We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 327: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel
 Click to rate
Kingston-upon-Hull, England
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We visited for 3 nights in November and found the hotel to be a great little place for a trip to Amsterdam . The location is about 10 minutes walk from Central station and easy enough to find.It is right in the heart of the action a couple minutes walk from the red light district but far enough away. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mia T
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is in the center of amsterdam and there are many shops around this hotel. The breakfast is good, there is everything you need. The staff is really friendly and helpfull. I would come back to this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is located right in the city centre, just under 10 minutes to get to the station. My priority for any hotel is cleanliness, and the room was lovely and clean. The bathroom was small, and more of a wet room as mentioned in many reviews, however it was clean and the power of the shower was just fine....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alessia D
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and found your room to be well cleaned. We hope you will visit with us again and let us know what your room preferences are in your reservation as returning guests are given priority!

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A basic hotel in the centre of Amsterdam, which could be overlooked when walking past all the bars, cafes and fast-food outlets. The receptionist was very welcoming and hospitable and offered us maps and information on arrival as well as a locked room to leave our luggage until our room was ready. Our room was on the fourth floor, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnWMcD
Roma
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Yes, there isn't an elevator neither a real wardrobe, but the position is very central and the bill not expensive at all for Amsterdam. In addition the hotel is very clean and my bed comfortable. At the end is a good compromise to travel "low cost" but with decent standards.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amedeo G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Wow this is a 3 three and was so, so much better than the disgusting 4 star i stayed at in Nov 2016, the bed were to dead for,i believe this is what a cloud feels like, but the bathroom for four girls was not good this is where is lost a few points, but lucky the size of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 3 March 2017

A quaint hotel right next to Dam square. Lovely breakfast spread and a fantastic location. Like many buildings in Amsterdam this one too does not have lifts and the stairs are very steep. Situated in a traditional Amsterdam style building the hotel has enough amenities for a quick stopover in the city

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Santosh A
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Read the mixed reviews before we went. This B and B is in the perfect location...very busy just off Dam Square...so ..yes it is noisy at night..but then you can't be in the hub of the city and it not be noisy. The check in went well with very friendly staff. Room was on the third floor in the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heyssuzanne
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location and appreciated the classic Amsterdam architecture. We hope that you will visit with us again soon!

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

This was mine and my fiancées first time to Amsterdam and we booked this hotel through booking.com 2 days before our trip. We arrived in Amsterdam at 9am, 24/01/17 and although we saw online that the checking in time was 2pm we thought we'd go and ask if there was anywhere for us to leave our bags until the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff welcoming and helpful. We hope you will visit with us again soon!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Our locked room was broken into and robbed on the last night of our stay. The neighbouring room was also broken into. There are only three keys to the room, two in our possession and one with the staff. Over $1500 in cash and electronics were stolen. Police reports have been filed and the hotel is under investigation. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank emilyanne353
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. Although the alleged theft from your room would be a regrettable experience, we cannot accept liability as is standard hotel procedure internationally. The reason for this is that it is the guest’s own responsibility to make certain they have closed and locked their own room door and...

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#192 of 364 in Amsterdam
770 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#133 of 364 in Amsterdam
2,266 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#288 of 364 in Amsterdam
539 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#51 of 364 in Amsterdam
490 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#173 of 364 in Amsterdam
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighbourhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends! Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: $264 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel De Gerstekorrel staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Swansea, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel De Gerstekorrel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't go higher than the fourth floor!”
, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Noisy and lively area of Amsterdam. Only stay if you are younger and like to party until the early hours.”
JohnWMcD, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is in the Perfect spot to get to EVERYTHING and i mean EVERYTHING”
69jos, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“no lifts and the stairs are very very steep”
bisurah, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a very low floor if you are not a climber”
heyssuzanne, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5