We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (755)
Room & Suite (305)
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Exclusive Family Discount | Get 15% OFF
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#187 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Booking is subject to availability. Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. Additional rules applying for minors traveling without parent/guardian. Please check terms and conditions of the hotel when traveling with underage person or on your own when under 18 years old. Our rooms are professionally cleaned and disinfected before every arrival. Please note: With our initiative "Mindful by nature" your room is only being cleaned upon request during your stay. If you wish to have your room cleaned, simply let us know at reception. Shared rooms are being cleaned daily.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Baggage storage
Shared kitchen
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Vending machine
Billiards
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Desk
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Dutch and 3 more
Hotel links
Special Price:Exclusive Family Discount | Get 15% OFF

Location

Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam The Netherlands
Name/address in local language
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
2,648Reviews172Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 906
  • 1,100
  • 389
  • 109
  • 144
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Maddy C wrote a review Apr 12
1 contribution
Amazing hostel!! Check in was super easy and they accommodated to putting me and all my friends together in the same room. Everything is super clean and the coffee is great. Location is also super convient to public transportation to explore!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Maddy What a wonderful review. We are so happy that your vacation was unforgettable and that we helped to be part of making it a success! Especially we are glad to hear that you found the location of the hotel very convenient to your needs. We hope you can visit us again soon to enjoy many more great coffees! Kind regards Team MEININGER Amsterdam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Enrico F wrote a review Nov 2022
Krakow, Poland6 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Very friendly service. Free coffee for this review. We'll definitely come back. Amaretto col caffè gratis . Guardando argentina Arabia Saudita. Rooms are cozy enough for a hostel. Check-in easy. Close enough to the center and the metro station
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded Nov 22, 2022
Dear Enrico, Thank you very much for your review and amazing rating! It is nice to hear that you liked our services, location and rooms! We are more than happy to hear that you will come back and we cannot wait to welcome you again! Kind regards, MEININGER Amsterdam City West.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Neeta K wrote a review Apr 7
Mumbai, India3 contributions
Hi Guys would like to share experience ofour stay at Meiningerin Amsterdam it was very good the Hotel room was clean and Bathroom was alsobig enough and spacious not clumsy.We were 4 people staying in 1 room it had 1 double bed and 1 Bunk bed. Location is also good close to Sloterjik station and centraal is also just 1 stop away. Their kitchen is on ground floor was quiet good with all amenities required in it specially Refrigerator which helped us store our food. The place is lively as they have Bar down where you can hang around after you come from sightseeing. Thank you and will surelyrecommed this place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded 5 days ago
Dear guest Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found the facility lived up to your expectations and with everything you needed to ensure an unforgettable vacation! We hope you can visit us again soon! Team MEININGER Amsterdam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
shifta84 wrote a review Mar 2024
St. Albans, United Kingdom20 contributions1 helpful vote
I stayed in a 6 bed room with friends for one night. The room was very spacious and clean. I liked that the toilet, sink and shower are all separate so we all had space to get ready. The hotel is very easy to find, next door to the train station. There is also a small supermarket close by which has a bakery. Central station is only one stop away so very easy to get in and out of the city. I would stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded Mar 9, 2024
Dear guest Thank you for sharing such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us! We're thrilled to hear that you and your friends enjoyed our spacious and clean 6-bed room. Your appreciation for the separate toilet, sink, and shower setup is noted, and we're delighted it added to the comfort and convenience of your stay. It's heartening to know that our location, right next to the train station, and the nearby supermarket with a bakery contributed positively to your experience. We're pleased that the proximity to the central station made exploring the city a breeze for you. We sincerely appreciate your kind words and are honored that you would consider staying with us again. We look forward to providing you with another delightful experience during your next visit. If there are any special requests or preferences you have for your future stays, please do let us know. Warm regards team MEININGER Amsterdam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kiah h wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Marco is amazing, he was the best bartender I’ve ever had. He is so nice and handsome. I really liked the drinks at the bar, there was a wide variety. The shot of the day was such a deal. Only 2.50 per shot!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded Jan 2, 2024
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you had a good time and that our staff left a great impression on you. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in any of our MEININGER Hotels throughout Europe! Kind regards, MEININGER Amsterdam City West Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rara wrote a review Dec 2023
13 contributions
