We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Alexander

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Alexander
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

499 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alexander
See the most recent reviews
Showing 265: English reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2015

Very cosy hotel, which has a very good location. The room is spacious. The view from window is beautiful. Staff was very friendly and nice. But there were some problems with cleaning in the room. In my first day there, towels were dirty. In general, I liked it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YuliaYulia4
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

We appreciate knowing that your stay was very good YuliaYulia4, despite that little mistake on our part with towels . Thank you also for let us know, because it always helps us improve . Thanks for choosing us as the place to spend your holiday in Amsterdam. We hope to see you again soon! Alexander Team.

Bideford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2015

The small double room was pretty small although we did'nt spend much time in the room so it didn't seem to matter. Room and bathroom was clean. Breakfast was yummy and the staff there were really friendly. Good location, walking distance to town and we even walked to the Train station! Although Tram is much Quicker! Loved Amsterdam and will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jodieelizabetht
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Jodieelisabetht, Thank you very much for your nice review! We are very glad to read that your stay was such a good one that you want to come back already! It would be a real pleasure to have you again in your next trip to Amsterdam. Warm regards, Alexander Hotel.

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2015 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for a short budget break. The rooms are perfectly good and we had a quad room. Perfect location and we will return to Amsteram in a few years. The beds are so so comfy. Yes Amsterdam is expensive but though we had a budget , we had a fab time. The shops are to die for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ruthmasters2016
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Ruthmasters, Thank you very much for you lovely words and review! It would be a pleasure for us to have you here in your next time in Amsterdam. It is always nice to hear your advices to improve our facilities. We do much appreciate it! All the best, Alexander Team.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 February 2015

Stayed here for 3 nights in January 2015. Lovely hotel in a quiet neighbourhood. Throughout my stay, I've had the pleasure of meeting Rob, Tony and Sally at the reception. They were all very friendly and helpful, contrary to comments left by some reviewers here (maybe the guests themselves were rude?). Anyway, I arrived early in the morning and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Audra O
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Audra O, We are more than glad and grateful after reading your review! Thank you very much. It would help others to know a bit more about the area as well. That´s very kind from you. Hopefully, you would have the chance to come in summer some time again and enjoy the lovely Amsterdam when shines! It would be...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 January 2015

I stayed here last week for a couple of nights. Room was nice and clean (bath a bit small) . Good location. Helpful and friendly staff, apart from the reception lady Selly-not helpful and not nice at all- v disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank brit-ania99
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Brit-ania99, We are very sorry to hear that. We are glad you liked your stay besides that inconvenience. We would like you to feel comfortable with everything at the Hotel. We apologizes for any bad situation and we look forward to see you again soon. Warm regards, Alexander Team.

Tel Aviv District, Israel
Reviewed 24 January 2015

it's a very nice hotel with the greatest staff I ever seen. so sweet and lovely. They always happy to help with information about the city and things needed in the hotel. really I would give them 5 stars in service. the location is excellent for people who like to be in the center, but not the hardcore of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamutal M
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Hamutal M, We want to thank you very much for your lovely words! It is really import for us to know that our guests feel that way while their stay! We will keep on improving! We would love to see you again staying at Alexander Hotel on your next visit to Amsterdam. All the best, Alexander Team.

West Midlands, UK
Reviewed 18 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed in one of the garden lodges outside of the main hotel. It was very quiet, no noise at all and not disturbed by other guests due to being located in the garden. Hotel is Very close to all amenities including club paradiso, Hard Rock Cafe, Leidesplein and museum platz, in walking distance of the riksmuseum and Van Gogh...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sonogrande
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Sonogrande, Thank you very much for your review. It is filled with very useful information for future guest. We really appreciate that and are very glad about your stay with us. Looking forward to accommodate you in the future again. Best regards, Alexander Team.

Reviewed 14 January 2015 via mobile

Good location 5 minute walk from Leidesplein where it's all going on & loads a trams to everywhere else. Hotel is nice and clean. Decent shower. Friendly staff. Comfy bed. Warm in winter - freezinggg outside!! No tea/coffee facility in room but machine downstairs. Can smoke out the back :) Can leave luggage after check out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate O
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Kate O, We are very grateful with your review. Thank you. It is always nice to hear from our guests that they have enjoyed their stay at the Hotel. We hope to see you again in your next visit to Amsterdam. Warm regards, Alexander Hotel.

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2015

I can’t say anything negative about this hotel as it was a great location and a very good price (we paid €150 / £117) for 3 nights. The rooms aren’t anything special but they are simple and importantly clean. The bed was comfortable, the shower was good and there was a TV and free wi-fi. If you want a luxurious...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ciara19
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Ciara19, First of all, thank you very much for your nice review about the Hotel facilities and your stay with us! We consider it very helpful for future guests. We do much appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon in your next trip to Amsterdam! All the best, Alexander Team.

Fort Worth, TX
Reviewed 31 December 2014

I liked the location of the hotel, close to Vondelpark and the Rijksmuseum. A short walk to the Leidseplein tram stop from the hotel and you will shortly be down town. There is a lot to see that's walk-able from the hotel, but the tram sure came in handy for the rest. The hotel and the rooms were small, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gdmyers
alexanderhotelstaff, Manager at Hotel Alexander, responded to this review

Dear Gdmyers, We want to thank you for your nice review. It is important for us to know that our guests feel comfortable in our Hotel. Thank you for letting us know and we hope to accommodate you in your next trip to Amsterdam! With warm regards, Alexander Team.

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
1:38
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#121 of 361 in Amsterdam
623 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#97 of 361 in Amsterdam
778 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Vondel
Hotel Vondel
#139 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#115 of 361 in Amsterdam
412 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 361 in Amsterdam
1,206 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#164 of 361 in Amsterdam
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome at Hotel Alexander, a small family-run hotel in the middle of the center of Amsterdam. The Museum-Square, the Leidse-Square (nightlife) and several shopping-streets are within 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The rest of the touristical activities can all be reached by a maximum 30-minute walk.All our comfortable hotel-rooms offer private shower/toilet/television/telephone and we have free WIFI-internet available in our whole hotel.We hope we will have the honour to welcome you in our hotel soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Alexander

Address: Vondelstraat 44-48, 1054 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Price Range: $95 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexander 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Alexander staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Alexander staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a room on the street but there is a fan in the room we turned on and never heard a thing.”
 of 5 bubbles inthevalley, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Quad room has a small fridge and accessible by lift.”
 of 5 bubbles 861warrenm, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the back of the hotel look over a quiet courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles O1486OXkevinb, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms located below the lobby were quiet and had a view of the garden. Always had access to wifi from our room”
 of 5 bubbles ralph191, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for any room from the second floor up.”
 of 5 bubbles scattylass, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay