We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Antwerp City Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Antwerp City Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 110: English reviews
Ecuador
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is only a few steps away from Antwerp Central Station. This is a great feature. Within blocks, you have many restaurants to choose from, but most seem rather touristy and do not portray the great Belgian cuisine. The Hotel has a narrow entrance gate, but you are received by very friendly young clerks, willing to help and accommodate. Only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marklaseve
Different H, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for your review. We always enjoy hearing from our guests, especially when they enjoyed their stay like you did. We will have a look at our beds so we may best serve all our guests. Eke van der Zee – Hotel Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

All is weii weather is not good outside Inside atmosphere excellent performances is better Good for business relationships with clients like better than comparison to others Minimum disturbance to staying

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moradia M
Different H, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Moradia, Thank you for your review. We always love to hear about someones experiences, good or bad. Great to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. Now, let’s see what we can do about that weather… Eke van der Zee – Hotel Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very nice hotel. It is exactly in the center and near the train station Antwerp. Rooms were very clean and tidy. Me and my friend booked a room for two people. We both got a double bed in the room. The room was quite spacious. The staff was also very friendly. Highly recommended hotel!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miosotis L
Different H, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Miosotis Thank you for your very nice words. It’s a pleasure to read that our efforts don’t go unnoticed. Hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future? Eke van der Zee – Hotel Manager

Huddinge, Sweden
Reviewed 3 December 2016

The staff was nice and friendly. The elevator up is really tiny. The room i had was very large but really cold (even though i had termostat on max) the good thing is that there are many resturants close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristjaneinarsson
Khaled N, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kristjaneinarsson, Thank you for your review. You will be pleased to learn that we will start with installing our new large lifts this coming Monday, December 12th. I would like to meet with you personally during your next stay in order to discuss your experience and to see what we van improve. Eke van der Zee - Hotel manager

Iserlohn, Germany
Reviewed 1 December 2016

can't recommend. well it is downtown, that is the good point. Everthing else: bad. Really in need of renovation, the oldest elevators your can imagine, loud rooms, noise everywhere. Internet really slow and indicating "network problems" all the time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martinair
Khaled N, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martinair, Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. We would like to thank you for your feedback. It is due to feedback like yours that we are happy to announce we will commence installing our brand new lifts, which will be double the size of our current ones, this Monday, December twelfth. Our Reception is...

London
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Visited in May so this is a late review. Situated on a quiet street in the diamond district, very close to the central station, but a good 15 minute walk from the nice bars and pubs around the beautiful cathedral. Staff were reasonably friendly and ground floor was nice, but on the room levels things are a bit shabby, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muddyfunster
DifferentHotels, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We have taken your words to heart and are commencing our refurbishment soon. Starting next month, we will enlarge our lifts. We have alreay started a comprehensive maintenance schedule, so when you visit next time, we will offer you a much improved experience. Please get in touch with me in order to see...

Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Unfriendly staff and the room is not really clean We just found out that theres a blood stain on the bed sheets The toilet is old .. its diffrent what we expected im.not.going.to stay in this hotel.again

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joybV8518VY
DifferentHotels, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are working tirelessly to provide our guests with a pleasant and clean environment. Unfortunately, we seem to have failed you this time. Can you please get in touch with me in order to discuss things? Eke van der Zee – Hotel Manager

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel is dirty and run down. Rooms are dirty and falling apart. Wallpaper is peeling. Scuffs on lamps. Bathroom shower stall is stained. Carpet in the room is not even real carpet. It's bizarre. The area near hotel (closer to the park) seems a bit sketchy and not very safe as a solo female traveler. Disappointed by this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MacTravels2016
DifferentHotels, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MacTravels, I am sorry to learn that you had a disappointing stay with us. We are on the cusp of refreshing the hotel, but that should not mean that in the mean time you may expect any less that you are used to. I mention this only to show you that we are taking your comments seriously. When you...

jed
Reviewed 2 October 2016

we booked a family room for two adult and two kids.The hotel is central with a car park next door.But we were misguided with the hotel reviews and pictures.when we arrived we just find an old hotel rooms are big but not clean the cupboard is dirty full of dust and old dirty towels we ask for cleaning nothing happen...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OUDI
DifferentHotels, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Oudi, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn you were disappointed by our hotel. We are undertaking a lot of effort to make sure our rooms are clean but seemed to have failed you this time. Resta assured I will take this up with my team to make sure this will not happen again. Please accept...

Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewed 19 July 2016

1.The decoration of the room 2.The big size of the room which looked to the street 3.42'' lcd tv 4.The location is perfect near the station and many coffee-bars near 5.The breakfast was brilliant. The negative is there is no parking so you have to pay 18 euro per day to the nearest parking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tolis E
DifferentHotels, General Manager at Antwerp City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tolis, Thank you for your great review! For the guest that arrive with a car that is lower than 1m90, there is a public carpark next door which, with the discount we can offer, only cost € 13,50 per 24 hours. Taller vehicles such as yours can indeed pose a problem in city centers. Alteratively, there is free outside...

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (132)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.5 km away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.3 km away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 69 in Antwerp
733 reviews
0.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.2 km away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#16 of 69 in Antwerp
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Antwerp City Hotel: In the heart of Antwerp's diamond district you will find the Antwerp City Hotel. A mere stone's throw away from the Meir, train station and Antwerp's diamond exchange, this hotel truly does have a dynamic location, which is ideal for those guests wishing to combine business with pleasure. Sleep: All 70 rooms are very spacious and equipped with free wireless Internet. Each room has air-conditioning, a 47 inch flat screen TV with international satellite channels, a safe and coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast & dinner: The extensive breakfast buffet is served in the hip and colorful breakfast room. To have lunch or dinner you can visit one of the many restaurants in the city. Meetings: Antwerp City Center Hotel has two boardrooms for 10-15 persons. Both meeting rooms are equipped with direct day light, air conditioning and free wireless Internet. Antwerp: The Antwerp City Hotel is located in the diamond district with many tourist attractions such as the Town Square, the Cathedral of Our Lady, the Antwerp Zoo, the Rubens House and the Fashion Museum, all of which are within walking distance. The MAS(in Dutch "Museum aan de Stroom") and the Red Star Line museum are located 15 minutes by bus. Shopaholics must visit the famous Antwerp shopping street "Meir". For more information about the surroundings of Antwerp. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Antwerp City Hotel

Address: Appelmansstraat 31 | 2018 Antwerpen, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Mondo Empire Hotel)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Price Range: $112 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antwerp City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Antwerp City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Empire Antwerp
Hotel Alfa Empire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Antwerp City Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Riverview, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Antwerp City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose a higher room. I get the feeling there is some noise at lower level”
 of 5 bubbles marklaseve, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“check your room before check in”
 of 5 bubbles OUDI, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Although there is not that much traffic in the street, if you like absolute silence at night, ask for a room away from the streetside.”
 of 5 bubbles Carlos_Roos, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on higher floors are more quiet”
 of 5 bubbles ChristophIrving, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Do not accept room 406. As soon as you open the door, there is nasty sewer smell. I asked for another room instead.”
 of 5 bubbles cvs1974x, 7 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay