite a lot of noise...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LeanneandJosh321 asked a question May 2023
North Wales, United Kingdom23 contributions2 helpful votes
Does the hotel have access for you to use an iron and ironing board?
Answer from Linda J
16 contributions2 helpful votes
Our "standard room" included a queen size bed, decent size room (meaning we both could walk around without bumping into each other), a safe, hot water pot for tea, a mini frig, regular phone to be able to call the front desk, soap and shampoo in the bathroom. No A/C. We were very comfortable as a couple.
Answer from Helma H
Amsterdam, The Netherlands1 helpful vote
Thank you for your question. All of our rooms have shower, toilet so you will have more time to go into town. Hope to see you soon! Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Peter Moore asked a question Mar 2020
Benfleet, United Kingdom61 contributions140 helpful votes
Is this hotel closed for the Corona virus? As all of Amsterdam attractions have
Answer from Lesley M
Sheffield, United Kingdom4 contributions12 helpful votes
They have a locked room where you can store any bags prior to your room being ready or left because you want to do more sight seeing before heading back to the airport.
Richard H wrote a tip May 10
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't' stay here."
Read full review
Kingfisher19 wrote a tip Apr 2024
London12 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book tickets for Amsterdam attractions well in advance as they get booked up quite quickly. Don’t wait until the day you want to visit "
Read full review
Bex wrote a tip Apr 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring ear plugs. The central location of the hotel means there was quite a lot of noise throughout the night."
Read full review
Tracy-ash S wrote a tip Nov 2023
Derby, United Kingdom22 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Come out the hotel turn right ,carry on waking to the next corner past the shops cross the road andthe crossingke the first & ur in Dam square "
Read full review
Nairne M wrote a tip Sep 2023
Tenerife, Spain2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Central Station is only 10 minutes from hotel so can get train from airport"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amsterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
C$227 - C$469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
amsterdam nova hotel, nova hotel amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamBurgwallen-Nieuwe Zijde / Old Center / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
67
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Nova Hotel Amsterdam - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include Museumphoto (0.3 km), House of Rituals (0.3 km), and Dam Square (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Bougainville, Gartine, and Bridges.
Does Nova Hotel Amsterdam have airport transportation?
Yes, Nova Hotel Amsterdam offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Nova Hotel Amsterdam located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Amsterdam.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Nova Hotel Amsterdam?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (1.9 km), Portuguese Synagogue (1.1 km), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (0.8 km).
Is Nova Hotel Amsterdam accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Amsterdam HotelsAmsterdam Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AmsterdamHotels near Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars