We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Gent

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Gent
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

383 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Gent
See the most recent reviews
Showing 232: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Going on a quick tour of Belgium to places not been to I decided that as far as possible I'd opt for know entities as far as hotels are concerned, hence this being one of the options to get a family room. The setting is rather like many of these, on the edge of a semi business/retail park - although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trebor1677
Casoria, Italy
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very clean, and good food. Close to university and the price is good. With taxi you can reach center of city in 15 min. I'll come back again....................................................................

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe C
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Giuseppe Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm very happy to read that a senior contributor on Tripadvisor confirms that Holiday Inn Express offers much value for your money. The University Hospital and the Pharmaceutical Sciences department are located across the street, and most other faculties can be found within 5km of the hotel. Thank you for...

Reviewed 24 August 2013

A clean and relatively comfortable room. Unfortunately for us it was a hot couple of nights and the air conditioning just wasn't sufficient to keep us cool and the very small opening in such a large window was never going to allow any air into the room. The reception staff were helpful, polite and friendly as was the young man...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hipscrew
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Hipscrew Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your 4 out of 5 score for Value, Rooms and Cleanliness. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. While we appreciate your positive comments, we are disappointed to hear your comments regarding the breakfast service. We are sorry we fell...

windsor
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Used this hotel as a base for a 2 night stay to see Ghent and to travel into Holland and the North Belgium coast. The room was very spacious, even with the sofa bed opened out. Internet connection was fast and free. There was a choice of TV channels. Reception staff were very helpful and polite and gave good advice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Windsormiss
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear Windsormiss Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very happy that you have used the excellent E17 and E40 motorway connections nearby to discover the Flanders region. With regards to the breakfast queue, it can indeed get a bit busy in the weekend when lots of families want to sleep out and...

Trier, Germany
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children. We had plenty of room to move around. Breakfast was included in the price, available all morning until 10 and absolutely OK. We found 10 Euros for parking to be a bit high, considering there was no alternative. Otherwise, no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 4brooklyn
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear 4brooklyn It's great to read that you have enjoyed Gent with the entire family. Our rooms are 28sqm so indeed there is plenty of room to move around. Did you know that we even have 10 connecting rooms for families of more than 4 persons? When you come back to Gent, make sure you ask at reception for all...

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights following a family holiday to the Alps and used it as a base to explore Brugge and Ghent.It was excellent value for money ( costing < £60 per night for a family of 4 including breakfast!). Pros- Easy to find with Sat Nav. Clean and Modern Large rooms ( even with the sofa bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drdrjack
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear drdrjack I'm delighted to read that a Top Contributor of Tripadvisor has selected the Holiday Inn Express for her stay in Gent with the family. With regards to your remarks, I have a few suggestions: -the mattress in the room is as per IHG brand standard. But a mattress is something very personal indeed. We get regular requests for...

Harrogate
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed here as a 2+2 family on a European trip between Brussels & Lille. Reception staff were amazing & found us a room despite our early arrival. Room was a decent size even with the sofa bed in use. When we booked for dinner we were given a 10% discount voucher - which was cool. The restaurant is just brilliant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonny-Northerner
Oxford, UK
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This HIEX is probably designed for conference business and it has all the 'factory hotel' characteristics: clean room, adequate breakfast buffet, efficient staff but, in overall, faceless, just professional and not hospitable. The hotel is just a box design, not very far from the city centre (with my own car) and with all the amenities that one would expect from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlexPOxford_UK
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review

Dear AlexPOxford_UK, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am glad that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. I do apologize that your experience was not what you expected on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as...

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The hotel is adequate with a nice restaurant and bar area. The restaurant food was nice with a decent beer selection. The room stayed warmer for sleeping than we liked, but it may be a European difference in coolness request. The only negative is the distance from town, it takes either bus 65 or 67 then tram 1 to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yeti1980_13
London
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We used the restaurent since the Campinale one closes weekends, not enough trade. Well we order a buffet and got meal of the day served to us, not round the buffet. This option is several pages in on the menu list, lost in translation. The house white was excellent, the cheese board good. The meal of the day was good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LondonTell

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#16 of 37 in Ghent
574 reviews
4.1 km away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
4.0 km away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Novotel Gent Centrum
3.4 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
3.7 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular rail services from Brussels Airport, which arrive into Gent St-Pieters station, 3km from the hotel. We have an ample car park, which adds good value to your stay. Your spacious Guest room is the ideal environment for catching up on work with free WiFi. The hotel is close to popular sights in the city, notably the atmospheric charm of the medieval Old Town including St Bavo's Cathedral, with its mystical paintings. Tram 4 and Bus 8 stop at walking distance and will bring you anywhere in the city at regular intervals. For the great outdoors, try Belgium's northern coastal resorts, within a 40-minute drive from us. Kids under 18 stay for free with their parents in one of our spacious Guest rooms. This Green Key eco-label certified hotel offers a free charging point for electrical vehicles, and a Tesla Supercharger station. Help yourself to a hot drink and the complimentary continental breakfast options at Holiday Inn Express Gent. Our helpful staff can advise you on which city-centre attractions to visit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range: $105 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ghent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Gent staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Stanmore, Null, United Kingdom
New Delhi, India
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Gent staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All seem about the same except for upgraded rooms for extra money”
 of 5 bubbles 183philn, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you need an adjoining room, ask. I had only asked for rooms close together and was happy to see we had adjoining.”
 of 5 bubbles jackieheagyb, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we had a room at the back which meant we didn't have the motorway directly in front of us- hence- we got a good nights sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles WarwickBeauchamp, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Doesn't really matter, it has no outstanding views on any side, roads & football stadium nearby & just buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles happyc0uplebelfast, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Free daily breakfast with all rooms, wifi better closer to the lobby..”
 of 5 bubbles jrwells6, 16 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay