We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 73: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel has a great location. It is right by the marina, and there are a quite a few restaurants very close by. Our room was small, but didn't feel overly cramped. The pillows on the bed were the smallest, flattest pillows I have ever seen in a hotel. There are not many electrical outlets- there was not even one in... More 

Helpful?
Thank mari b
HotelApartGaivota, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our Hotel. We also thank you for your sympathy and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. Your comments will be registered for future improvements. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota More 

California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We booked our room through TripAdvisor and Agoda, and the process was easy. The hotel is right in front of the Marina on the main road. We got a room facing south on the top floor with a view of the Marina, as we had reserved. The room was in good condition. The staff was extremely helpful whenever we asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eric_F854
HotelApartGaivota, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our Hotel. We hope to see tou soon. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota More 

Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We recently arrived from our trip to Sao Miguel Azores. We booked our hotel accommodations through Hotels.com for the first time with 10 nights at Hotel Gaivota...and have to say what a disappointment it was. During our stay we had nothing but problems with the hotel and staff, at best the rating should be a 2 star. We lived out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linachabot6
HotelApartGaivota, Gerente de recepção at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Mrs Chabot The team of Hotel Gaivota reminds that the online reservation process is exclusively responsibility of the clients and that the Hotel always makes sure to proceed with the reservations according to the information received. We regret once again, the fact that we have not provided a good stay for you, but we tried to deal with your... More 

Travellers are raving about these Ponta Delgada hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel location is perfect, a few meters from the marina. Erik at the reception was both friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean, and the breakfast is basic and very good. High value for money. Very recommended.

Helpful?
Thank yossiw765
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed here in late September 2016 for 5 nights. It was a decent price for being right in the city on the marina. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is wonderful, lots of restaurants close by. The breakfast buffet is large, and yes repetitive, but many choices, and the staff was very attentive to it. Coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank Syrsou
HotelApartGaivota, Hotel Gaivota Team at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our Hotel. We also thank you for your sympathy. We hope to see tou soon. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016

we are a family of five and this accommodation was great for us, plenty of space and great views of the port. buffet breakfast was also good. only let down by the very firm beds. if you have a hire car there is no free parking but there is a public underground car park under the main road. Service was... More 

Helpful?
Thank nildesperandum106
HotelApartGaivota, Hotel Gaivota Team at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our Hotel. We also thank you for your sympathy. We hope to see tou soon. Best Regards Team Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota More 

Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016

If you go there just don't go when I am back there because I want to stay there again. The room was clean and quite. The hotel was across the street from the Marina and within walking distance for most of the Ponta Delgada sights. The breakfast was great, and the staff was very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank PJDSailor
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This is an excellent hotel, offering a lot of space at a very reasonable price. Our unit had a little kitchenette and a sitting room. Situated on the city's main coastal boulevard, the hotel is close to restaurants and shopping. The hotel is older (circa 1970s), so if you're looking for up-to-date luxury this wouldn't be the right hotel for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota More 

Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Loved this hotel, it is close to everything - shopping, restaurants, on the coast so you step out onto the 'broadwalk'. Room was excellent, good size with kitchen and dining area, separate bedroom. Staff were really friendly, helpful and professional. I will definitely stay here again and can highly recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank JLemieux88
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota More 

ma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2016

we booked our room online didn't realize different views and apartments we got a cozy room on the city side quiet and perfect for just the two of us hotel is located on main road close to everything in town beautiful harbor across the street breakfast every morning very good selection the only rooms with fridge and microwaves are the... More 

Helpful?
Thank lani8301
HotelApartGaivota, Front Office at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased that you had a good stay and thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel. With our Best Regards Team Hotel Gaivota More 

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ponta Delgada hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Talisman
Hotel Talisman
#2 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
584 reviews
1.0 km away
Vila Nova Hotel
Vila Nova Hotel
#4 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
654 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Marina Atlantico
Hotel Marina Atlantico
#3 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Azor Hotel
Azor Hotel
#1 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
121 reviews
0.9 km away
Lince Azores Great Hotel
Lince Azores Great Hotel
#8 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
551 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Canadiano
Hotel Canadiano
#7 of 23 in Ponta Delgada
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the centre of Ponta Delgada and next to Portas Do Mar, this hotel offers panoramic views of the marina right in the capital of the Azores Archipelago.All rooms at Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota have wooden floors and elegant furnishings. Each of the air-conditioned rooms features a cable TV, and a minibar. Guests can enjoy their breakfast in the privacy of their room, while using the free internet. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and cafes with terraces. Packed lunches are also available. The ocean pools of Ponta Delgada and the city's public pools are less than 50 meters away. Ponta Delgada Airport is 3 km away, and the hotel offers a car rental service on site. Currently the Hotel puts at your disposal nuptial apartments T1 Vip, T1, T2, rooms, apartments and a nuptial suite, bar and a conference room and expositions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota

Address: Avenida Infante Dom Henrique 103, Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel 9500-764, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Azores > Sao Miguel > Ponta Delgada
Price Range: $74 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota Ponta Delgada, Azores - Sao Miguel
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Ponta Delgada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
Windsor, Canada
over a year ago
boston
10 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Apartamentos Gaivota staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel has two main buildings, so best views are from south building”
 of 5 bubbles Eric_F854, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“bring your confirmation with you”
 of 5 bubbles Linachabot6, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view!”
 of 5 bubbles Syrsou, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No view but saved a lot of money and we were able to sleep well.”
 of 5 bubbles PJDSailor, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“get a room on seaside if looking for views otherwise all rooms are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles lani8301, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay