Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam

Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam

Herengracht 269, 1016 BJ Amsterdam The Netherlands
Traveller (154)
Panorama at the Hegra Hotel
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (98)

View prices for your travel dates

Get rewarded with One Key
C$337
C$337
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#192 of 411 hotels in Amsterdam
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Hotel Hegra by Stanley Collection Amsterdam is ideally located in the heart of Amsterdam city center canal’s district, along the Herengracht canal, few steps from Singel canals, 5-minute walk from Dam Square and 10 min walk from the main train station Centrale. If you want to feel the vibes of a real Amsterdam, to be in the super prime location of the city but still get a feeling how to leave on the Canals - Hegra by Stanley collection is a right choice for you. The whole hotel was renovated in July 2021 and have been upgraded in a way to make our guest feel as comfortable as possible and get the best of their stay. Each room has free Wi-Fi, a flat television, comfortable beds, private bathroom. For additional comfort of our guest, we have a charming lounge area that is daily opened from 07:30hr till 22:30hr. This is an authentic 17th century merchant house with its own style and history, located in ‘The Nine Streets', Amsterdam's best known and charming shopping areas. Dam square and the Royal Palace are few minutes walk from the hotel. The Anne Frank House and other well-known museums are also just a short walk away. We have maintained the spirit of the hotel's history by combining the antique with the modern, wooden floors, flat-screen TV, wi-fi, private bathrooms. Everything is arranged for your comfort. Hotel Hegra location offers you the perfect start to explore the wonderful atmosphere of the Amsterdam canals. Enjoy the charm and comfort of our cozy boutique hotel, in the heart of one of the most beautiful cities in the world. The Hotel Hegra Amsterdam offers different categories of rooms including some of the Canal view, all nicely decorated with a mix of modern and classic interior.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Boating
Walking tours
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Safe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch, German and 1 more

Location

Herengracht 269, 1016 BJ Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
11.3 km
See all flights
Rotterdam Airport
Nieuwmarkt
12 minAmsterdam Metro
385Reviews14Q+A56Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 137
  • 179
  • 39
  • 11
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dream613304 wrote a review Apr 2023
7 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The lobby is only opened during the day, with no one there at night if there is a problem. First night heat was not working, but they placed new blankets on the beds. The stairs are extremely steep, small, and very twisty. Could not have made it up or down with my suitcase; however, they were kind enough to haul them up and down for me. Room was extremely small, with hardly any room to walk around the beds. Bathroom was small but newer. Would have appreciated a coffee maker and refrigerator in the room. Tried for an earlier check in, since we had been traveling over 12 hours, but our room wasn't ready. We had also requested a room on the first floor ( I have trouble w/ stairs) but that room had "issues" and we were on the second floor (which is two steep flights of miniscule stairs). They offered us the room one floor down for the rest of the stay, but we didn't want to have to pack and move down one flight. The people in reception were very nice, and the woman even shared one of her cookies that were the most delicious ever (from the famous place down the street!) Would stay again if I was promised a room on the first floor (only one flight of stairs!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Make sure you can climb small, narrow stairs.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
StarTree723 wrote a review Apr 2023
Ann Arbor, Michigan26 contributions6 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a great location, walking distance and central to everything we wanted but quiet. Small rooms but comfortable bed and updated bathrooms. Steep, narrow stairs and no lift so not for those with mobility issues. The main downside was that there is not 24/7 reception and the receptionist left 5 hours early both Sat and Sunday. The phone numbers they gave us for after hours help did not work (were not answered) either evening when we needed them. A friend was locked out of her room because her keycard stopped working, and we could not reach anyone. She had also arrived in the evening during posted reception hours but they were not there; they said they had sent her an email with instructions, which she did not receive. They were not very nice about it the next day, after she had slept all night on a narrow bench in the entryway. Through pure chance the owner arrived and was extremely apologetic and helpful, and vowed to improve things going forward (which I sincerely believe they will try to do). This is a great little hotel due to its location and is worth a try, especially if the reception/checkin issues are fixed.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Char wrote a review Dec 2022
24 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Just come home from a 2 night stay at the Hegra. The location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam and is close to everything you may need. The hotel itself was modern and most importantly, clean. Our double room was cosy but was absolutely fine for 2 night stay.

Check in was lovely and had a personal touch, (the hotel only has 9 bedrooms). The hotel was quiet and we got the best nights sleep whilst there!

The room and bathroom itself was modern, clean, had a safe, toiletries and a hair dryer. The ONLY thing I wish the room had was coffee / tea making facilities.

The only warning I have is the stairs going up to the rooms are extremely steep and narrow so if you have mobility issues, this wouldn’t be the place for you. We managed (just about) to get up and down with a small carry on case. It made the hotel quirky and memorable though!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah J C wrote a review Dec 2022
Knaphill, United Kingdom19 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived from the UK at 9pm (3 females) went to check into our room, there was an issue with the door opening so we couldn’t stay in the room. Hotel was fully booked.

For the next two hours, we had to argue with the hotel manager, Carol, to get her to book us another room at any hotel that was open. Manager refused to talk to us directly over the phone and would only communicate via the receptionist, Manuel. He was extremely helpful but useless as the Carol was leaving him in a very difficult position.

Carol could not have cared less about where we stayed or if we had anywhere to stay, she was happy to refund us and send 3 females on their way at 10:30pm in the freezing cold.

Feeling exhausted, upset and annoyed that we had also missed a planned paid comedy show, I eventually found a 3 star hotel for us to which Carol reluctantly agreed to, total waste of our time.

Really terrible, terrible service, hotel looked nice but if you have a problem, don’t expect Carol to help you out!!!

We ended up stay at Hotel Nes which I highly recommend and would 100% stay there again, thanks so much for fitting us in.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jones C wrote a review Oct 2023
5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked this hotel and tried to cancel 48 hours later due to having a hospital emergency, I tried to appeal a cancellation offering to pay a fee for this but they wouldn’t allow this. I rang booking.com and they said hotels usually let you cancel with a fee especially if it’s for a valid reason, yet this is the only hotel who charged my full for not staying. This is in the terms as I didn’t pay for a room you could cancel yet it I would hope in situations like this they would be a bit more remorseful and accept a fee to cancel so they can re-sell the room. £180 is a LOT of money and I appealed this 6 times and booking.com fought this for me as well. You don’t know when an emergency will happen but just a pre warning for anyone booking you will always pay in full regardless if you even pass away.

I think this is disgraceful and such a waste, no help from the customer service team! I will be telling my 500k followers not to book here and I will never be coming back due to that reason. Maybe you should consider giving that room to someone who needs it at a reduced late minute rate rather than it going to waste :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Julia S wrote a review Oct 2023
5 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We were really excited for a canal view room in this hotel. Unfortunately everything about this hotel was far short of our expectations and the experience that was advertised to on the website. We had a late check in (no reception or staff on site) which would be fine if there were no issues with the room. We had many issues with our room upon arrival. First, after climbing four flights of steep and narrow stairs, our room was extremely hot and had the radiator turned to full blast. There was no AC in the room so we had to prop our windows open to cool down the space overnight. We immediately noticed that the room was not deep cleaned and found large amounts of dust throughout the space including used contact lenses and bandaids which is unacceptable for the price and experience that is advertised. All of this could have been overlooked until it started raining and we noticed a leak coming from the roof and down the walls and pooling on the floor. When we brought this issue up with the manager she simply stated, “this is a 400 year old building” and never apologized for the inconvenience or offered any kind of remedy. When we asked for a refund for the night because we did not sleep well due to the myriad issues, she rudely declined and said “you had a bed and a bathroom and that’s all you needed”. We were given the option of a small discount or to leave the hotel, with only 5 min to decide. We choose to leave and go to a much nicer hotel down the street and would recommend that anyone considering this hotel does the same. Not worth the hassle and extremely poor customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carole Kabantsov, General Manager at Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam
Responded Oct 22, 2023
Dear Julia, You made your reservation directly on our hotel web page, and on our web page is very clearly mentioned that due to our historical status we do not have a lift and that if you can’t manage the stairs easily you should ask us in advance for a room on a lower floor. In addition in the description of the room you booked is mentioned that this room is located on the 4th floor. Therefore for the future we do recommend you to better check the description of the hotel you book before confirming it. About the radiator that was on due to the cold weather of the previous days, we are sorry to hear that it was such an issue for you to open the window and switch off the radiator to cool the room. However we did also explain you that we are a 3 stars hotel and no where in our hotel description is mentioned any AC. About the dust, I did personally apologize to you and offered you a discount on your whole stay, but unfortunately that was not enough, I was then again increasing the discount percentage for you whole stay but it was again not enough for you, I was then again trying to satisfy you by giving you an additional 100Euro discount on your first night but it was still not enough for you as you wanted a full refund! Finally as no solution was satisfying you, I indeed offered you to cancel free of charge the rest of your stay and a refund of more than 1.000Euro have been processed to you, but we are sad to see that it was still not enough. We are sorry you did not like our hotel and we are again sorry for the human mistake that housekeeping made, we will pay attention that this will not happen again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda L wrote a review Sep 2022
525 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First and foremost this place is very clean. If you stay here getting a room with a view of the canal is worth it.
However if you get a room that is 150 square feet be aware it is too small for two people. The bathroom is unbelievably small. I realize this is a very old place but if you don’t like small places this is not the place for you.
The office is supposed to be open at 8:30 and no one told us this when we ad told them our flight came in at 6. However no one even came in until 9 so we waited quite a long time. Thru do not clean the rooms so do be aware and of this
There are steep steps even if on the first floor. So if you have mobility issues this would not be. Place for you
Also when we checked out we were told the maid said our room smelled like smoke which is a lie because neither one of us have ever smoked.
Not saying this isn’t a good place. It’s not just the place for us
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bruce K wrote a review Jan 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I made a reservation, but got two email confirmations. The reservation numbers were different, the room descriptions were slightly different, and the prices were slightly different. I sent an email to the hotel asking for an explanation. I never heard back from them. After about a week, I contacted them on WhatsApp. Still no response after several days. I didn't have a good feeling about this hotel, although it made it into my top two choices. I didn't want to stay at a hotel that was so unresponsive.

I cancelled the first reservation (the one I thought that I made), and both were cancelled. We wound up staying at a hotel next door (also starts with an H) that has an elevator (lift) and coffee makers and mini refrigerator in the rooms that the Hegra doesn't have. The service and responsiveness at the other hotel was incredibly good. They bent over backward to help us and offer suggestions.

I am very glad that I cancelled the Hegra.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Go to the Hoxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Carole Kabantsov, General Manager at Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam
Responded Jan 8, 2024
Dear Bruce, we are sorry for your misunderstanding, however you did not have any double reservation at our hotel hegra. You had only 1 reservation made through our web site with a discount for direct bookings. And of course when cancelling the reservation then your stay was cancelled. About your comparaison between our hotel and the hotel next door, we would like to point out that our hotel Hegra is a 3 stars hotel with 3 stars services and housed in a historical old merchant house having a total of 10 rooms, the fact that we do not have a lift is due to our historical building status and it is clearly mentioned on our website. The next door hotel H is a 4 stars hotel with a complete different concept. Indeed it has a lift and plenty of rooms and do offer a complete different concept at a different price level.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hadrien M wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The gentleman at the reception was lovely, but in the end it was a bad experience at heating was not working well enough in the room (the heating installation looks old), so I was cold all night. The bathroom was even colder so could not even brush teeth or shower in there.
To the owner: please invest in heating system (fix the only radiator and add one or two other ones including in bathroom)..this is the basis of hospitality..
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pieter H. & Shauni V.H. wrote a review Mar 2022
East Flanders Province, Belgium121 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall our stay was quite nice. The host was friendly, enthusiastic and really welcoming. Our room was located on the third floor. The stairs leading to our room were rather steep, increasing inaccessibility. The room was clean and quiet but small. For example, it was impossible for two normal sized adults to be in the bathroom without touching.

The location of the hotel is great: located in the 9 straatjes and not far from major attractions such as the Anne frank house.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is no closet, so limit the amount of stuff you bring. Ask for a first or second floor room...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
fionahammondlz asked a question Mar 2018
Nottingham, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi are there hairdryers in the rooms please?
Answer from AmsterdamBart
amsterdam1 contribution1 helpful vote
Yes, there are. Regards, Hotel Hegra
Terry C asked a question Feb 2018
Winnipeg, Canada3 contributions3 helpful votes
Hello. Is there a kettle or a coffee maker in rooms
Answer from christa1966
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom39 contributions22 helpful votes
No we took a travel kettle
Answer from christa1966
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom39 contributions22 helpful votes
Sorry reception isn't manned at night but the owner is very helpful and would sort things for you.
Answer from Fran C
Malta35 contributions2 helpful votes
From the central train station you can easily walk to the hotel it is about 15 mins away. if you could like connect to a wifi somewhere u link your destination in google maps to hegra hotel and then you can disconnect an walk offline and it still show you the way.
Answer from Bart R
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Arriving by means of public transport from Schiphol Airport. 
 
The easiest and fastest way (about 20 minutes) to get to the Hegra Hotel is by taxi. The train is a good alternative. Trains towards Amsterdam Central Station depart from Schiphol Airport every 15 minutes. From the Amsterdam Central Station, a taxi is once again the easiest and fastest way to get from there to the Hegra Hotel. Alternately, you can take tramlines 1, 2 or 5 to the Dam stop (the second stop from the Central Station). Then walk on in the same direction as the tram and turn right at the first corner. Then cross over the Singel (a canal) and walk to the next canal (the Herengracht) where you will turn left. The Hegra Hotel will be on your left in another 150 metres at Herengracht 269. 
 

 
 Regards, Hotel Hegra
Chris Massaad wrote a tip Jan 2024
Playa Blanca, Spain79 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book online as hotel is very small"
Read full review
Bruce K wrote a tip Jan 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to the Hoxton"
Read full review
susana c wrote a tip Oct 2023
Porto, Portugal2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose another hotel. This is definitely not worth 250 EUR per night!"
Read full review
GaryT wrote a tip Sep 2023
Miami Beach, Florida20 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Due to the lack of an elevator and very steep stairs, I wouldn't recommend for senior travelers"
Read full review
RitaJG wrote a tip Jul 2023
Copenhagen, Denmark31 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No restaurant at the hotel, but there is a beautiful restaurant and bar 20 meters to the right - and the whole city centre is 3 min walk."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amsterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
C$274 - C$499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hegra hotel amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamGrachtengordel-West / Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) / 9 Little Streets (Negen Straatjes) / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam
Which popular attractions are close to Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam?
Nearby attractions include Anne Frank House (0.5 km), Museumphoto (0.5 km), and House of Rituals (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, baggage storage, and boating.
Which room amenities are available at Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a view of a nearby landmark.
Is parking available at Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Bougainville, Gartine, and Bhatti Pasal.
Is Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Amsterdam.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, Portuguese, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (1.8 km), Portuguese Synagogue (1.3 km), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (1.0 km).
Does Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Amsterdam HotelsAmsterdam Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AmsterdamHotels near Stanley Collection Hotel Hegra Amsterdam
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars