We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel The James

Save
Share
Aert van Nesstraat 25, 3012 CA Rotterdam The Netherlands
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
US$90
View deal
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (501)
Room & Suite (159)
Dining (13)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20-11-24 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel The James
Updated 20-11-24 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 61 hotels in Rotterdam
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Looking for a design hotel in the city centre of Rotterdam? The James is the latest place to stay in the heart of the city. We are nearby Central Station and situated in the middle of vibrant streets like the Coolsingel, The Meent and the Lijnbaan. The James is unique in the three-star segment with 144 beautiful rooms. As a design hotel we come with stylish interiors, but we also offer great quality, outstanding hospitality and superb suggestions to experience our cosmopolitan city to the fullest. Staying at The James is all about enjoying our warmly decorated, comfortable and indulging spaces as if they are yours. The James is where you renew, recover and refresh after a busy day in bustling Rotterdam. FACILITIES In addition to the comfortable rooms, you can also use the following facilities during your stay: 24/7 Front desk Laundry service LAUNDRY SERVICE Meeting room 24/7 food market Free wifi Parking Gym
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Business Centre with Internet Access
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Dutch, German

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
242Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
46Attractionswithin 0.5 km
847Reviews12Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 624
  • 158
  • 42
  • 14
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
WTANL wrote a review Sep. 6
Almere, The Netherlands165 contributions31 helpful votes
We booked this hotel for practical reasons as I was due to have an eye treatment nearby the next day. To our surprise this was a very nice hotel. Modern concept, with an automatic car parking (with an elevator the car is stored at a location), good beds, nice shower, spacious rooms with a Nespresso machine and a food shop instead of a restaurant. You put together what you want to eat or have for breakfast and pay at the self-scan cash register. It seems expensive, but in the end you only pay for what you use and it is cheaper that way than a hotel where you have to pay 20 or 30 euro's for breakfast (regardless of what you actually eat). The parking fee is reasonable. Here 20 euros per day, in another Rotterdam parking garage you pay approx 30. The staff is very friendly. From the hotel you can easily walk to the (most trendy) center of Rotterdam. There are many museums, restaurants and bars in the area. Highly recommended and we will probably go back again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Gogu B wrote a review Aug. 2021
Cluj-Napoca, Romania2 contributions1 helpful vote
One week stay, in august 2021, for family purposes. Excellent location, near Rotterdam commercial center, Erasmus bridge, Stadhuis and central market; we could reach all objectives by foot. Metro and tram stations nearby, restaurants of all kind around. Very clean, quiet, very friendly staff. For us it was the ideal location for our purpose and we”ll definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The James Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel The James
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Gogu, How nice of you to take the time to review your stay. It is extremely important for us to know how our guests enjoyed their experience and where we can grow. Our hotel is the ideal hotel if you want to stay in the heart of Rotterdam. We offer facilities for every occasion and we are delighted that you were well received by our team. We are ready to serve our guests every day with a lot of love. When you return to Rotterdam, we will be happy to welcome you again! Warm greetings, The James Family Gregory - front office
Read more
Barbara Alcalde wrote a review Aug. 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I love this hotel, the decoration, the smell, everything! I had booked a family room which was perfect and they catered for our requests. We got the shopping weekend deal which came with a very handy shopping bad and a small bottle of prosecco. Also late check-out on Sunday was very handy.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The James Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel The James
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Barbara, Wow, thank you very much for this lovely review! It puts a smile on our faces. We are happy to read you had a wonderful stay at The James. Our team works every day with a lot of passion to give our guests the best experience. Our deals are a nice extra to your visit. We're very glad that you liked it so much. We hope to welcome you again soon! Warm greetings, The James Family Gregory - front office
Read more
Tedy Yontova wrote a review Aug. 2021
Sofia, Bulgaria1 contribution1 helpful vote
We are completely satisfied with our stay in The James hotel. Perfect location at the city center, very clean and helpful team. I would definitely choose this hotel again for my next stay in Rotterdam and would gladly recommend to everyone that plans to visit the city.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from The James Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel The James
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind words. It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. Our housekeeping team gives its best every day to provide the cleanest rooms possible. Our location in the heart of Rotterdam is also something we are very proud of, everything is within walking distance. Do not hesitate to pop in next time you are in Rotterdam! Warm greetings, The James Family Gregory - front office
Read more
DennisKron wrote a review Jul. 2021
Aalborg, Denmark40 contributions8 helpful votes
Me and my girlfriend stayed 3 nights at The James. Really nice and clean rooms. The staff is friendly and does the best to help with issues under our stay. Unfortunately we had to shorten our stay, but that was no problem at all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from The James Hotel, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel The James
Responded Jul. 26, 2021
Dear Dennis, What a wonderful review, thank you! it's nice to hear that you had a great stay with us. Our housekeeping team is working very hard every day to provide you with the cleanest rooms possible. Our front office team is also happy to help you every day. Despite your short stay, we hope to welcome you again soon. Warm Greetings, The James Family Gregory - front office
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$69 - US$174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
The NetherlandsSouth Holland ProvinceRotterdamCool
NUMBER OF ROOMS
144
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel The James
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel The James?
Nearby attractions include City Hall Rotterdam (0.2 km), Oude Binnenweg (0.4 km), and Beurstraverse (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel The James?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel The James?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel The James?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel The James?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel The James?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hinoki, Restaurant Chung, and Olympia Kitchen Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel The James?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel The James located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Rotterdam.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel The James?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel The James offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to a business centre and meeting rooms during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel The James?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Dutch.