We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Alexander

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Alexander
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alexander
See the most recent reviews
Showing 269: English reviews
Muscat, Oman
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

This is a no frills hotel, but if your looking for a decent reasonably priced place in Amsterdam, than this is the one. I really liked the staff and the rooms were much cleaner than other similarly priced hotels in the area. I would almost certainly stay here again. Again, its not a fancy place, but if your looking for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesse D
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We stayed in the quad room - which was great. Plenty of room, small fridge, good big bathroom and the whole place was really clean. Staff were friendly and the hotel location was in a top spot - a short walk to the supermarket, coffee shops, restaurants and transport to all the attractions, including a short walk to the Van...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank warren m
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

Easy walk to parks and attractions, very helpful staff and good breakfast. Would defintely visit again. We arrived early and they were happy to let us in the room early which was helpful. Also the hotel is so close to the city we were able to walk everywhere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos T
Rennes, France
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. After a lot of research into neighbourhoods and hotels, we decided on this one and I'm glad we did! Hotel is in a great location on a residential street so it's very safe and secure. A two minute walk to Leidseplein which is one of the main night life areas with plenty of restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Emerbc
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Hotel is in the perfect location to explore Amsterdam. Walked everywhere, didn't need a car, bike or public transportation. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with local restaurant recommendations. Stayed in a single room - very small by American standards but functional. In a safe and quiet neighborhood. No parking available at hotel. Would recommend this hotel and would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Great family room, very convenient for everything we needed. By the heart of the city; a stones throw from the canals, Vondelspark, Leidseplein and all the lovely museums and attractions that Amsterdam has to offer. There is a fantastic creperie in the nearby square for breakfast too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matt L
alexanderhotelstaff, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Matt, Thank you for your sweet review. We are happy to read about your positive experience in our hotel. We hope to see you again!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Our stay at Alexander Hotel was the first time my family had visited Amsterdam. The hotel's peaceful and strategic location, on center edge of Old West of Amsterdam was the key factor to our successful time. The hotel also provided a good variety of foods for breakfast. From Hotel Alexander, you can take a short walk to reach the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ralph191
alexanderhotelstaff, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Ralph191, Thank you for your objective and kind review. We are thrilled to inform you that we have updated all of our mattressess, so the next time, that you will stay with us you will have more comfortable sleep. Thank you for taking your time and effort to write this review.

england
Reviewed 31 August 2016

When we booked this hotel it was under the name of a best western but the change of ownership didn't put us off. When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady on reception who told us our room wasn't ready but we could leave our luggage in a room. We were offered a drink of water (no bar)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scattylass
alexanderhotelstaff, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Scattylass, Thank you for your review. It appears that you have wrote a review to a wrong hotel, since our hotel was never a part of any hotel chain. Also, our ground floor rooms are totally suitable and our rooms do not have air conditioning(on any floor). The other things that you have mentioned would be accurate, however we...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel for our weekend in Amsterdam, staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. Unfortunately for us we wouldn't stay at the hotel again, the rooms are super small, no air conditioning which in August becomes very warm. Location was great though only a small walk away from most attractions but would most suit young travellers or back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shellie80
alexanderhotelstaff, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Shellie80, Thank you for your candid review. We understand that everybody are having different standards, but the term 'super small' is very relative and it makes us assume that you have stayed in the Small double room, which is a room with 1 double bed, however with breakfast included in the price as a compensation for the size. Because...

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

Close to leidsplein station. Which helps alot and you have easy access to everywhere. Bike rental is 3min walk. The staff are great, friendly and reliable. The hotel could be cleaner, it is kind of old! Needs a few renovations inside the rooms. The backyard is a large place and could be used in a far better way, things like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebo A
alexanderhotelstaff, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Sebo, Thank you for your stay and your review. We are slowly updating our hotel equipment and facilities. Actually, we have updated our beds, mattresses, bed linen and digital TVs. We are still trying to keep the origins of our hotel and our style more classical and cozy. We are having some plans with the backyard as well, however...

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#106 of 362 in Amsterdam
817 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#116 of 362 in Amsterdam
638 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#134 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,243 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#164 of 362 in Amsterdam
890 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#61 of 362 in Amsterdam
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Price Range: $163 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Alexander staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Alexander staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front rooms are a little bit noisy”
 of 5 bubbles vals574, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the street but there is a fan in the room we turned on and never heard a thing.”
 of 5 bubbles inthevalley, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Quad room has a small fridge and accessible by lift.”
 of 5 bubbles 861warrenm, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back of the hotel look over a quiet courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles O1486OXkevinb, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms located below the lobby were quiet and had a view of the garden. Always had access to wifi from our room”
 of 5 bubbles ralph191, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5