We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vila Gale Coimbra

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Vila Gale Coimbra
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 247: English reviews
Start your review of Vila Gale Coimbra
 Click to rate
Odenton, Maryland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is located just off a major traffic artery and a 5-10 minute taxi ride from either Coimbra train station but is still rather quiet. It is walking distance to the historic center and also Coimbra University assuming you can handle a "zillion" steps. The hotel is fairly modern, but the WiFi sure didn't perform in our room. In...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank durayb2016
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for the time taken to share your experience at Vila Galé Coimbra Hotel. Regarding your remarks about the internet connection we inform you that we are doing our best to improve the wifi service. We were glad to find that you find our location ideal for your visit and that you enjoyed our Breakfast and...

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I recently spent over a week at the Vila Gale at Coimbra. The hotel is beside the river and a five minute walk from town. The hotel has a very nice indoor pool, modern gym, and a professional spa, which my wife visited and enjoyed. We had a very good room with a balcony overlooking the river,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 77Surrey
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review

Dear Guest Your review was truly appreciated by our staff that was delighted with your kind words and complete description about our hotel and staff. We were very glad to welcome you in Vila Galé Coimbra and we will wait for your next visit to Coimbra. Best Regards Carlos Alves Manager

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 2 March 2017

The room was big enought and clean! The facilities were good the indoor swimming pool, the sauna, jacuzzi and the gym were great! The breakfast was very good even had champagne! With plenty of food, cookers on time making bacon and eggs! Everything was perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnaCristina2000
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. It is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you may visit us again soon Kind Regards Carlos Alves Manager

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

So much potential but poorly managed. Huge building filled with third class furniture. Internet is just terrible and staff has no idea what to do. Garage is very dark and dangerous with poor ventilation and is not free. Carpets are ugly and dirty. Beds are hard and ugly. Area around hotel is very old, and depressing. Only good things are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nelson F
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review

Dear Guest We sincerely regret your experience and the review that you posted. We can assure you that our hotel is carefully cleaned has you can confirm with the reviews posted by other guests and that our staff is positively highlighted in ever one of them also. We hope that you can visit Coimbra and Vila Galé Coimbra again and...

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Located off the city centre, but within walking distance, the Vila Galé is a modern facility and if you are luck enough to get a river-facing room the views are not bad at all. Rooms are large and fairly comfortable and provide a good night sleep. However, the soundproofing is very poor, so pray not to have whining children or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BSF-Lx
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you for your review and for the highlights made on it. Your comments will be analised by our managing team and measures will be taken to improve our service. Hope to welcome you again on a near future, Best Regards, Carlos Alves Manager

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Stayed 2 nights here on a business visit. Receptionists on checking in and out are very friendly. Helpful and smiling and made to feel welcomed. Room is nice, clean, and comfortable. Hotel was very quiet while I was there, so I guess I missed the hordes of tourists other reviewers wrote about. Had dinner in the hotel (a la carte)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank How-Shoong
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. It is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you can checkfor other reviewers our Restaurant is well apreciatted and the quality of our food is highlighted, so if you can please inform us what you didin't appreciate. Hope you may visit us again soon Kind...

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Standard city hotel, with expensive parking garage and old buildings around. Ugly location. The room was noisy, with cheap bathroom materials and a hard mattress. Dirty floor. Not a good experience at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiago5
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review

Dear Tiago, We regret that you didn't enjoyed your stay in Vila Galé Coimbra. We hope that we can welcome you again to proof that we deserve preference. Best Regards Carlos Alves Manager

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Big hotel, well appointed, standard rooms, overpriced breakfast, away from city center. With a poorly developed river riviera, Coimbra stands as an Ok destination, and makes this hotel just another one, nothing exciting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guanajo007
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. It is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you may visit us again soon Kind Regards Carlos Alves Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 December 2016

This hotel isn't in the centre of town - it's about a 20 minute walk. But that means that its comparatively modern and spacious with a huge foyer and good sized rooms. It was odd that there was no outdoor furniture on the terrace which had a nice view over the pool and the river. We didn't eat at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your experience in Vila Galé Coimbra and for the time taken to do so. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and regarding the outdoor furniture we inform you that we do have it but during the winter time with rain, cold and the lack of use by our guests we...

Braga
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Nice hotel, especially if you are on a business trip. Very easy to reach by car, but quite far from the train station and city center. Very comfortable room and big bathroom. I must say that the wi-fi connection in room was very bad. My room was at the end of the corridor and this maybe the reason. Buffet breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andreagartner
VilaGaleHotels, General Manager at Vila Gale Coimbra, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. It is with great pleasure to find you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our location was ideal for your visit. Hope you may visit us again soon Kind Regards Carlos Alves Manager

770 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (457)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (39)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Other (226)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (282)
Viewed
ADA Accessible Room (20)
Viewed
Amenities (90)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Standard City View Room (20)
Viewed
Standard Pool View Room (22)
Viewed
Suite (23)
Viewed
Superior Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 21 in Coimbra
985 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 21 in Coimbra
635 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Vitoria
Hotel Vitoria
#2 of 21 in Coimbra
428 reviews
0.2 km away
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
#6 of 21 in Coimbra
1,237 reviews
1.3 km away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#8 of 21 in Coimbra
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the historic town centre of Coimbra with an outstanding view over the Mondego River. The nearest airport is in Porto which is 137 km away. Established in 2010, this city hotel aims for a leisure environment but is also ideal for conferences and business traveling. With dance as a theme this hotel has a total of 229 rooms including 27 superior rooms and 18 junior suites. This hotel is fully equipped with a large convention centre with capacity for over 600 peoples, a Health Club with Gym and Spa, 2 restaurants and a bar. It offers to all its guests a 24-hour reception and check-out service, wheelchair access and lifts, Internet Wi-Fi access, laundry services and garage parking (the last 3 items have an extra cost associated). All rooms come with a private bathroom with a shower/bathtub and a hairdryer, direct line telephone, electronic safety door look, cable TV, Internet access (for an additional fee), a safe and a minibar, individually regulated air conditioning and 24 hour room service. This hotel offer free access to an outdoor swimming pool, a gym, sauna, steam room / Turkish and Jacuzzi. Guest can also visit our Spa Satsanga in search for Massages and Beauty treatments (all for an additional fee). Guests can select their breakfast from a buffet and the midday and evening meals may be enjoyed a la carte, from a buffet or in set menu form. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Vila Gale Coimbra

Address: Rua Abel Dias Urbano 20, Coimbra 3000-001, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Price Range: $113 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Coimbra 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila Gale Coimbra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coimbra
#1 Business Hotel in Coimbra
#1 Family Hotel in Coimbra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Vila Gale Coimbra staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Palm Harbor, Florida
11 months ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Vila Gale Coimbra staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“5th floor room with river view is recommended”
77Surrey, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of Coimbra or the pool.”
soniaEngland, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try their dinner and breakfast”
wsherman, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Superior room worth the upgrade, nice space and very quiet.”
Retiredrewired, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had rooms with doors leading onto the pool side. Very nice.”
MarlMac, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5