We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Avenida Nascente 11 Faro Beach, Faro 8005-520 Portugal
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (9)

About

#5 of 72 Speciality lodging in Faro
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Couples massage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Canoeing
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, German, Portuguese

Location

Full view
Contact
Avenida Nascente 11 Faro Beach, Faro 8005-520 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Lisboa Airport221 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
54Reviews3Q+A5Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 34
  • 14
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Ian Martin wrote a review Nov. 2019
London, United Kingdom299 contributions88 helpful votes
This hostel is set just back from the beach on the only road that travels the length of Praia de Faro. Parking is available on the road or at a nearby car park. There is a good beach cafe run by the same business directly opposite and this has a lovely terrace overhanging the beach which gets very busy on sunny days. The menu is broad and the food served by a sprightly and youthful staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from WaxBarFaro, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Wax Hostel
Responded Nov. 16, 2019
Thank you for the time spent to give your opinion. It was great for us to have you as a guest at the Wax Hostel We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay here :) I hope you come back soon. Best regards
Read more
Alistair L wrote a review Sep. 2019
York, United Kingdom17 contributions3 helpful votes
Stayed at Wax for 4 nights. I'm a solo traveller and never felt uncomfortable at the hostel. It has a beautiful view over the water and the place was very clean. Mariana on reception was great, very helpful and always smiling. The breakfast included was great, set e up for the day and wasnt served until half 9 which helped with the chilled atmosphere. You,d defiantly reccomend!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from WaxBarFaro, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Wax Hostel
Responded Sep. 14, 2019
We are grateful for your opinion and opinion, it is based on her that we have improved our service :) We hope to see you soon.
Read more
Sarah P wrote a review Aug. 2019
Dundee, United Kingdom28 contributions9 helpful votes
Terrible experience. I booked a 4 night stay here, and have left after only staying 1 night. I used booking.com to book the stay, and the policy stayed that payment would be taken upon arrival at the hostel. When I checked in at 3pm, I was advised that they had already taken payment from my card that I reserved the stay with just after 1pm. This was not the card that I had wished to use to pay, so I politely asked if I could be refunded and I would pay again using a different card. The man on reception was so rude and I was told no. He then argued with me that it was booking.com who had taken the payment. I phoned booking.com, who advised me that the hostel should NOT have taken the payment prior to my arrival. The man on reception was then completely dismissive of me for the rest of the day. The key to the dorm room was faulty - I had to try it about 8 or 9 times each time before it eventually opened. The room was small and cramped, and did not have a patio as advertised. The showers were freezing cold, and when they did eventually slightly warm up, they were nothing more than a trickle of water - absolutely zero water pressure at all. I stayed in a mixed dorm and was placed in a room with 3 men - as a single female travelling alone, this was not ideal and I felt quite vulnerable. Better planning on their part needed here. Breakfast was good when it was eventually brought out at around 9.35 - advertised as beginning at 9am. Not ideal when you want to be up and out early! Upon check out, I explained that I was leaving early due to the aforementioned reasons. I was met with another rude attitude and told I wouldn’t be refunded for the nights not stayed. I’ll be taking this up with booking.com to recoup my costs. Appalled at the lack of customer service and consideration shown. The only positive I’ll say is that the communal areas and outdoor seating areas are beautiful, with a lovely view onto the water, and the beach is within walking distance. Apart from that, I wouldn’t recommend it at all.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from WaxBarFaro, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Wax Hostel
Responded Aug. 22, 2019
We regret that have found in us support to download all your stress and way to download all your frustration. We will not in any way condone rudeness and verbal assaults. We will take legal action for that to happen. All your comments do not reveal truth. And we can prove it easily. Our hostel on your maximum capacity, and no guest present including children informed us of the same. We're not free what happens something undesirable, but we're ready to serve. We hope you find peace and you enjoy from wonderful Algarve.
Read more
JoanneOB wrote a review Jul. 2019
Carlow, Ireland105 contributions33 helpful votes
Stayed one night in this hostel when arrived in Faro. As Hostels go, it was really good. Very clean and beds are comfortable. such a peaceful and chilled out place, I really wish I could have stayed longer. Staff are really nice and helpful. It’s literally a few steps from the Beach which is across the road. It has a lovely area to sit out and take in the views. Beach is a really busy spot but if you go further down on the left, you will find a more peaceful spot! Breakfast at the hostel is included in the price and it’s really good. Lovely freshly baked rolls and fruit, yogurts, orange juice etc... The only reason I didn’t give this a 5 star is because the shower was poor! All in all, a fantastic stay at Wax Hostel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from WaxBarFaro, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Wax Hostel
Responded Jul. 30, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for the time spent to give your opinion. It was great for us to have you as a guest at the Wax Hostel We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay here, and if not, we will improve our place with the advice that you gave us. From the point of view of our customers is very important to improve and improve. I hope you come back soon.
Read more
Matt G wrote a review Jul. 2019
Boston, Massachusetts14 contributions19 helpful votes
I’ve visited this place with my wife and was absolutely disgusted I use a black light as I always do and was horrified with the handprints and semen stains all over the sheets and blankets and some On mysterious stains on the pillows with further checking the kitchen was the most disgusting thing it looked clean on the outside but when you looked closer it was horrible I contacted the host at 11:30 at night and requested a clean sheets and asked what they could do they did not give me a new room they didn’t even have a key to get in the hotel we ended up yelling from outside at my patio door When we showed up ,the door that led directly into the bedroom was wide open to outside (very unsafe) The host to refuse to give me a refund even though we did not sleep the whole night because it was cold and they did not give us clean blankets only a cover sheet to sleep on I tried to post better photos but the app won’t let me !! But have photos of hand and arm prints made with body fluid !
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Wax H, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Wax Hostel
Responded Jul. 11, 2019
Dear Matt, We're sorry but your comment doesn't correspond to the characteristics of our Hostel. We are sorry you had a bad experience, but please be careful and comment the correct property. Our host is on this property up to 6pm. And all guests have more than one key to come and go at any time. Our linens are of excellent quality as any other person can confirm. The comments of who was here, are available.
Read more
Previous
1234568
PRICE RANGE
US$38 - US$605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Wax Hostel
LOCATION
PortugalAlgarveFaro DistrictFaro
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Wax Hostel
What are some of the property amenities at Wax Hostel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Wax Hostel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a dishwasher.
What food & drink options are available at Wax Hostel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Wax Hostel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wax Hostel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurante Zé Maria, Café Zé-Zéa, and Wax Restobar.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Wax Hostel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, German, and Portuguese.
Are there any historical sites close to Wax Hostel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Town Faro (5.2 km), Muralhas de Faro (5.3 km), and Arc of Repouso (5.3 km).
Does Wax Hostel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.