We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Show Prices
#48 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Panoramas (40)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

5,643 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 4,053: English reviews
Chatham, Canada
Reviewed 20 July 2015

outstanding service, clean rooms, staff eager to assist, excellent location I would recommend the Moevenpick to any and all tourists. Thank you for your hospitality, it made our vacation a fabulous experience

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank debm847
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear debm847, Thank you so much for your more than positive compliments! We feel encouraged by reading you found our service to be outstanding as well as our hospitality. This motivates to keep on going this way. Should you have the chance to stay with us again, please feel free to contact our hotel directly. Kind regards, The General Manager

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

I shared a triple room with 2 others. There was a double bed and the couch was turned into a bed. 3 separate single beds would have been better. The hotel is really nice inside though. It's clean and modern. There is a free shuttle into city but book as the bus driver gives out a lot if you don't!!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lmg1001
General M, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Lmg1001, Thank you for sharing your kind feedback with us. It is good to read you enjoyed your stay in the beautiful city of Amsterdam, just outside the busy heart of where it all happens. We do recommend to prebook the shuttle, as maximum capicity is 8 peersons. This to avoid any disappointments. Thank you again, we hope to...

Tehran, Iran
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

A great hotel with warm, greeting environment and staff. It's close to city center (twenty minutes walk to city center, train station) however it's close to metro station as well, just five minutes walk. Internet in the room was working well. Breakfast was great and our room was big and so clean. We asked a room with a view and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank R M
AmsterdamCitycentre, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Iran Thank you for sharing your comments and compliments with us and our readers ! It is good to read that you have enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon ! With kind regards, Albert Rouwedal

Chicago
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Love that the hotel is right on the river. If you arrive via Central Station, take the tram because although it looks close to the station, the walk is not the easiest, especially if you have luggage. We actually arrived fairly early at the facility and were assigned a room (looking right over the water) without hesitation. The tram stop...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kkarge
AmsterdamCitycentre, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear MR. & MRs Large Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us. We are happy to read your comments and thank you for the excellent rating ! I wish you a great continuation of your trip and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Albert Rouwendal / General Manager

Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

Very nice. Probably best views of the city. We didnt use the restaurant. 5mins from city centre but does have a fee shuttle service. Very high spec room's. Very good staff. Bar has reasonable price list. We would recommend this hotel. Try and get a higher floor to get best views. Lots of fun. See pics.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stu H
AmsterdamCitycentre, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear MR. Mrs Stu A big thank you for your comments and great feedback, very nice to see that you also shared some pictures. Please do visit us again soon and kind regards from the "movenpick Hotel Amsterdam team, Albert Rouwendal / General Manager

Oakland, California
Reviewed 18 July 2015

This hotel is the place for the cruise ships but we loved it. It was an easy walk to the train and not that far from the city center. The rooms were excellent. The staff was superb! The meals were superb! Breakfast was beyond the expected. I cannot tell you how nice it was to be welcomed by such a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sjellington
AmsterdamCitycentre, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

DEar family Jellington How nice to read your feedback and nice comments about the staff and the hotel. We indeed do welcome cruise guests to our hotel and it is always nice if guest share their experience. The Green Globe award for the overall sustainability and environmental care is one of our proud achievements and we will continue to do...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2015

This was a very nice hotel overall. It had a modern, spacious reception with various seating areas and mini shop. The restaurant was great (the duck was fantastic!) and the breakfast choice was perfect, something for everyone! It also had a gym with steam room. Our room on the 16th floor had an amazing view of this city and was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abbie F
AmsterdamCitycentre, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Mr Mrs Abbie Thank you for staying with us and sharing your nice feedback. Did you have time to visit the BimHuis Jazz next door ? It was nice to read your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon, thank you & kind regards, Albert Rouwendal / General Manager

Norway
Reviewed 18 July 2015

The good first: *We had a junior suite and the room was nice, although I don't really like carpet floors and the bathroom door is not possible to lock which created problems for us as we traveled with a one and a half year old baby. *The views from our room on the 17th floor was wonderful. *The room service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank norsknomade
AmsterdamCitycentre, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear family Norsknomade Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us and especially the details which we should have done different ! My sincere apologize for the inconvenience caused, I do remember myself how important these details when travelling with little children and we will concentrate on these details in order to improve. Thank you also for the...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 18 July 2015

My husband and myself stayed at this hotel for one day after our Baltic cruise. We got off the ship at 8:00 AM and walked to the hotel, which is a 5 minute walk. While I knew that check in was not before 3:00 PM, I asked if our room was ready. I told the lady at the reception that...

Review collected in partnership with Mövenpick Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z06Dream
AmsterdamCitycentre, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear Madam (Mrs Z06Dream) It was a pleasure having you and your husband with us and I like to thank you very much for the nice compliments. I understand that you plan to revisited our hotel again, as such you might like to know that by using our website www.moevenpick-hotel.com/amsterdam you will always have the best available rate being offered...

Oceanside, California
Reviewed 18 July 2015

We arrived as walk-in guests looking for 1 night. Customer Service at check in was very friendly and eager to help. Interesting situation - checking the Internet the room for 3 person was offered at USD 166 incld taxes and fees. Movenpick was not able to match this offer - best pricing for a direct booking was Euro 235 plus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IQeye
AmsterdamCitycentre, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center, responded to this review

Dear MR IQeye Good to read your great feedback and thank you for sharing your experience ! It was also interesting to read the tip about the third party website trying to get you interested with lower rate's and sorry to see that we could not match the price immediately. We do have a lowest price price guarantee and your...

2,112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1644)
Viewed
View from Room (277)
Viewed
Dining (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (305)
Viewed
Bathroom (101)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (308)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
3:16
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (574)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (406)
Viewed
Ambassador Suite King (56)
Viewed
Amenities (66)
Viewed
Classic King (35)
Viewed
Other (72)
Viewed
Junior Suite King (43)
Viewed
Dining (72)
Viewed
The Hotel (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#28 of 361 in Amsterdam
2,785 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 361 in Amsterdam
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)

Neighbourhood Profile
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
A visit to Amsterdam’s Eastern Docklands presents the opportunity to marvel at its many modern architectural masterpieces like the Openbare Bibliotheek Amsterdam and the beguiling Python Bridge while taking in its scenic waterfront with its trendy assortment of cafés, restaurants, bars, and clubs. Here in this post-industrial (though in some parts still very much presently industrial) neighborhood, you’ll find a smart selection of cool galleries and shops as well as the kid-friendly Science Center NEMO and the National Maritime Museum.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center. With a prime location in the city of Amsterdam, this elegant hotel is the ideal venue for your executive travel, meeting and conferences or private ventures in matters of art and culture. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Address: Piet Heinkade 11, 1019 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Price Range: $206 - $559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Amsterdam
Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center staff and other travellers.
106 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (106)

Questions? Get answers from Movenpick Hotel Amsterdam City Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for higher floor facing the harbor.”
 of 5 bubbles AC416-2015, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't get too hung up on the views - both directions are interesting.”
 of 5 bubbles Koshkha, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the bay - definitely worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles Katie_ECD, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The corner rooms are suites”
 of 5 bubbles RDWilde, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a junior suite - it's worth it for the views and access to the lounge”
 of 5 bubbles ninabasson, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5