We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ghent River Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ghent River Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

940 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ghent River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 453: English reviews
Matlock, UK
Reviewed 20 March 2015

We spent three nights at this very comfortable Ghent Hotel. The room was interesting with many original features of the old building. Facilities were excellent and the breakfast was very good with great quality and variety. Our room, a standard, overlooked the river and as such was very quiet. The hotel is just metres away from one of the main...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LesMatlockUK
Sussex
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Brilliant location in easy walking distance of attractions and trams. Right on the river with wonderful views from some rooms and the breakfast room. Everywhere clean and comfortable. Fantastic choice at buffet breakfast. Reasonable price, very helpful and friendly staff, well stocked bar with daily happy hour - I can recommend the tasting selection of genevres (gins)! We arrived very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MMBTN6
Wales
Reviewed 5 March 2015

Enjoyed a great weekend stay in a well situated hotel. Even though our room was on the ground floor off the reception it was perfectly quiet, spotlessly cleaned and very comfortable. TV had English channels. Bathroom was small but contained a superb power shower. Staff were helpful, friendly and quick to please. The greatest memory to take away was the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bobs-big-vacation
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Good location, large clean room with bath and shower. Reception staff helpful. Lots of choice in the buffet breakfast. Reasonable price. Ghent is a beautiful city a is easy to get around on foot but for those who went to explore further trams are available. Travelled from London on Eurostar.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn R
London
Reviewed 4 February 2015

As this hotel is in an old building, the insulation is not the best. You have to keep the heater on all day which makes my skin very dry. And the walls in between the room are wafer thin. I could clearly hear what the other couple were talking. The gym was very disappointing. Not one that motivates you to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fussy P
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs P, Thank you for providing your perspective on your recent stay. As a result of your comments we have since done some retraining of staff and upgraded aspects of our building heating control. It is a pity that you did not mention this at reception, because we could have changed you to a warmer room. We do appreciate...

Helsinki
Reviewed 3 February 2015

I was in Belgium for a few days on a quick getaway, and the River Hotel was a nice place to stay. No big complaints really, everything was as I expected it to be for the price I paid. Room was spacious and clean, breakfast pretty good and everything worked. If you travel to/from Ghent on train like I did,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hannu M
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. We loved the room, huge and very comfortable. The location was good. Near by the highlights of Ghent and the parking garage. The reception staff was disappointing. At the check in they gave us some touristvouchers for free, but at the check out another lady of the reception asked us to pay for it....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank VeerZaara
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Dangui the receptionist is fantastic and so helpful. A very warm welcome to a lovely hotel. Breakfast is lovely and the rooms on the waterfront are nice with brick walls and yet so modern. It is a short walk into the city and interesting shops and restaurants close by. Castle is worth a visit Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Walsall
Reviewed 18 January 2015

Set near the centre this hotel is ideally situated for sightseeing and the restaurants and bars. Staff are polite and efficient, room was spacious and there is a good choice at breakfast. Bar area is quite small and leisure facilities are minimal. Having said that prices are very reasonable and will be staying here again on my next trip to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StevieH110
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 January 2015

Recently stayed at the Ghent River Hotel. Really fresh and excellent staff. Enjoyed the old historical room layout with old rafters still in place. A little gem and great value. Perfect location and well worth a visit. Barry

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 243barry1967

330 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (287)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
View from Room (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (112)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.8 km away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.5 km away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 km away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
899 reviews
0.4 km away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
2,052 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Price Range: $146 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#8 Family Hotel in Ghent
#9 Business Hotel in Ghent
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ghent River Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ghent River Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Worth upgrading to deluxe.”
347sharonw, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very close to the the rail. Make sure to wake up early to see the fresh market. Everything is within walking distance.”
MiamiBcn1976, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The 'luxe kamers' (deluxe rooms) are the most authentic. Ask for one with a view on the river!”
DavidHoyer, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River view was good but not a deal breaker.”
Sitrucnai, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Nice views from rooms overlooking river”
  • Spare bed
  • View from room on a wet day
  • View from room on a cool damp day
  • Wardrobe, desk,TV and minibar
ybsae, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5