We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

PocinhoBay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for PocinhoBay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 26: English reviews
rosie1412
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The owners don't know how to manage their property. They duplicated our reservation and didn't have the decency to question why a couple on their honeymoon would need two separate rooms. Worst of all they said it was our fault and we had to pay the full 3 night on both rooms. I didn't really get a choice not to...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank rosie1412
Pocinho B, Owner at PocinhoBay, responded to this review

Dear "Rosie" Sorry but we must correct some facts. First of all, we didn't duplicated your reservation. You did it. You made 2 reservations (one direct with us and one by booking.com). The first reservation was made in your name (R.R.) and the other one in name of your husband (S.H.). As you can see by the initials, there is...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 June 2012

There are so many good and bad things about this hotel. The decor is upmarket - the service and facilities are less so. No 24 hour reception, no room service, no restaurant, no kettle or bottled water in the rooms, no products in the bathroom. There is an immaculately kept pool and garden, a beautiful cove on the other side...

 Report
Helpful?
30Thank HBKSLondon
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My family stayed in two of the guest rooms at the end of August. We had a very pleasant stay. The owners are very helpful and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The rooms are very nice, clean and modern which makes for an interesting contrast against the old vineyard buildings in which they are...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank swtravelbug
Finland
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My husband and I had three nights and days at the nice hotel, and it was a nice experience.. We had been on Lajes de Pico before (on the other side of the Island) looking at whales etc, and now we needed something else to explore. When you live at this hotel, you need a rented car or use of...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ghwoman50
Mass., USA
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I love small, boutique places to stay that are authentic to the region were we stay. You could not get more authentiic then this with all the modern ammenities. The room was beautiful with all the exposed stone and beams inside. Very comfortable and everything we needed but shampoo! I don't consider this an issue. The innkepers were very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wanttogonow_9
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Pocinhobay is a "secret" small hotel in front of a natural swiming pool that have everything we wanted. Its calm, clean, "design decor", traditional materials (wood and basaltic stone) and great gardens. On top of that, the reception was very friendly, the breakfast unforgettable, and the beds and sheets extra comfortable. It was a very good experience and we will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnthonyS187069
Praia da Vitoria, Portugal
Reviewed 22 December 2010

There are many beautiful places to stay in Pico. If you would like to experience the most arrogant of inn keepers - go for it - and they don't know how to work the invoice software - so don't expect a quality invoice. If you skip this haven here's what you are missing - 1) no toiletries in the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank spendit3
London
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We recently had the pleasure of spending 10 nights at Pocinho Bay in July 2010 - and can't wait to come back to what is simple a special place. For those looking for a quiet haven, with beautiful rooms, set in a wonderfully relaxing garden then we wouldn't hesitate recommending Pocinho Bay to anyone. Located within the UNESCO World Heritage...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BrewFishLondon
Lisbon
Reviewed 16 August 2010

A wrong choice for those wanting to relax. The hotel has no restaurant, which means that you need to lunch and dinner abroad (material note: only by rented car…). If you decide to go with children I can hardly imagine the confusion! Furthermore, be aware of the cancelation policy… If you are alone and your interest is to climb the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MyPrivateWorld
Pocinhobay, Owner at PocinhoBay, responded to this review

I know that we should be mad with a bad revue. But, we are not! We respect all the critics of our clients (they help us getting better). We do not feel the same about the opinion of those that never stayed at Pocinhobay. This revue was writen by someone that dont know Pocinhobay, thats for sure! From 31 July...

florida
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We just stayed at the Pocinho Bay Inn on Pico island, in the Azores. The inn is comprised of restored black lava stone cottages, that sit 50 meters from a small, protected seaside cove, about 10 minutes south of Madalena. This northern part of Pico is a World Heritage site, and is quite unique in its appearance. The locals have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank turismoguy

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pico
0.0 km away
Terra Nostra Garden Hotel
0.0 km away
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
Hotel Aldeia da Fonte
#1 of 2 in Lajes do Pico
228 reviews
0.0 km away
Furnas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Caloura Hotel Resort
Caloura Hotel Resort
#9 of 41 in Sao Miguel
380 reviews
0.0 km away
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
Pedras do Mar Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Fenais da Luz
189 reviews
0.0 km away
Aparthotel Atlantida Mar
Aparthotel Atlantida Mar
#1 of 5 in Praia da Vitoria
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about PocinhoBay

Address: Pico, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Pico
Price Range: $217 - $637 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — PocinhoBay 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your PocinhoBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pocinho Bay Pico
PocinhoBay Pico, Portugal - Azores
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from PocinhoBay staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Alabama

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from PocinhoBay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Water views are available from the lounge and hill-top villa only.”
 of 5 bubbles IEM10011, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“any room is unique”
 of 5 bubbles 865LBG, 4 Sep 2015 | Read review
“not room 1.”
 of 5 bubbles HBKSLondon, 9 Jun 2012 | Read review
3 of 3