We arrived and were happy as to location to public transport. Sadly though the Heating wasn’t working in the room and despite asking for help at reception, it took me to complain and demand someone come to my room immediately to fix the issue for us to be moved rooms and find out the heating was broken in the first room. We were then moved to a room at the other end of the same floor. It had a Dirty bathroom/shower curtains, drainage in all plug holes an issue. Rooms weren’t cleaned the entire 5 nights we stayed. NONE of the rooms are most definitely NOT Soundproof as I was woken by next doors hairdryer at 5am, then the next morning by the family’s kids. When I complained about this I was shown a new room on a different floor but when we were there you could hear the conversation of the people in the room next to us. Breakfast was a buffet with the only hot food being toast - NOT worth over €11 - you can get nicer food from the main streets of Amsterdam for similar prices. Honestly if you don’t care about being cold or food then it’s okay but it’s SERIOUSLY overpriced!!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded Dec 6, 2023
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Even though, we wish you had a better experience, it is with this type of feedback we are able to grow and improve. If you were to give us another chance, we'd do our best to provide you a service that so many of our guests have grown found of. Kind regards, MEININGER Amsterdam City West Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Emily wrote a review Nov 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom15 contributions1 helpful vote
Rooms were clean, transport into centraal is really good and convenient on both the tram and the train. But this is a hostel and we thought it was a hotel. Kinda our bad but we’ve stayed at this hotel chain before and it was a hotel. It’s huge so a real mix of people which is nice but I did wake up in the night several times to the sound of someone vomiting
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded Nov 16, 2023
Dear Emily, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive remarks about the cleanliness of our rooms and the convenience of transportation from Sloterdijk to Amsterdam Centraal. As you may have noticed, we are only a 5-minute train ride from the city center and are conveniently connected by different types of public transportation. We understand the confusion regarding the accommodation type, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. The MEININGER chain is developed for the urban traveller with basic needs. We offer rooms for an affordable price, with all necessities for a comfortable stay, but without a lot of extra services. The rooms are indeed not the biggest, but convenient enough for guests that need a good place to sleep. Our properties accommodate both dormitories and private rooms. Therefore we attract different type of guests, such as groups, families and backpackers. We can imagine that not everyone likes our concept and we do find it unfortunate to read that we were not able to meet up to your expectations. Your feedback about the noise disturbance is concerning, and we will look into ways to minimize such disturbances to ensure a more comfortable stay for all our guests. We value your input, and we hope that despite the challenges you encountered, you might consider staying with us again in the future. If there is anything specific you would like us to address or if you have further details about the noise issue, please feel free to reach out to us directly. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a more enjoyable experience. Team MEININGER Amsterdam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Adrian wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The location is unbeatable. No need for Google Maps for this one. Just go out of Sloterdijk Station, turn your head to the right, and there it is. Sadly, everything else after that is beatable. Reception: Cold, unwelcome experience at check in. Requested to write date of birth on form which is normal. The problem is being requested to write your age also, which should be easy from just reading the date of birth. Upsetting. Reception said to take key with you at night, as the main doors would be locked, which was soon afterwards. I went out later and arrived back after midnight, to find a crowd of guests outside, and the doors wide open for guests to come and go as they wish. Room: Small, uncomfortable Single Room on middle of top floor, €110+ per night. Looked and felt like just another dorm instead. Good to have tv available, not good to have tv position at dangerous angle where guests could easily hit their head by accident, and have head injury. Small bed with pointless metal bar on wall beside pillow, where there could be a similiar incident as with tv. Soap dispenser in toilet was empty. View from window would be of biggest interest to window manufacturers, because it has amazing view of office blocks nearby, but not much else. Accessibility: 1 elevator working at the time, for hundreds of guests to use, of the 3 elevators there. Long and frustrating delays during busy periods, as consequence. Understandably, some guests give up waiting for it. Using stairs would be faster. Cleaning: Advised that the cleaning team do not clean the room every day. No issue with that. However, I spent second day mostly in room because of mobility issue, but allowed time to clean the room when they were near it. Room was not cleaned when I returned. 3 hours later, well into the evening, staff were still cleaning other rooms on the same floor. Safety/Security: No locker or safe area, to store luggage or valuables in room. You just leave them in the room and hope that nothing happens. Other guests standing in groups in corridors, allowed to make as much noise as they wanted during night hours, and they did. Obviously, no facility available for wake up calls by reception, no real interest in providing one either, so if you need to leave very early and your phone has problem, you have a drama to deal with. It didn't happen to me, but that does not mean it will never happen to somebody else. Again, all this experience was for a €110+ room per night. Amsterdam is expensive of course, but if you're offered airport hotel as an alternative, as I was, you should consider it. The Dutch train service is so good, that there will be no problem accessing the airport or the city, and you will get a peaceful sleep in a comfortable room, for considerably less cost than what I was asked to stay at this accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded Nov 16, 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, and we appreciate your candid insights, which are crucial for our continuous improvement. We regret to hear about the cold and unwelcome check-in experience. Your concerns about providing both the date of birth and age will be carefully reviewed to ensure a more guest-friendly process. However, we would like to clarify that the accuracy of the data must be confirmed by the customer since the registration form is a legal proof of their stay at the hotel. Therefore, we ask the guest to confirm date of birth and age. on the spot. We also apologize for the confusion regarding the main doors' accessibility and will work to address and improve our communication in this regard. Your comments about the room conditions are valuable, and we apologize for any discomfort you encountered. We will assess the TV placement and bed structure to ensure the safety and well-being of our guests. The oversight with the soap dispenser will be addressed promptly, and we appreciate your understanding of our cleaning policy while acknowledging the need for improvement in timely service. As far as security is concerned, however, we would like to point out and guarantee, for the sake of clarity, that in every room there are free lockers for storing personal belongings, which can be locked with your own padlock or a lock that can be requested at reception. If even more security is required, we offer rental lockers at the entrance that are only accessible electronically, by entering a password, to ensure total security for our guests' belongings. Since the MEININGER is a combination of hostel and hotel, we offer no-frills services developed for urban travellers with basic needs and therefore we do have some procedures that might not match the expectations of all of our guests. For example, we do not offer wake-up calls, since many guests now rely on personal devices such as smartphones and alarms to wake them up, reducing the demand for this service. For this reason our chain has shifted its focus and resources towards other guest services or amenities considered more essential and popular. We value your feedback, and your comments will be used to make necessary improvements. We hope you would consider giving us another opportunity in the future to provide you with a more positive experience. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. Team MEININGER Amsterdam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SammieArt wrote a review Oct 2023
United States401 contributions110 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights in September 2023. It is essentially a hostel, next to a Holiday Inn and very near the Amsterdam Sloterdijk station, just 2 minutes walk as you exit the station. Shared kitchen on the ground floor was well maintained and trash cans emptied quite frequently. Free water dispenser in the lobby across from the shared kitchen was handy for filling up our water bottles each day before we head out for our tours. Our room was just like a hostel, as expected, with bunk beds. They do provide clean bath towels and hair/body wash combo in the shower. Our room was clean and beds were comfy, and we all slept well. Staff were all helpful and friendly. Location was very convenient for going to Amsterdam Central station (one stop), and Schiphol airport on the last day. I would say this hostel is best for young adults, or someone on a budget who are not too fussy.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded Nov 16, 2023
Dear Sammie Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! It's fantastic to know that you found our location convenient, especially being just a 2-minute walk from Amsterdam Sloterdijk station. We're glad the shared kitchen on the ground floor met your expectations, and that the free water dispenser in the lobby was handy for your daily adventures. We take pride in maintaining a clean and comfortable environment for our guests, and we're delighted to hear that your room, equipped with bunk beds, provided the cozy and restful experience you were looking for. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. See you soon Team MEININGER Amsterdam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AMSFER wrote a review Sep 2023
Madrid, Spain104 contributions74 helpful votes
Great location just next to Sloterdijk station and with many tramway lines passing nearby, which allows you to be at city centre in less than 10 minutes. The rooms are very small with the bare minimum, although the bathrooms were spatious enough and the bed was small but comfortable. I would say tha the hotel is adequate for young people travelling alone or for groups of friends that are not looking for anything fancy in a hotel, not so much for families or business trips.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MEININGER CITY WEST, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Responded Sep 26, 2023
Dear AMSFER we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us. We were delighted to serve as your base for your recent visit to Amsterdam. We hope that our close proximity to so many of Amsterdam’s attractions and landmarks as well as public transportation was of benefit to you in getting around the city. We regret that despite the positive review, you were not totally satisfied with our accommodation and we would like to take this opportunity to explain that the MEININGER brand is designed for the basic needs of urban travellers. As we are both a hotel as a hostel, combining the best from both, we do have some procedures that might not match the expectations of all of our guests. We do try to meet to all our guests their needs, but we also understand that it depends on personal expectations whether someone likes our concept. Even though, we do hope that you still enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and we would be happy to welcome you back again. Have a great day and see you soon. Team MEININGER Amsterdam
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Amsterdam area.
PRICE RANGE
C$91 - C$261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsNorth Holland ProvinceAmsterdamTeleport / Amsterdam New West / Bedrijventerrein Sloterdijk / Geuzenveld-Slotermeer / Sloterdijk
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City (C̶$̶2̶0̶8̶) C$94 - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos (The Netherlands) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City
Which popular attractions are close to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Nearby attractions include Logic Locks (0.9 km), Amaze (1.0 km), and Holland Casino Amsterdam West-Sloterdijk (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Casa Di Michael, Grandcafé Hermes, and Wissenkerke.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Concertgebouw (4.7 km), Portuguese Synagogue (5.2 km), and Museum Het Rembrandthuis (4.9 km).
Is MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam West City accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.