We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St Christopher\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 811: English reviews
Start your review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
 Click to rate
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Every time we visit the dam we end up here. No wonder though.......I was in dam square and bought 2 vodkas and cole 32euros!! went 5 minutes round the corner to here and got the same drinks 7euros!! There is a beer garden out the back which is great in the summer and every time i have had food its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank keebzi
Lakeland, Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location. Right in Dam Square. The bar was nice. The food was great. It was a better experience than we were expecting out of a hostel. The top floor with balcony was worth the extra money. The complimentary breakfast buffet was nice to start the day. We left early and walked the city every day. St Christophers is in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This was our 2nd stay at the Winston and it didn't disappoint. Perfect location ✔️ Excellent facilities ✔️ THE BEST staff ✔️ Great atmosphere ✔️ Beautiful food ✔️ Great value for money ✔️ Could not imagine visiting Amsterdam and staying anywhere else

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the amazing review! It's great to see that we ticked so many important boxes! We hope to see you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

Been to Amsterdam many times. Should have been staying here. Met lots of people from almost every where. Just really all around a very good place to stay excellent location. The bar connected belushies was awesome great food and atmosphere. A smokers lounge . Cigarettes and marihuana. The staff was good the breakfast is worth the money.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dewaag2016
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Great to see that you would pick us out of all the other places you've stayed at, thank you for the huge compliment! We will look forward to your next time in Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Absolutely did what it said on the tin. Simple, no fuss, central, clean. Stayed in a mixed group of 12 so had two rooms. Rooms were exactly what was needed for a cheap stay. Only criticism would be that the bins didn't get emptied and we were there for three nights. Staff were friendly and helpful in the hostel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

It's great to see that you guys had a good time with us! Bins should normally be emptied every day, so we're not sure what went wrong and we apologize for the inconvenience. We will have a chat with our cleaning manager in order to prevent future occurrences. Thank you for your thoughts! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 14 January 2017

As a novice traveller, I was nervous about my first hostel stay especially considering the reviews I had read on here and the warnings I had heard about hostels in general beforehand. This place completely surpassed my expectations though and while it's obvious that it isn't a 5* hotel, it's a great budget option. I went with a tour group...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Celisa W
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! It's great to see that you had such a good time with us. To avoid disappointment for our future guests we would like to note that breakfast is generally only free if you book directly through our own website. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

Mandal, Norway
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Normally when I travel solo Im placed in a room with other solo travelers. That way we get to know each other. This hostel placed me in a room with a group of four and no other solo travellers. These guys would have sex in the room in the middle of the night, smoke cannabis at day and night in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon-Henrik E
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are genuinely sorry to read that your roommates have made your stay uncomfortable, and that you didn't enjoy your time with us because of that. Had we known about this occurrence at the time that it happened, our staff would have dealt with it accordingly, for example by speaking to said guests, or...

Welwyn Garden City, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

This place is in the heart of it. You're a two minute walk and surrounded by bars and clubs. You're warned about the noise but it isn't horrendous and well worth it. Each room has. A unique design which I thought was pretty cool and the place itself had an edgy feel to it. You get buy one get one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren_Small
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! We will be looking forward to your return! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewed 3 January 2017

My boyfriend and I wanted a hostal experience and boy we got it!... The place was full of young people from all over the world... great music and ambience at the lobby... We stayed in a private room... the decore was crazy... there where about 8 paintings of naked people in different sexual positions, but with great taste and in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EstrabeauLalo
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review! We hope to welcome you again some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

This place has lots of pluses such as location is perfect for exploring the city on foot or bike, the reception staff are very nice and extremely helpful, the bar has good discounts, breakfast is good for the money, the rooms are decent enough, beds are comfy and clean. Minus though: the bar is the only social area not great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samara B
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind and very constructive feedback. Please note that we will take your feedback on board, and within permit and legal limitations will try what we can in order to reduce the noise in the rooms as much as possible. Thanks again for your feedback! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

579 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (268)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (95)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (290)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Eight Bed Ensuite Dorm (31)
Viewed
Five Bed Ensuite Dorm with Balcony (35)
Viewed
Four Bed Ensuite Dorm (36)
Viewed
Premium Double Ensuite Room (29)
Viewed
Private Five Bedroom Ensuite Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Small Twin Ensuite Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Ensuite Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#52 of 361 in Amsterdam
437 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,446 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#142 of 361 in Amsterdam
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighbourhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher's not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi's bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can't go wrong. This is the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We're sure you're going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: $64 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St Christopher's at Winston Hotel staff and other travellers.
47 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (47)

Questions? Get answers from St Christopher's at Winston Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try the nachos very tasty”
 of 5 bubbles keebzi, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Larger rooms with windows are better.”
 of 5 bubbles darrensB4170FN, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a private room... they are the best!”
 of 5 bubbles EstrabeauLalo, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The church bells go off every 15 minutes but you get used to it!”
 of 5 bubbles DeanWMC, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a room on the 7th Floor”
 of 5 bubbles laurajanep2015, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5