We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pestana Cidadela Cascais

ElvolineUS$157*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$218*
US$157*
Great Deal
US$171*
US$171*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 649: English reviews
Start your review of Pestana Cidadela Cascais
 Click to rate
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A new, smart, elegant, small hotel built within the walls of the old castle and surrounded by the elegance of the old courtyard of the old royal palace. Easy walk into town, magnificent views but we found the service to be very formal (everyone spoke English). Food and drinks very expensive and service in the restaurant by the outside pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank essexbunny456
mandevillle
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed 6 nights while had work in the area. We love Cascais so for that alone it was great being here. It's an easy walk to Boca do Inferno and many other spots plus food and drink. We really enjoyed the Taberna restaurant on site and tied to the hotel. Now I have to say, being...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ketel_always
Valencia, Spain
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

IDeA Cascais. Nice oportunity to share science with colleagues in a wonderful place. High quality service. Fully recommendable. Very friendly people and great views. Take your time to get to know the whole area inside Ciudadela, the small church, Art galleries. Nice!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 112emiliag
Rethymnon, Greece
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We had a quite pleasant experience in this lovely hotel situated in a ideal location next to a park overlooking the sea. Friendly and helpful staff, nice cuisine. Breakfast a bit on the basics side. Iron and ironing board missing in the rooms. A bit high rated bike rental. An overall positive experience. Highly recommended!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gevag600
Paris, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful, relaxed, excellent location (everywhere is walking distance), very good food, very nice and efficient staff, inside pool (no extra charge) is a big plus in April when it is still a bit chilly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lydia D
Brecon UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel can only be faulted on the choice of room given to us. It was dark and when the curtains were drawn open we could be viewed by anyone walking along the corridor of an adjoining part of the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterjR2253OL
Marta E, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Mr. peterjR2253OL First of all we would like to thank you for taking time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We apologize if the room wasn't what you expected. Our hotel was an old fort in the past and our architecture is quite particular, our rooms are facing several sides because of this. We hope to receive you again...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed with Pestana a few days back. It is a very good property - well worth the effort that I went through. Some tips for travellers: - The closest grocery store is a good 10 minute walk away. So stock up on water etc in advance - The pool has unchlorinated water - its very rare to see it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank iamwhatuthinkiam
Marta E, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear iamwhatuthinkiam First of all we would like to thank you for taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We truly thank you for your good feedback about the facilities and surroundings. We hope to receive you in the future. Warm regards Marta Esteves Guest Services Manager

Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were offered this amazing weekend experience at Cidadela Cascais. The location is marvelous, the view is wonderful. The service is *****. The staff is really very nice, making all the efforts to satisfy our needs. The room is very comfortable and with a magnificent view. The breakfast was always delightful with very fresh and attractive ingredients. The dinner at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank familia_berto
Marta E, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear familia_berto Once again we truly thank you for your amazing review and for your preference. We hope to receive you again in the future. Warm regards Marta Esteves Guest services Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The worst customer service that i ever see!!!!!!! They gave us different room from our original order at booking , they refused to change room for the original order and refuse to cancel the order (cancel only for one night) so we dont any option ... i addition in the hotel there is no any parking , you will need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ofir A
Marta E, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Ofir A First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to express your opinion on TripAdvisor. We regret to know that your experience did not match with your expectations. Regarding the situation you mentioned, we apologize if the upgrade we offered to you was not appreciated by you. We could change your room for...

North Kentville Nova Scotia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights and would highly recommend. Good location, wonderful facilities and very friendly staff . The only drawback is that there is no on site parking but it is just a short walk to a municipally operated car park which has surveillance cameras

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nigelervineb
Marta E, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Pestana Cidadela Cascais, responded to this review

Dear Mr. nigelervineb We are very pleased to know that you had a great experience with us. We truly hope to welcome you again in the near future. Thank you for your comprehension about the car parking. Kind Regards, Marta Esteves Guest Services Manager

952 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (541)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (186)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (179)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (324)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Junior Suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Superior Balcony by Paulo Arraiano (32)
Viewed
Superior Balcony by Paulo Brighenti (33)
Viewed
Superior Room by Pedro Matos (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.5 km away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
1,100 reviews
0.6 km away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#8 of 38 in Cascais
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
InterContinental Estoril
0.5 km away
Farol Hotel
Farol Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cascais
743 reviews
3.9 km away
Sheraton Cascais Resort
Sheraton Cascais Resort
#11 of 38 in Cascais
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This luxury hotel, Pestana Cidadela Cascais, is set within the walls of the historical fortress, the emblematic 16th century Citadel of Cascais, in the centre of Cascais. It is a place where ancient meets modern, and many of the rooms are dramatically set into the former barracks which makes each space a different experience, while others, more modern, enjoy spectacular views to the sea or over the huge internal patio spaces. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pestana Cidadela Cascais

Address: Avenida Dom Carlos I | Fortaleza da Cidadela, Cascais 2750-310, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Cascais)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Price Range: $194 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Cidadela Cascais 5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Cidadela Cascais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cascais
#6 Spa Hotel in Cascais
#6 Business Hotel in Cascais
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cascais
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cascais
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cascais
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Cidadela Cascais staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Cidadela Cascais staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view. Rm 26 is lovely.”
kmr70, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for the second floor rooms with Marina view....”
Richadvisor, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The weekend late night crowd at the marina are loud and rooms nearby should expect to hear music and loud voices.”
jtnwdc, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade. Outside balcony is wonderful. Room is big with a desk and the sofa in front of the TV makes you feel like in your own living room”
BibiVillareal, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Same floor and corridor as breakfast restaurant facing either way”
MuttonSt, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Elvoline
US$157* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$171
Expedia.comUS$171
travelup.comUS$218
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates