We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 101: English reviews
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Frederic and his crew are great folks! Helped me out, quickly, expertly and at very low cost. Best place in Amsterdam to go to have your bike repaired. Also make clear what they could not do instead of fiddleing around. Rents bikes and rooms aswell!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for two nights. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this experience. Was able to check in early which was awesome. We love the houseboat and all the charm. Arthur checked us in and gave us a great map with tips on where to get groceries and places to eat. Would stay here again and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Frederic_Rent_A_Bike, Responsable réception at Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy that you liked this experience in Amsterdam on one of our houseboats. And we hope to see you again in the future ! Sandra

United States
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Wow. We stayed "at their place", where all three family members we interacted with were so kind and helpful. We arrived later because our flight came in late, but Marjolijn (I think was her name) came and checked us in, and then sat with us for about 15 min. explaining the area with the map. Showed us a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anolan3
Frederic_Rent_A_Bike, Responsable réception at Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats, responded to this review

What a nice review :) Thank you ! We are glad you had a nice stay with us and that the tips we gave you were useful. We hope to see you soon again! Sandra

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

We ended up coming to Frédéric for a bike rental after a mishap somewhere else. Very efficient, very friendly (all of them, in the office and in the bike shop). The bikes are not the newest but are of very good quality. We had a great day in Noord, Java and KNSM island, then to the east of the city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elodie B
Frederic_Rent_A_Bike, Responsable réception at Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats, responded to this review

Hi Elodie ! Thank you so much for this nice review ! We are glad you enjoyed our bikes to take you everywhere across the city :) We always have good tips on addresses and love to share them with our clients. Hope to see you soon again ! Sandra

Moscow, Russia
Reviewed 3 March 2016

For the last 5 years I am not wasting my time wracking my brain on where to stay whilst visiting Amsterdam. Marne is such a great host who is always available and responsive. I must have stayed at at least a dozen of different locations Marne at Frederic has to offer. And every single one of they was different in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Radik A
Frederic_Rent_A_Bike, Responsable réception at Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats, responded to this review

Thank you so much Radik and Maria for this nice message :) It is always a pleasure to hear about clients happy with our services throughout the years. We hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam very soon ! The Frederic Team !

Weybridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We were staying in a flat in the Brouwersgracht in the Jordaan so needed a bike rental nearby and that catered for kids. Frederic was recommended by the people we were renting from and they were great. We could try and pick whatever bikes we wanted, which did not have big logos if you want to be a little less...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FTR2013
Frederic_Rent_A_Bike, Responsable réception at Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your bike rental experience with us. We are glad you were happy with our bikes and hope to see you soon :) The Frederic Team

Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Noodermart I was spacious and in a great location. While the furnishings are fairly basic, they're more than sufficient. Being right in the Jordaan, within walking distance to everything including numerous restaurants and a nearby grocery store as well as the train station, was perfect. I especially liked that it was not right in the overly touristed Dam Square area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AllisonMN
Frederic_Rent_A_Bike, Guest Relations Manager at Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats, responded to this review

Thank you for your message. We are glad that you enjoyed staying in one of our apartments. Our apartments on the Noordermarkt square offer great location indeed! Central but surprisingly quiet at the same time. We hope to see you soon again, The Frédéric team PS : the hot water issue has of course been taken care of!

Exeter
Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

We hired bikes for a day and a half for €20 each. Nice to have incognito bikes. Supplied with lights, locks, and style. The chap there gave me such a fab bike, I didn't want to give it back. Cycling is great in Amsterdam. You are high up, you have dedicated lanes and traffic control everywhere you go. Loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Looby024
Frederic_Rent_A_Bike, Guest Relations Manager at Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your exeprience. Biking is definetly the best way to explore the city and we always take great care to provide our customers with the best material for that purpose! The Frédéric Team

Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

We've used Frederic in the past for a houseboat tent rental. The first time was Houseboat IX. This time we were on Houseboat II. Both are awesome experiences. We'll equipped boats in nice residential areas. The boats don't come cheap but if you are looking to go at your own pace, enjoy the local market shopping and the ability to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
Frederic_Rent_A_Bike, Guest Relations Manager at Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats, responded to this review

We sincerely thank you for reviewing your stay(s) with us! Our prices are among the cheapest you can find in this area! But we agree, living the "houseboat dream" has a certain cost. We would be happy to have you try maybe a third one of our houseboat :) Frédéric Team

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2015

I stayed here for 4 nights with my 2 children (6&8 years old) and my mother. We all loved staying on a boat and the location is fantastic. Feels incredibly peaceful and safe yet is minutes away from all the action. The two brothers from Frederics were really helpful and friendly - letting us check in early, giving us hints...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Paynter
Frederic_Rent_A_Bike, Guest Relations Manager at Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your message! It is always good to hear that adults and children enjoyed our services :) We would be very happy to have you staying with us again. Frédéric

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House Amsterdam
Canal House Amsterdam
#254 of 362 in Amsterdam
39 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
1,242 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
#103 of 362 in Amsterdam
855 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Herengracht 21
B&B Herengracht 21
#57 of 330 in Amsterdam
73 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 330 in Amsterdam
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)

Neighbourhood Profile
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
This UNESCO World Heritage Site is as historically significant as it is perennially popular. Whether you’re a history buff, architecture enthusiast, shutterbug, or fashionista, odds are you’ll find the Amsterdam you're looking for while roaming around the Grachtengordel (Canal Ring). A brilliant place to get lost in a moody meander and a key component to any sightseeing trip to Amsterdam, this area's major draws include the Anne Frank House, the Bloemenmarkt floating flower market, an enviable assortment of independent boutiques along De Negen Straatjes, and of course all of Grachtengordel’s lovely canals and bridges.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are running a bike rental and guest house. Our bicycles are "incognito," all different and without annoying advertisement. For any one we have a bike in the right size. We are real foodies. The last 10 years we are checking the most delicious restaurants in Amsterdam and surroundings. This enormous investment gave us an excellent view on what's happening in the restaurants in Amsterdam. When you come to rent a bike we will share this first-class information with pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats

Address: Brouwersgracht 78, 1013 GZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Price Range: $57 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Frederic Rentabike Hotel Amsterdam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, apartments and houseboats staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are boathouse rooms as well as the rooms with the view on Amsterdam cannals”
 of 5 bubbles radika_13, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you're going to stay on a canal boat, make sure it is one with windows that let you see you're great location.”
 of 5 bubbles richardhP2399XD, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
“They have the best spots in Amsterdam Centraal Station”
 of 5 bubbles 68ahmedy, 29 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Probably better to chose one of the more expensive rooms available in the area.”
 of 5 bubbles 7AnnaF, 22 Jul 2014 | Read review
“It seems to be that the more expensive the room, the nicer it is! Houseboats look lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles 96hannahl, 21 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5