We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pousada Forte da Horta

getaroom.comUS$128*
View Deal
#2 of 5 Hotels in Horta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$152*
US$128*
Great Deal
US$151*
US$151*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Pousada Forte da Horta
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

183 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
Start your review of Pousada Forte da Horta
 Click to rate
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Formerly a fort, the hotel is spotlessly clean and tidy. Staff warm and welcoming. Breakfast was very nice, lots of appealing choices. Hotel is set in an ideal location with marina & shops nearby. A short (and pretty) walk to the ferry. I felt very safe walking here. Many walkers, joggers, cyclists around the pretty waterfront. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KHealyO
Manager_StCruz, General Manager at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review

Dear KHealyO, I am extremely happy to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you had a wonderful visit. I truly hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back at Pousada Forte da Horta, whenever your trips bring you to the Azores. Sincerely, Ricardo Gomes.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful historic hotel in an old fort on the waterfront in Horta, Faial, in the Azores. Low season so we got a complimentary upgrade to a view room overlooking the pool and Pico across the Atlantic. Dinner was delicious. Hotel is well kept and very clean. Staff is quite hospitable and accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank postal49740
Manager_StCruz, General Manager at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am extremely happy to read you praising words regarding our hotel’s facilities and services. It is great to know that we were able to meet up with your expectations. Thank you for expressing your appreciation not only about our hotel’s physical aspects and atmosphere but also about the service our employees are so proud to act with...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 16 December 2016

It has been a great time in Faial. After arriving under heavy rain and the sun opened up the same day. The reception was good, but the room was a bit dump and the air conditioning was not working properly. Would love to have some extra clean towels but these were not provided as we requested. The view is great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesthecolibri
Manager_StCruz, General Manager at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review

Dear jamesthecolibri, Thank you for your valuable time to post a review. We were glad to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us, however we regretfully noted that not all members of our staff managed to live up to your expectations. Our main goal is to make our guests feel genuinely pampered without being overwhelmed and we...

Reviewed 27 September 2016

This property was just as represented, a quality hotel in an old fort in a great location., The staff was helpful and the breakfast was very good. We had a great island tour with a new company called OurIsland. We recommend them highly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank christopher m
Manager_StCruz, General Manager at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review

Dear christopher m, Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your last stay with us. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet up to your expectations. Hope to have you back in the near future. Best regards, Ricardo Gomes.

Devonshire Parish, Bermuda
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We visited with a group of 11 and the staff were so accommodating for us. The hotel is beautiful, keeping the old architecture. The location was central in Faial and we enjoyed walking around the town. The food served at the hotel was fantastic. Highly recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lex291
Manager_StCruz, General Manager at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review

Dear lex291, I was so excited to read that you enjoyed the whole experience in our hotel very much, highlighting our restaurants food and our staffs performance. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Ricardo Gomes.

Bobcaygeon, Canada
Reviewed 6 September 2016

Spend the extra $ to have a "superior room" with a balcony overlooking the marina and Pico Island. The staff are amazing, I.e. got us 12 euros off the car rental. Convenient location - extra security when the President of the Portugese Parliament just added to our stay! -

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
Manager_StCruz, General Manager at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review

Dear Ellen R, I was delighted to note that you were amazed by our hotel’s beauty, the comfort and the wonderful view from the rooms balcony. It was also great to learn that our staff helped enhance your experience in Faial and were truly helpful throughout your stay with us. We hope to have you back in the not too...

Garstang, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We didn't stay in the hotel, but did have a very nice evening meal. The Pousada looks very smart and is well appointed. For a change the restaurant actually looks like a restaurant and not a snack bar. The waiting staff were very helpful, friendly and professional - excellent service. The food was also very good, my companions all really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DickBurton
Manager_StCruz, General Manager at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review

Dear DickBurton, Thank you for stopping by our hotel for dinner, I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the experience and were able to recognise the professional service from behalf of our restaurant staff. Hope to see you again. Best regards, Ricardo Gomes.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Quiet, peaceful and stunning location. Small and cozy with a beautiful view. B'fast buffet was very good and concierge was excellent. Internet service in the room was sketchy but fine in common areas. Arrangements were made for hiking activities that were affordable and enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Visitors333
Manager_StCruz, General Manager at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review

Dear Visitors333, Thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience in our Hotel and you enjoyed all aspects of your. We are grateful for your kind words in relation to this unique building and its location. I was extremely delighted to note...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We had a fabulous suite on the first floor overlooking the harbour. The customer service was excellent. It is very central to the town and harbour. We were booked on a half-board basis so we ate in the restaurant each evening. The menu has limited choices but the food is of a very high quality. The restaurant staff are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
Manager_StCruz, General Manager at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review

Dear Heather L, I was extremely happy to learn from you that you enjoyed your staying with us at Pousada Forte da Horta - Historic Hotel. We were proud to read that our Pousada did not disappoint, as you were intrigued by its history and splendour. We were impressed with your generous ranking of our hotel and its facilities. Thank...

san jose, ca
Reviewed 5 August 2016

The hotel is in an ideal location with a view of the harbor. However, it is difficult to get your car out of the small parking spots in front as the Pousada is right on the main road of Horta. The rooms are small and the bathrooms even smaller. There are no screens on the windows and lots of mosquitoes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mlrgiants
Manager_StCruz, General Manager at Pousada Forte da Horta, responded to this review

Dear mlrgiants, Thank you for choosing Pousada Forte da Horta for your recent visit to Faial. I would like to thank you personally for taking the time to share your experience and your general impression of our Hotel. We understand your time is valuable and it means a lot to us when our guests provide us with feedback. I was...

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horta
0.3 km away
Hotel do Canal
Hotel do Canal
#1 of 5 in Horta
360 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Horta
Hotel Horta
#4 of 5 in Horta
148 reviews
0.2 km away
Azoris Faial Garden Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
235 reviews
8.5 km away
Hotel Caravelas
Hotel Caravelas
#1 of 1 in Madalena
184 reviews
0.0 km away
PocinhoBay
PocinhoBay
#4 of 5 in Pico
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Pousada de Horta - Forte de Santa Cruz
Pousada de Horta - Forte de Santa Cruz
Cuisines: Portuguese, Seafood, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Pousada da Horta is located in a 16th-century fortress, which was classified a National Monument in 1947. This Pousada offers panoramic views over Pico Island and its famous marina. The modern rooms have been finished with contemporary touches, including Wi-Fi and cable TV. Guests can relax in the spacious en suite bathrooms and the towelling robes provided. Pousada da Horta, Forte de Santa Cruz has its own restaurant, which serves a wide range of local dishes and a buffet breakfast. Guests can also take refreshments from the bar onto the terrace to admire the views. The Faial Airport is just 10 km from the Pousada. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pousada Forte da Horta

Address: Rua Vasco da Gama, Horta, Faial Island 9900-017, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Faial Island > Horta
Price Range: $145 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Forte da Horta 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Forte da Horta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Forte Da Horta Faial Island, Portugal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pousada Forte da Horta staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
dallas texas
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Pousada Forte da Horta staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a water-front room.”
  • view from balcony, looking over to Pico
KHealyO, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Premium rooms ont eh harbor side feature patios or balconies”
, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a harbor view room.”
goodchi, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with balconies face the harbor and Pico and would be preferred to the rooms on the side of the building with no balcony.”
250rhondar, 11 May 2016 | Read review
“Book rooms with view of harbour and Pico”
packyderm, 8 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
getaroom.com
US$128* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$151
Expedia.comUS$151
TripAdvisorUS$128
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates