We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Jacques Brel Youth Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Vence, France
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Very easy to find not too far from the center of the city, this very big youth hostel is pretty quiet, very clean and ok priced if you want to stay in Brussels on a budget. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The inner courtyard is really nice and is the perfect place to chat to other travellers or/and...

1Thank Monique L
San Diego, California
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We arrived very early to this hostel as we had an early train from Paris. The staff here were very nice and helpful. Even though we couldn't get into our room until 3pm, they offer luggage storage that has CCTV. They have a beautiful courtyard to sit in with a fountain and comfortable reclining chairs. The hostel also has their...

Thank lcltrain
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My friend and I stayed in 6 bed dorm in this hostel for three nights and even though we had some crazy people in our room, we still enjoyed our stay. The staff at the front desk is super nice and helpful, and so is the bartender. The rooms are comfortable and clean enough. There was a shower in the...

1Thank Vroumzi
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2012

tayed here for one night after a concert at the Botanics. It did the job but the walls in the dorm seemed to have old blood on them and there were some very questionable white stains on the curtains. Despite that, the rest of the place was clean enough. The breakfast was tasty with a wide variety, the Staff were...

Thank smoothedoutdrummer
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Had a great time at this hotel, and the bartender was great. Good room, nice view, nice employees.

Thank matthewkz
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed there for five nights -didn't book ahead so changed rooms every day-ask for a room on the side with the elevator. The locations pretty good 5-10 minute walk downhill into the city with good metro links. The breakfast -which is free- was nice also. Be warned can't check in till 3 PM but check out by noon. Friendly staff,...

Thank perthgirl93
Amherst Ns
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I lived here for 3 months as a volunteer intern and loved it. Internet access often crapped out, but wifi was still available if you had a laptop( ground floor, best spots for connection are beside the computers, in the bar, and if you go to the back lounge area, the far far corner gives you another wifi access that...

Thank Shannon B
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This hostel is great on so many levels. The rooms are fantastic and clean, and the location is good (being only a 5 minute walk to the nearest metro station). Unfortunately there is little beyond the basics. For example, there is usually only one person on reception which makes checking in a very, very slow process. The self-catering kitchen is...

Thank Sheldor_the_Great
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed in a room for 4, with bathroom. What to say?! Very nice decorated, clean room. And also the bathroom, that made it possible to one person take a shower while another uses the sink and mirror. The breakfast is very good (juices, coffee, tea, bread, cheese). It's very near the metro station (10 min walking). The staff is...

Thank Daniella S
adjbrel, Responsable réception at Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comment. We are glad you enjoy your stay in our hostel. We hope to see you soon in our community. Kind regards, Giada

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2011

My partner and I stayed here in June this year and made our booking online from Australia based on the pictures and previous reviews. We were backpacking through Europe on a budget and this place was really great to us! The older staff were very helpful, though the young staff were slightly less attentive (as can be expected) but still...

1Thank Jessska
adjbrel, Responsable réception at Jacques Brel Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Jessska, thanks for your comments, we are glad you have enjoy your stay. We hope to see you again on the HI community. Regards, Julien (young staff :) )

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (103)
Room/Suite (20)
View from Room (10)
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Family/Play Areas (4)
Dining (7)
Bathroom (7)
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (17)
Room/Suite (4)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Bathroom (1)
Dining (2)
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
2.0 km away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,721 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,644 reviews
2.4 km away
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
#3 of 116 in Brussels
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
#2 of 116 in Brussels
526 reviews
3.1 km away
Train Hostel
Train Hostel
#4 of 116 in Brussels
95 reviews
0.9 km away
2Go4 De Brouckere
2Go4 De Brouckere
#9 of 116 in Brussels
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hostel is ideally located at about 10 min walking from the Brussels Main Square (Grand-Place). Nearby, you'll be able to take a picture of the Manneken-Pis. The hostel is located on the Place des Barricades, a amazing neoclassic square with typical white buildings. A really relaxing and quit place right in the centre of the capital city. From the hostel, you can easily reach the European Parliament, and if you'd rather go for food pleasures, the famous Belgian chocolate makers and local breweries are waiting for you! If you're tempted by fashion, you can easily go to the Dansaert and Saint-Géry as well as to Louise, Porte de Namur and Rue Neuve neighbourhoods. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Jacques Brel Youth Hostel

Address: Rue de la Sablonniere 30, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Price Range: $35 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacques Brel Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jacques Brel Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacques Brel Youth Hotel Brussels
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Jacques Brel Youth Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Jacques Brel Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms have bathrooms, others just have showers.”
 of 5 bubbles 87manala, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take the rooms on the 4th floor ! You will be relaxed, no noise”
  • view from the balcony of the 4th floor
  • room
 of 5 bubbles SMaxime, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Third floor or 1st Floor is best”
 of 5 bubbles taylenl, 18 Mar 2015 | Read review
“There is a great balcony at the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles RicardoValerio, 12 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Haven't stayed in the shared dorms, but the private ensuite rooms are definitely real good value for money”
 of 5 bubbles whatahazyday, 25 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5