We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Avenue Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 980: English reviews
Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I stay here every January for my Birthday, going again on the 27th and I can honestly say this hotel is quality. Great for the money and perfect location, clean room every time and very helpful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrispowell42
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

travelled to amsterdam wth 11 friends, hotel was very easy to get to from the train station, 2 minutes walk literally, the quad rooms are massive, thought i was in a penthouse for a second, staff was very friendly.. the strip is a minute walk if you want to explore, everything was close by, would stay here again if i...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jah l
lincs
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night, and really it was alright, the room was slightly small but clean, we did ask for a double bed on booking our reservation, but we ended up with two singles pushed together, creating a man eating bed situation. We did have a pool view, (a flooded rooftop with cigarette butts swimming around) room 101...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank almerfud
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Close to train station and central to everything. Although on the small side, the room was clean & the bed comfortable. Ask for a quiet room if available as Hotel is located near Police station and we found it to be quite noisy at all hours as our room was located at the front. Good breakfast choices. Would stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn J
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I hate leaving bad reviews but don't want anyone making the same mistake we did. Myself and my mum stayed here for our girly weekend away and were bitterly disappointed. We received an email prior to arriving that my mums credit card had been declined and if we didn't get there by 6pm our reservation would be cancelled. We called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui5179
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We understand that the first impression during check-in may have given you a negative view of our hotel. Due to the invalid credit card on this occasion, our system automatically mark the credit card as invalid once it has been declined. The booking agency which you booked through with, will then notify the guest...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel I have to say I was really impressed! The location of the hotel is great, a few minutes walk from the majority of coffee shops. The staff at the hotel were friendly and really helpful. Breakfast was great - a good selection of options, really well cooked and not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laura, Thank you for the well written review! We are thrilled to hear that your trip in Avenue Hotel was great. Especially the mention of our helpful staffs made us very proud! Our apologies for the cracked window. The new year in Avenue Hotel has been too exciting for someone. Luckily, it has now all been fixed. Once again,...

Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

First time staying at the Avenue for more than a year. Still the same, the hotel is filled with short-term tourists from all over the world. Very convenient walk from Centraal Station and then walking onward to main tourist area. Very friendly staff helps with many questions from first time visitors you into room early if it is ready. Hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. David, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience! We are extremely happy to hear that everything met your expectations again! As always, send us an email whenever you want to visit us again. We will always hold our door open for you. Looking forward for your next trip! With kind regards, Team Avenue

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is very clean, rooms are basic but good shower and bed. Great location, walking distance from and to central station and into the city centre. Ideal for weekend / short stay or business trip. I went for the breakfast early, the food is good and plenty of space available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eltj0
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for the great review! We are delighted to hear that everything met your expectations. Our continental breakfast is indeed one of the most complete in Amsterdam central. As each morning our breakfast staff prepares everything by heart. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience! With kind regards, Team Avenue

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here from 1-4 January 2017.. they gave us room 311 and it is just perfect for a family of 4! First time to stay in a hotel room with an attic..very clean room.. we love the toilet/bathroom.. super hot shower, just perfect for the "feels like -6 deg celcius" weather :) and oh... the breakfast is superb too! Main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shannica
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shannica, Thank you for the excellent review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay in Avenue Hotel. Your review is very motivating and means a lot to us! Hoping we may welcome you again in the nearest future! With kind regards, Team Avenue

Gaziantep, Turkey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great location but hotel is expensive than the other 3 stars hotels. The rooms are very small. U don't open your bags. Breakfast is not bad. But u must ur breakfast before the 10.30. If u don't finish staff are not polite.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drsrht
AvenueHotelAMS, Front Office Manager at Avenue Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience. It saddens us that we can not make your stay more enjoyable at the time we are writing this reply. Do contact us for any preferences or complaints during your stay. As we have more than six room types available, we are sure we could present you bigger rooms had you contacted...

593 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (404)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (56)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Other (172)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Quadruple Room (59)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)
Viewed
Twin and Double Room (44)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#104 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,102 reviews
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#151 of 361 in Amsterdam
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#77 of 361 in Amsterdam
815 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#65 of 361 in Amsterdam
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Centrum

Neighbourhood Profile
Centrum
Amsterdam’s buzzing hub, with its sprawling network of tram rails and a seemingly constant flow of tourists and commuters, yields convenient access to some of the best sightseeing, shopping, and street life in Europe. Closest at hand are the Royal Palace, the quaint shops of Haalremmerdijk, the pedestrianized zones Kalverstraat and Dam Square with popular neighborhoods such as the Red Light District, and the Canal Ring hardly more than a moment’s stroll away. With the well-connected Centraal Station as Centrum’s base, it's easy to travel farther afield via one of the city’s iconic trams.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A number of historic buildings make up the Avenue Hotel. Part of these premises even dates back to the 17th century. An interesting fact about the building: during the Golden Age it was used as a warehouse by the 'V.O.C.' (United East India Company). Since that time the building has had many different owners and served different purposes. It has now turned into a hotel, that is up to contemporary standards. The rooms are divided over the different parts of the hotel so they all have a unique style and shape. You can reach all floors by elevator. Our 3 star-hotel has 82 comfortable rooms. Furthermore we offer free WIFI-connection and continental breakfast. All our rooms come with a flatscreen-tv, private bathroom with shower and/or bath, airconditioning and a desk. Discover numerous sights in the vicinity of the Avenue Hotel: Dam Square, the Red Light District, The Nine Streets, the canals and several shopping streets can be reached by foot. The hotel staff will gladly answer your questions about the public transport system, museums and excursions. The best way to explore Amsterdam is by bike, we also offer you the posibility to rent a bike. In the video below you will see why this is te best way to explore Amsterdam ... more   less 

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 33, 1012 RD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Price Range: $138 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenue Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Avenue Hotel staff and other travellers.
23 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (23)

Questions? Get answers from Avenue Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room off the main street”
 of 5 bubbles , 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room with a window!”
 of 5 bubbles shannica, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room away from the lift well at the end of a corridor to minimise the noise of people coming and going.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelcL3985ZD, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms we saw are small, dark and dated.”
 of 5 bubbles ThePhillyB, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you do decide to stay here rooms 501 and 601 are bigger and have large windows which allow more light into the somewhat dingy rooms!”
  • Wet room with poor ventilation!
  • Stained Carpets!
 of 5 bubbles 274jh, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay