Clemens Hotel

Clemens Hotel

Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam The Netherlands
Traveller (547)
Panorama of the Double Deluxe Room at the Clemens Hotel
360
Panoramas (10)
Cosy room with comfy bed
Room & Suite (237)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#40 of 411 hotels in Amsterdam
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hotel Clemens is a cosy two star hotel with a lovely service in the city centre of Amsterdam. Within walking distance you find the Dam square, the beautiful 'Jordaan area' and the famous '9 streets', Anne Frank house and the Westerchurch. The hotel is located in an amazing monumental building between the canals Herengracht and Keijzersgracht.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is officially classified according to Hotelstars Union standards.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch

Location

Raadhuisstraat 39, 1016 DC Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
11.4 km
See all flights
Rotterdam Airport
55.2 km
See all flights
Nieuwmarkt
14 minAmsterdam Metro
1,468Review23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 935
  • 467
  • 55
  • 7
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
i_kenefick wrote a review Mar 2020
Midleton, Ireland38 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Boutique Hotel in a very good location - a stones throw from the canals in Central Amsterdam.

Very nice, friendly hosts (and cats)

Breakfast is fine (not fantastic by any means but all fresh)

Room is small but spotless

The stairs are steep and there's no lift - so it's not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. Still, the staff are very helpful with bags etc.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MikeWMiller wrote a review Mar 2020
Chicago, Illinois7 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was so pleased with every aspect of my stay at Hotel Clemens! The location is right in the middle of the wonderful 9 Streets district, filled with a huge variety of fun restaurants, shops, cafes and bars.

At check in and throughout my stay, the multilingual staff was always pleasant and helpful.

The rooms were compact but very cozy and well-appointed. The bathroom was actually quite spacious and everything was spotless.

WiFi worked well and without any problems. Breakfast was a highlight of the stay with a very broad selection of breakfast foods sure to satisfy any palate. The dining room and adjacent sitting room both open onto balconies overlooking the city.

On future trips I will definitely book again with Hotel Clemens.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary O wrote a review Feb 2020
Saint Paul, Minnesota3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were delayed arriving and concerned there wouldn't be someone to greet us. Should not have worried - the front desk person was helpful and friendly even at a very late hour. Our room on the top floor was typically small, but the bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet overnight despite being on a busy street. Tiny bathroom! Travellers with large or heavy luggage should know this place has very steep (Dutch) stairs and no lift. Breakfast was fantastic, variety of hot and cold items, refreshed with efficiency.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gemma R wrote a review Apr 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently visited Amsterdam for a 3 day trip and the Clemens Hotel was great! Centrally located and within walking distance of all tourist spots and shops. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. They took our bags to the room, greeted us with a complimentary beverage on arrival, lent us an adaptor for our phone charger and stored our bags on departure day with no fuss at all. We didn’t feel rushed and immediately felt at ease on arrival. The complimentary breakfast was lovely with scrambled eggs, meats, cheeses, pastries, fruit, yoghurt and cereals on offer. We stayed in a room on the third floor which was a little small but very comfortable and clean with a lovely hot shower perfect after a day of exploring. The only negative I can see to this hotel is the very steep stairs, which we managed with but they would be a challenge for some. Overall a lovely stay and great hospitality. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura wrote a review May 2021
Zug, Switzerland1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and myself came for a 3 days visit to Amsterdam. The hotel location is great, walking distance from the railway station and from many city monuments and famous places. The hotel team is super friendly and accommodating: they ensured we had vegan food items for breakfast and managed to find a quiet room for my daughter as she could not sleep due to the traffic noise (of note, I could sleep very well regardless if the traffic). We are super satisfied and recommend Clemens Hotel. Just pay attention to take a Garden facing room if you are sensible to night traffic noise.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
richardlanguage wrote a review Apr 2020
Eagan, Minnesota9 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The desk staff bent over backward to make us feel at home. They offered us drinks when we arrived and brought out bags down the *long* set of stairs. The location was near a tram, and 10-15 minute walk from everything we wanted to go see.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Craig Edinburgh wrote a review Oct 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom89 contributions62 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful small centrally located hotel. Upon arrival you are greeted like a friend and offered a free welcome drink, while waiting for my room I was given a map, local information, the manager also gave me his card with a 24hr contact number, such a thoughtful touch. My room was one flight up from reception and faced the street, it was compact but very clean and bright, comfortable beds, satellite TV, en-suite with a good hot shower. The whole hotel is kept to such a high standard and all the staff are very nice.
There are steep steps up to reception from street level and 2 more flights to the rooms with no lift this would be an issue for the less mobile. The hotel sits above a row of shops and cafes and with a small outside terrace it’s lovey to sit and watch the world go by.
Buffett Breakfast was included it’s a full continental with fresh scrambled eggs, lots of choice including unlimited fruit juices, coffee and various teas. The reception is manned 24hrs and free coffee and tea is available, they also had mini muffins, great for a late night snack.
I will definitely return 😀
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Steep steps up to reception On tram route 17, which runs very frequently Must try the bakery...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1953Mabel wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Beware of paying for this hotel prior to arrival during Covid times! I booked a room for myself & husband 6mo prior to arrival and paid full price upfront in good faith.
Unfortunately, our vacation was drastically changed as the Netherlands went into complete lockdown due to Covid in Sept 2021. The hotel refuses to refund even 50% of the total amount paid. Lesson learned; never prepay, especially with this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from A Zaki, General Manager at Clemens Hotel
Responded Nov 28, 2021
Dear Mrs. Sparks, First of all we thank you for your feedback. We just do feel we have to correct something as we do not feel we did anything wrong in this matter. You cancelled your reservation through your travelagent and they contacted us, how to solve this matter on 10-9-2021, the same day we agreed by email to your travelagent that we wont charge this cancellation and they can refund all your prepaid amount as they have this always in their hands, not us. Please contact your travelagent as they are since 10-9-2021 informed that we will not charge anything in this matter. If you need any assistance in this matter, please do not hesitate to contact us directly as we are always willing to do utmost best for all our guests. We sincerely regret your feeling and this very bad review but hopefully this reply will help you and others in the future. We hope to welcome in better times.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mauricio V wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The best experience I've ever had! I had to cancel my reservation because I mistakenly chose the dates, and the hotel offered the option to stay at his partner location "Nadia hotel". As soon as I arrived, the hotel manager and staff greeted us with a warm welcome, invited us to have breakfast at his place the next morning and made us feel like home from the beginning until the end. Very clean room, excellent treatment to a client in hard situations like this one. 100% recommended
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: affordable rooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lucy H wrote a review Sep 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfectly placed, this hotel is a quick 10 minute walk from the centre and only 5 minutes from Anne Frank house. The staff were all brilliant in the hotel, but Moaz was the most attentive. He greeted us with a friendly smile, offered to get our bags and offered us a coffee before we’d checked in and even after we’d checked out and returned to get our bags! He was armed with lots of knowledge and laughter and really made our stay enjoyable.

Breakfast was simple but everything we could want was there-rolls, meat, cereals and fruit. It was also a joy to be able to sit on the balcony above the streets and watch the world go by.

When you open the door, you are confronted by a large flight of stairs-but don’t let this put you off! The rooms are on the smaller side, but they did the job for us and were very quiet. There are also 2 cats that roam the reception which gave the hotel a homely feel. We only had a 2 night stay, but I’m already looking at coming back to this hotel in the new year! Thank you Hotel Clemens and Moaz for a wonderful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from HotelClemens
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Dear guest, we do not have these facilities in the bedrooms, we have these facilities in the lobby 24 hours a day.
joyinnewplaces asked a question Sep 2019
Mumbai, Maharashtra94 contributions4 helpful votes
Hi, how do I reach the hotel? I will be coming from Giethoorn by train
Answer from Ltandrus
Otsego, Michigan15 contributions32 helpful votes
Hello - my husband and I took a cab. The driver pointed out several points of interest on the way.
Answer from Linda I
Tampa, Florida95 contributions136 helpful votes
We stayed last November and requested and received a room with a balcony. I'm sure you can email and ask. We loved it! Great hotel and staff!
JVTorres asked a question Dec 2017
Austin, Texas238 contributions48 helpful votes
Are there baby cribs available ?
Leanne B asked a question Dec 2017
Ra'anana, Israel1 contribution1 helpful vote
Does the hotel have parking?
Answer from Hannah J
Sydney, Australia19 contributions3 helpful votes
Street parking somewhere if you're lucky but not directly outside the place. But the 1 or 2 min walk is worth it once you meet the staff :)
Amy H wrote a tip Apr 2024
24 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be comfortable with doing stairs. "
Read full review
Helen P wrote a tip Feb 2024
189 contributions39 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No big suitcase, free coffee in lovely reception. Bring toiletries for bathroom."
Read full review
AdiA wrote a tip Dec 2022
ednago70 contributions52 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for 2nd floor, if you want less stairs"
Read full review
poko1 wrote a tip Nov 2022
Katoomba, Australia15 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Steep staircase and no lift but this was not a problem for us and stairs make a cool photo! Bob welcomed us and came to take our suitcases."
Read full review
Craig Edinburgh wrote a tip Oct 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom89 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Steep steps up to reception On tram route 17, which runs very frequently Must try the bakery below, mouthwatering selection of food"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amsterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
C$293 - C$490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
clemens hotel amsterdam
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamGrachtengordel-West / Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) / Centrum
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Clemens Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Clemens Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Clemens Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Anne Frank House (0.2 km), The Jordaan (0.4 km), and The Milkmaid Project (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Clemens Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and breakfast buffet.
Which room amenities are available at Clemens Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Clemens Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Clemens Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Ambassade, Cafe Sonneveld, and Biercafe Gollem.
Is Clemens Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Amsterdam.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Clemens Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Clemens Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (2.0 km), Portuguese Synagogue (1.5 km), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (1.1 km).
All Amsterdam HotelsAmsterdam Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AmsterdamHotels near Clemens Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars