We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Conservatorium Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Conservatorium Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Conservatorium Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 795: English reviews
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 30 November 2015

I stayed in the absolutely amazing Conservatorium hotel for 3 nights. The interior design of the hotel (and especially in the lobby) is one of the best I have seen, unique, solid, dark and all together simply stunning. The rooms are beautiful and well equipped, and the service is great. I would like to mention partictulary ETAN the concierge, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pamela K
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is a pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Conservatorium hotel. Your comments regarding the interior design, rooms and service are very much appreciated. We are delighted to read you have enjoyed your stay and that Etan made your stay so wonderful. We will convey your compliments. We look forward to serving you again....

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Magnificent architectural design, outstanding service, wonderful atmosphere, beautiful rooms, incredible food, and excellent position. The rooms are designed in such a special way and leave nothing wanting. The service from the reception desk staff, to e concierge hosts, breakfast room staff and bellboys went above and beyond any expectation. We loved our stay and can't wait to go back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ingridzahavi2015
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was delighted to read your feedback and that you enjoyed your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. I am pleased to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your positive feedback about the staff and service they provided, I will convey your compliments. We look forward to serving you again. Warm regards, Roy...

Reviewed 18 November 2015 via mobile

We could not ask for a better hotel. Amazing design, experienced and high-quality service, concierge best we've seen, great location. Highly recommended !! If you are coming to Amsterdam, not thinking twice. Elegant quality at the highest level that can be expected.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gali b
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, It is a pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Conservatorium hotel. Your comments regarding the hotel and service are truly appreciated and will be shared with the team. We look forward to serving you again. Warm regards, Roy Tomassen General Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 November 2015

We felt welcome from the moment we walked in. Employees are very welcoming, friendly and they all come across as wanting you to have the best possible time. The food in the brasserie is very tasty, fresh, and has a high variety in the assortment. And, not unimportant, excellent wines. In the room you find a lot of technique, while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gydo v
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was delighted to read your feedback and that you enjoyed your stay at the Conservatorium Hotel. We are happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your positive feedback about the staff, food and wines. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards, Roy Tomassen General Manager...

Blaricum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 14 November 2015

Lots of room, nice decoration, salon setting with couches. But: in the restaurant you are packed in rows, the service is a bit slow. I chose the buffet of fresh vegetables: most of them were nice, but the giant shrimp was not cleaned and had dirt squishing out of it. When I said something about this to the waiter, a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ankie V
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at the Conservatorium Hotel and for reviewing your stay with us. We regret to hear that not all our services and facilities met your expectations. We apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced. We hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back. Kind regards, Roy Tomassen General Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. From arrival and greeting from the doorman, receptionist and drink on arrival in reception. The suite was delightful in appearance but sadly the bed was not the most comfortable. The hotel restaurant was ok but no more than that, with poorly trained staff, at one point I got dirty cutlery poured down my shirt by the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stuart1957
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for your review and your kind words about the doorman and receptionist. I regret to read that the bed was not comfortable for you and please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced in the restaurant. Your comments enable us to improve our operation and our services and we have...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 10 November 2015

I see most people have commented that the service was the best. However this is true when it comes to the people working in the reception, but have to say otherwise for the staff in the restaurant. But what a great hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MagnusAndersen
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for choosing the Conservatorium hotel in Amsterdam and your comments here at Tripadvisor. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Roy Tomassen General Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Amsterdam
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

Room was spacious and modern duplex, spa and gym at this hotel are amazing. They had a very good big gym. Staff is very friendly only the room would not be cleaned multiple times a day when requested. Staff is very friendly as well as the breakfast. Love to stay at this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sukisan
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your review. It is a great pleasure to read your enthusiasm about the room, spa and gym. Thank you for your kind words about the staff, we hope to welcome you back in the future. Warm regards, Roy Tomassen General Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

uk
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Gorgeous redesigned old post office, with quirky layouts and a beautiful pool and spa area. Perfect location next to all the musea and the fancy shopping street, lovely place to meet a hip crowd in the restaurant or if the weather allows to chill in the courtyard with a nice glass of Bubbles.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank catharinaUk
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, It is a pleasure to read your review following your stay at the Conservatorium hotel. Your comments regarding the design of the hotel, pool and spa are truly appreciated. We look forward to serving you again. Warm regards, Roy Tomassen General Manager Conservatorium Hotel Amsterdam

Finland
Reviewed 4 November 2015

Door engineer-designer gone mad, this is what first comes to mind when I arrived in my room. Very heavy strangely sliding doors make it difficult to move around your bed and bath. The bathroom which typically these days has a rain shower head that makes it impossible to shower without getting your hair wet (very common bad mistake if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Voyageuse54
Conservatorium H, General Manager at Conservatorium Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor. We regret to read that you didn’t like the design of the rooms, and that not all of our services and facilities met your expectations. With the help of this feedback we are able to continuously improve our services. We apologize for the inconveniences you...

797 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (581)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (157)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (226)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (56)
Viewed
Amenities (1)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (83)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,102 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,447 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 361 in Amsterdam
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
813 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)

Neighbourhood Profile
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Top sites to see in this attractive and affluent part of town include the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum, to name but two of the highly acclaimed museums of the aptly named Museum Quarter. And if you need a break from all the fantastic art, there’s the Neoclassical Concertgebouw music hall and Vondelpark, the city’s largest park. Shopaholics and luxury brand connoisseurs will love exploring the high-end shopping destinations of PC Hooftstraat, Van Baerlestraat, Cornelis Schuytstraat, and Jacob Obrechtstraat, where even the shop window displays are of museum quality. In the evenings, when the museums close and the daytrippers head home, the area becomes a quiet oasis of calm with a sophisticated and urbane tone.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Airport Transportation
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Babysitting
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At Home in the Heart of Amsterdam The Conservatorium Hotel is Amsterdam's leading luxury lifestyle palace, evoking glamour and elegance for sophisticated, design-literate travellers. Located in Museum Square, the luxury centre and cultural heart of the city, the Conservatorium is an architectural masterpiece that combines a landmark heritage building with a graceful , contemporary design, offering guests a selection of restaurants, a bar, lounge and the 1,000 sq m Akasha Holistic Wellbeing Facility. A destination hotel with a real sense of place, the Conservatorium is known at home and abroad as 'Amsterdam's Living Room'. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Conservatorium Hotel

Address: Van Baerlestraat 27, 1071 AN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Price Range: $499 - $869 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conservatorium Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Conservatorium Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Conservatorium Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Duluth
Hong Kong, China
10 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Conservatorium Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Love the Superior Duplex split-level layout!”
  • Lofted bedroom
  • Spa quality shower
  • View from Superior Duplex guest room
  • Details
  • Heavenly bed
  • Details
 of 5 bubbles V6417BDmattp, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Corner suites are fantastic. All rooms have great bathrooms with separate toilet”
 of 5 bubbles 23storms, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“My room had a low ceiling - I think due to plumbing requirements. Worth checking in advance if that matters.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidM2013, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Clever layout of the rooms means it really does not matter where your room is - you will be impressed”
 of 5 bubbles 629dominicm, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There are duplexes as well as single floor rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles PenalopeNewYork, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5