We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

561 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 354: English reviews
Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The receiptionist was very nice. They helped me to print out my flight ticket. They also sent me iron board straight away to my room few minutes after i called to borrow it. The room was so nice and so cozy.

Helpful?
Thank Fatin17
Management response:

Dear Fatin17, First of all let me thank you for taking your time and share your thoughts with us about your stay! It is so nice to read that you have had a great time with us, and you enjoyed your vacation here! We always do our very best to provide a great experience to each of our guests, so... More 

1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Quite hard to find specially if you don't have a GPS adding the small construction occurring. 10euro park fee day. Best to park just across the lane still free.... Understaffed.. Only 1receptionist. Rooms are OK. Bathrooms OK. Nice warm water. Bathtub bit rusty Try to avoid the ground floor. Quite noisy.

Helpful?
Thank Jose G
genthotelier, Event Coordinator at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Jose G, Thank you for your feedback and score. We are glad to read that overall you have experienced a pleasant stay with us. The construction area is unfortunately out of our hands, we try to put as much signage as we are allowed to, to make it easier for our guests. This is also why we are offering... More 

Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Very well located hotel, quite high prices, awesome breakfast We liked: - Awesome breakfast - Clean, nice and large rooms We didn't like: - Old looking furniture - Old looking bathroom - Very poor tv channels plan - Prices for everything are quite high - The area is a mess, there is a construction site in the area that is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Firstly like other reviewers have mentioned is the poor access to the hotel. I am new to driving abroad and this layout was enough to induce a panic attack, especially with it being dark when I arrived. At one point I thought I would never find access. The car park is below the hotel, which means you have to drag... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
genthotelier, Event Coordinator at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Rachel S, Thank you for your score and feedback. The works around the hotel are unfortunately out of our hands but are meant to improve the area which we are looking forward to. We have tried to add as much signage as allowed, we are sorry that you had to experience difficulties to reach our hotel. Furthermore, we recommend... More 

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

It's great for an overnight but there is public transport not far so can be used for spending time in Gent for discovering the city. We had a consultation at UZ Gent in the early hours, it was a 5 min drive from the hotel. Our room was great, updated with a couch. Mattress was hard but it's usually hard... More 

Helpful?
Thank EszterF
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I booked via booking.com as I was searching for a competitively priced hotel and found the Holiday Inn quite competitive, however, only to find that we then couldn't claim our reward points for our stay! It has since been pointed out to me that it is in the terms and conditions but I think it's a very bad idea and... More 

Helpful?
Thank GrahamD_54
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear GrahamD_54, Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review. It is regrettable that you did not fully enjoy your recent trip due to concerns you have encountered with the IHG Rewards Club program. Rest assured that your comments are duly noted and will be used towards our improvement. Sincerely, Faith R Case... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

The nicest hotel staff in Europe are here. They welcomed us with warm hospitality. Everything from lugguage deposit to check-in were smooth in professional style. They greeted us well, had a big smile meaning everything could be handled, I think. I requested for radiant heater or heating fan from every hotel in Europe. This hotel is the first one who... More 

Helpful?
Thank syahoo
genthotelier, Event Coordinator at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Syahoo, Wauw!! Thank you so much for your 5-star score & very positive feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you have very much enjoyed your stay with us. We will also thank Bianca and Bram and show them the kind words you have written about them. We hope to see you soon! Kind regards, Birgit De Peuter More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Stayed here twice on the way out and on the way back to and from the UK. Staff friendly and efficient although, as previously mentioned, the decoration is getting old and tired - at least in the room where we stayed and in parts of the breakfast area. Breakfast was pretty good too and free wifi ok for my simple... More 

Helpful?
Thank GlosOldSpot
genthotelier, Event Coordinator at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for taking a few moments to score us & write some feedback. The works around the hotel are unfortunately out of our hands but are organized by the city to improve our location. However, we are adding more signs to facilitate the route to our hotel. The pet policy has indeed changed following several... More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Went to visit agent and then Brugges for the weekend with the family Chose this hotel as its part of the brand I'm most loyal too. Cost of room was very good as its a little out of the city, but has great access into the city with a tram just 500 yards from the hotel that takes you into... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary M
Malika C, Event Coordinator at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Gary, Wauw thank you so much for this great review and score. We are thrilled to hear that you have had a great stay with us and even recommend us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon! Kind regards, Birgit De Peuter More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

This was my first stay at the hotel and although it's not a four star it's a pretty good three star. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and a respectable size. Parking was ample. There is a lot of construction in the immediate vicinity that has disrupted traffic flow. If you follow the signs you'll get there but... More 

Helpful?
Thank VPinMotion
Malika C, Event Coordinator at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for taking a few moments to write this lovely feedback! We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay which is something we take pride in. Hope to welcome you soon! Kind regards, Birgit De Peuter Front Office More 

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
3.3 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
3.9 km away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
3.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 39 in Ghent
1,903 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
503 reviews
4.0 km away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range: $89 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#9 Family Hotel in Ghent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Gent Expo staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Gent Expo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 657neilhh, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Breakfasts are plentiful”
 of 5 bubbles helenandpaul13, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Get a room looking outside not in”
 of 5 bubbles aliasclint, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Suppose rooms facing away from Motorway would be recommended”
 of 5 bubbles UKNorseman, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
“get a room with an outside view, not the interior atrium”
 of 5 bubbles joanne7575, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay