We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
St Christopher\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 819: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed there 3 times, last time was in January for 5 days! We were 6 girls and had a great time there! Very nice and helpful staff and manager. Clean, safe, friendly, great decor, good food, great happy hour, great coffee shop and back garden with great music... There is free breakfast: toasts, ham and cheese, fruits, cereals, boiled eggs,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margarida C
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive review. We're happy you keep coming back and keep loving us! We look forward to next time you're here! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2015

Stayed here twice now and haven't looked back since I first stepped in. The location is amazing, pretty much central to everything and close to both the train station and tram. The hostel itself is wonderful with a bar that serves great food throughout the day. There are loads of lockers for luggage if you arrive early and want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sammy M
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for all your kind words! It's really good to read that you are such a happy returning guest. We're also very happy that everything went well with sending back your purse. We hope you'll stay with us again soon! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

Reviewed 9 March 2015 via mobile

Stayed here with a couple of my friends during my travels in Europe. Great clean rooms, cheap bar downstairs. The prices of the rooms were a bit above average compared to other hostels in the area but was deffinetly worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominichughes
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback! We're pleased to read that you enjoyed yourself so much, and that you thought that although we were slightly more expensive than other places, there's no reason to book somewhere else. Thanks again! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

Reviewed 9 March 2015

I stayed in a four bed dorm for 4 days. The room was a reasonable size and clean. It did have it's own shower/sink/toilet. Large smoking area downstairs and a "beer" garden out the back. Food is good, the free breakfas tis also worth getting up for ! It is next to a nightclub in a busy part of town,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Firkinnel
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Great to see you enjoyed yourself and that you will be returning soon. We will be on the lookout! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

Reviewed 9 March 2015

The location is handy for transportation and ideal for night life. Room is ok but the light in toilet didn't work that night. A short stay so not impressed much. But it would be nice if you like a popular bar just in the hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 建全 陳
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! It's good to see that you enjoyed that we are situated right in the middle of the party. Unfortunately we can't find your booking with just the name that shows up with your review, but we would like to know which room you stayed at, so that we can fix the toilet light....

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

Perfect location in the heart of the dam. So we stayed here for 1 night over valentines weekend. 4 of us in a shared private room, With balcony. We were able to use the lockers whilst our room was being prepared (check on 2pm) so we ventured out to explore. It was around 70cents per hour or a few euros...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imjustalilgirl
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed review! It's great to see that you enjoyed yourself, and that you'd potentially come back for another short stay. In regards to the noise, please note that we offer free ear plugs in our reception desk, which might just see you through an extra few hours of sleep. Thanks again for your time!...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2015

Love it here so funky and fresh and a great base to explore the surrounding cafes and nightlife! Came years ago and just been back recently on a short break, would definitely recommend to open minded travellers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bb1704
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for coming back and for leaving us a good review! We hope you'll choose us as your base again next time you come to Amsterdam! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 27 February 2015

St Christopher's seem to be the best chain of hostels for backpackers across Europe, St Christophers at Winston is located right in the middle of all the action. Entering the hostel you are greeted by the always-happening Belushi bar, they serve some great burgers. The dorms and bathrooms are quite clean, really warm during the winters though, towels and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shepherdadrian
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We're pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you thought it was almost perfect. We are, however, sorry to read that the interaction between you and one of our bartenders wasn't what you would've hoped and expected. Though this bartender has a strong Scottish accent and could easily be misunderstood,...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2015

7 of my friends and I stayed at the Winston for three nights (Friday-Sunday) we had a mixed dorm room on the ground floor and we loved it!! The rooms were clean, the food was excellent and the bar staff were amazing! We really didn't have any trouble with noise and quite enjoyed the breakfast. The location is great, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LRG862
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such good feedback! Great to see that you had such a good time, and of course we are thrilled to see that you'll definitely be back some day! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

Manaus, AM
Reviewed 26 February 2015

This place is amazing and cheap! Well placed, cheerfull, just amazing! Go there and dont regret! And be greated by the awsome wall paints hanging there! Also...breakfest!? Really? On a hostel!? You just cant go wrong here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tota51
Tom N, Front Office Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for the compliments! Glad you enjoyed it! - St. Christopher's at The Winston

582 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (271)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (59)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
1:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (290)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Eight Bed Ensuite Dorm (31)
Viewed
Five Bed Ensuite Dorm with Balcony (35)
Viewed
Four Bed Ensuite Dorm (36)
Viewed
Premium Double Ensuite Room (29)
Viewed
Private Five Bedroom Ensuite Room (39)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Small Twin Ensuite Room (32)
Viewed
Standard Double Ensuite Room (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
868 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#49 of 362 in Amsterdam
461 reviews
Volkshotel
#43 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 362 in Amsterdam
2,470 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Red Light District (De Wallen)

Neighbourhood Profile
Red Light District (De Wallen)
To visit Amsterdam and not explore De Wallen (the Dutch name for this area) or to go only to gawk at its saucier aspects would mean missing the opportunity to view some of the city’s most picturesque canals, historic landmarks, and impeccably presented examples of traditional local architecture – not to mention Amsterdam’s own Chinatown, Europe’s largest Buddhist temple and more local treasures. Sure, there are some less salubrious activities drawing the curious to this age-old part of time. Nevertheless, the Red Light District is still a very safe and incredibly fascinating area where at the turn of a corner you can be transported from the dingy glow of modern day neon red to a glorious 16th century Delft blue dreamscape.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you're looking to have a great time in Amsterdam, St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your place to be. When you stay at the St Christopher's not only are you in the most central location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi's bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can't go wrong. This is the perfect place to meet other travelers, save money, and party like a rock star. Of course there is also FREE Wi-Fi throughout the entire building. Why not come by and say "hi" to our awesome, multi-lingual team, consisting of friendly expats and locals of all ages? We are always happy to help, or just to hang out. We're sure you're going to love your time here in Amsterdam, and in our hostel, as much as we do! ... more   less 

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Price Range: $65 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from St Christopher's at Winston Hotel staff and other travellers.
47 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (47)

Questions? Get answers from St Christopher's at Winston Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“you can smoke whatever you want downstairs or in the garden, but not in the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles N8576MQdanielf, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“try the nachos very tasty”
 of 5 bubbles keebzi, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Larger rooms with windows are better.”
 of 5 bubbles darrensB4170FN, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a private room... they are the best!”
 of 5 bubbles EstrabeauLalo, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The church bells go off every 15 minutes but you get used to it!”
 of 5 bubbles DeanWMC, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5