Madalena by The Beautique Hotels

Madalena by The Beautique Hotels

Rua da Madalena 271 Santa Maria Maior, Lisbon 1100-320 Portugal
Traveller (63)
A30603 Restaurant
Dining (5)
getlstd_property_photo
Room & Suite (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#201 of 349 hotels in Lisbon
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in Lisbon's historical area, the Hotel’s decor is inspired in the female world, representing the platonic ideal of women’s aesthetics and balanced forms. featuring attractive lines, the delicacy, lightness and romanticism are an integrant part of our design. the rooms are perfect to relax and are equipped with complimentary coffee and tea facilities as well as private bathroom.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Minibar
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Rua da Madalena 271 Santa Maria Maior, Lisbon 1100-320 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Lisboa Airport
Rossio
3 minLisbon Metro
Baixa/Chiado
5 minLisbon Metro
67Reviews5Q+A10Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 40
  • 15
  • 7
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
EmilyR92 wrote a review Aug 2022
Oxford, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 4 nights whilst visiting Lisbon. The hotel is conveniently located in the city centre, close to all the squares and restaurants. Despite the fact our room was facing the road, the room was very quiet. The hotel is full of mod cons, which we quite enjoyed. The staff were exceptionally attentive and friendly. The only downside to the hotel was the bathroom facilities in the room which offer little privacy. The rooms are designed in such a way that there is no bathroom as such, only a toilet cubicle and shower cubicle, with the sink in the dressing area. Although tastefully decorated, partitions for the shower and toilet are made of glass, making privacy difficult. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel on our first morning, costing €10 euros each. Whilst the breakfast was sufficient, there are plenty lovely cafes nearby which offer pastries and fresh orange.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chefe de Receção, Outro at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels
Responded Aug 12, 2022
Dear Ms. EmilyR92, Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels. Hoping to welcome you again in the near future! Best regards, Maria Beatriz de Barros Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stampsandbags wrote a review May 2022
Oakland, California
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Truly enjoyed my stay at this hotel! The hotel staff were incredibly welcoming, and exuded genuine hospitality and helpfulness. Rooms were modernly designed in colors of posh gold and millennial pinks. Breakfast is provided at an additional fee and consists of pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, and more. The location itself is great! A bevy of shops and great restaurants are all within walking distance. I would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chefe de Receção, Outro at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels
Responded May 24, 2022
Dear Stampsandbags, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to know that you liked your experience at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels. On behalf of the Team, it was most definitely a pleasure welcoming you and we can only hope to repeat in the future! Best regards, Maria Beatriz de Barros Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
doug_fernando wrote a review Nov 2021
Sao Paulo, SP
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel has an amazing decor, it's well located in the historical center and the staff is very cordial. Unfortunately during my stay, the restaurant was still closed (covid measures), so it was not possible to check it or the bar. Some improvements might be around adding more accessories to the room (e.g. hangs for used towels or pen/paper).
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Filipa Matos, Other at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels
Responded Nov 17, 2021
Dear Doug_fernando, Thank you very much for your review and for your understanding with regards to the restaurant being closed. I am pleased to inform you it is reopening soon, so we would love to welcome you again so you can have the full experience. Best regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chuck wrote a review Nov 2022
Thirsk, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
first of all I must say that we hadn’t actually booked this hotel as our original booking was made on 7th October at the sister Hotel Figueria around the corner in Praca Figueria.
This was cancelled at the last moment at 11:00 pm the previous evening due to what was termed “maintenance issues “ and we were informed that we were being moved to the Madalena .
This was far from ideal but as we were due to travel early next morning we had no choice but to accept
On the way we received a message that we were being given a room upgrade but not given any details at all

On arrival we were asked to pay upfront for our stay which we found a little unusual as anywhere else in the world that we have travelled its customary to pay on departure .On querying this we were informed that its obligatory to pay upfront in Portugal .Fair enough if thats the custom I will take that on board .

The room itself was quite small ( not unusual for a city centre ) and we found the bathroom was more a pair of cubicles with separate toilet and shower with glass doors providing little privacy .
The vanity unit and sink were separate too and gave no privacy at all .
Also the room upgrade gave us “Bathrobes “
Well I must say that these were the smallest bathrobes that I have ever seen and must have been made for small children. I would have shown a photograph of me wearing mine but modesty has to prevail .It was more like wearing a cardigan or mini toga
Thats the downside out of the way and its fair to say that this is a very nice hotel with beautiful ,if a little quirky , decor and its cleanliness is first class The beds were quite comfortable and large and everything in the room such as curtains blinds and lights all electronically controlled.
Breakfast we found adequate but would have liked a choice of local meats . The hot buffet was nice enough and freshly cooked eggs were a bonus but let down by the lack of poached eggs . Still breakfast was good value for money and very fresh

We didn’t find the bar very welcoming or comfortable and the choice of beers very limited as I was only offered a premium Japanese beer which although nice I would have preferred Portuguese premium being that I was in the capital of Portugal
We didn’t use the restaurant as we didn’t really want Japanese Sushi as we visited Lisbon for a genuine Portuguese experience.
Location ,although not as good as our original hotel was , superb and within easy reach of all of the tourist attractions and within walking distance of this city’s fantastic transport system
The hotel staff were extremely friendly, informative and efficient and our stay was very pleasant Given its location we would probably consider staying here again and yes we would recommend to our friends.

Finally as a thank you we have been given a discount voucher for our next stay but hang on we have to use it before the end of November 2022 Not very practical
Enough said
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels
Responded Nov 25, 2022
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are sorry that your experience did not completely meet your expectations and regret that you were inconvenienced at all by the last-minute change of hotels. Unfortunately, as mentioned due to maintenance issues, this was unavoidable. Nevertheless, we are glad that you found our location perfect for your needs and enjoyed the decor of our hotel. While we are happy to hear you appreciated our high standards, we are sorry that you were not completely happy with your room or upgrade and we have noted your comments for our consideration. Furthermore, we are sorry that you felt our bar was not as welcoming as you would have liked and that you were not completely happy with our selection of beers; we will address these matters with our bar team. The majority of hotels worldwide now request payment either when booking or upon arrival to allow for a seamless departure and we regret any inconvenience. We hope to welcome you back on a future occasion. All the best, Alfredo Tavares The Beautique Hotels T: +351 967 033 094 alfredo.tavares@thebeautiquehotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
David O wrote a review Jun 2022
Ireland
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This Hotel is quite nice and really clean. 2 issues below:

I do have to say I was a bit aggrieved on our final night. We asked about a taxi to the airport the next morning to get our flight and we were basically told to go to the Airport 8 hours before our flight at 1am due to the festivities that were going on that had caused some roads to close. We booked a taxi through booking.com, walked to the bottom of the street and got the taxi from there, 4 hours before our flight. So something was wrong there and was very annoying just to be cut short like that. Lost a rating on that situation.

Also on our second night we had people use a card to our room and walk in on us sleeping. I am really laid back so I didn’t mind at first but thinking about it more this is a security issue. Who can access the room other than us and the cleaning staff?

Other than these issues it was a really nice hotel and would recommend it. I would recommend not travelling around this time in June or around any festivities.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not travel around any festivities happening in Portugal. We got caught with it and hotel were...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chefe de Receção, Outro at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels
Responded Jun 26, 2022
Dear DavidoF4539KY, Thank you very much for your review. First and foremost, I wish to apologize for any miscommunication that might have happened regarding the taxi situation. In the month of June the portuguese capital welcomes several festivities, which can bring several people from all over the world, to the heart of the city. With that, it can bring some difficulties regarding transportation because of the amount of last minute requests. Therefore, my most sincere apologies for the strange situation that you experienced. I wish to inform that only a small number of employees (Housekeeping and Front Office) have access to the rooms of the Hotel. At Madalena by The Beautique Hotels we always have staff 24h and seven days a week. And, we do also have a security system, including security cameras, in every single floor of the Hotel. Nonetheless, I will personally look deeper in to the situation to verify what indeed happen and confirm that it will most definitely never happen again. In spite of the issues, we are all hoping to welcome you again in the near future! Best regards, Maria Beatriz de Barros Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michelle G wrote a review Jul 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked here having seen in an a travel vloger's video. Beautiful hotel in a GREAT location. Breakfast available for 10 euros, made to order eggs or omelet with a nice selection of pastry and meats. Staff was very helpful. Location was unbelievable. We walked to most places on our list and there were stops close by for trams, busses and trains. Santa Just lift is only two blocks away. The room was beautiful and ultra modern. Our only complaint wad the design of the bathroom. There were two "stalls" one for the shower and one for the toilet. Not much in the way of privacy but since we weren't in the room all that much it was not a major drawback. Overall I think this is a classy hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels
Responded Jul 31, 2023
Dear Michelle, We appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you found our location to be perfect for exploring Lisbon, with easy access to public transport and popular attractions. It's also great to know that you enjoyed our beautiful and modern design, as well as the tasty breakfast options available. Our team takes pride in providing quality service, and we are glad that they were helpful during your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the bathroom design in your room. While our rooms are designed with elegance and comfort in mind, we understand that personal preferences may vary. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Alfredo Tavares The Beautique Hotels T: +351 967 033 094 alfredo.tavares@thebeautiquehotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Roque wrote a review Jan 2024
Mexico City, Mexico
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is well located, you can reach tourist places and restaurants by walking.
The hotel has an agreement with a nearby parking lot, a 5-minute walk away for 25 EUR per day.

The room seemed small to me and suddenly had a bathroom smell, but everything worked correctly.

The staff looked after us very well, the service was very good, the breakfast was complete.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels
Responded Jan 17, 2024
Dear Roque, Thank you for your feedback on your stay. We're thrilled to hear that our prime location contributed positively to your visit, making the city's attractions and dining options easily accessible. It's also gratifying to know that our parking arrangement added convenience to your stay. We also appreciate your kind words regarding our attentive staff and the comprehensive breakfast offering, reflecting our commitment to service and quality. Regarding the room size, we aim to provide comfortable accommodations, and we have various room sizes available to meet different needs. Additionally, we regret to hear about the unexpected bathroom odor you experienced; we're attentive to maintaining our high standards of cleanliness and will look into this matter. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Best regards, Alfredo Tavares The Beautique Hotels T: +351 967 033 094 alfredo.tavares@thebeautiquehotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amin P wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had an awesome time Lisboa ! We stayed at this high-tech hotel for a total of 6 nights.We travelled as a family of 4.(2 separate rooms).Except for few hiccups with one of the rooms (Room 405) , the front staff was very accommodating and made us feel at home! Shout out to the fabulous front desk trio of Mayk, Lesendra and Manager Maria! They helped us in every way they could-information about boat tours, booking Sintra tour and everything under the sun! Obrigado um milhao!
Almost everything in the room is electronically operated. Including the TV, hidden inside a mirror! The best part is, it's located in the heart of central district but tucked away in a quiet street.
I would definitely stay here again
Saudacoes da America , obrigado por uma estadia encantaora! Mayk, Lisandra and Maria!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are good for couples. But if you are brothers, sisters, etc. you need to make sure...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels
Responded Oct 20, 2022
Dear Cigaramigo, Thank you for this kind review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel aims to provide a memorable experience and we are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations. It is also a pleasure to know that the service delivered by our team members exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Alfredo Tavares The Beautique Hotels T: +351 967 033 094 alfredo.tavares@thebeautiquehotels.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul B wrote a review Jun 2024
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a great location for the old town, Tram 28, Hop on bus, Bars and restaurants (even a craft ale pub in the next road!) & the Arco da Rua Augusta. Our Delux room was spacious with comfortable beds. Jorge & his staff at reception, the restaurant and at the bar were excellent. Breakfast was very good with hot & cold food including bacon & sausage and made to order eggs. We had one issue which was resolved by Tiago and his Director Alfredo in a proper and satisfactory manner, but otherwise had a great stay.
I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thanks for this kind review. It brings us great pleasure to learn that our central location was convenient for your exploration of Lisbon's old town and nearby attractions. We are also delighted that our team, led by Jorge, provided you with excellent service that contributed positively to your stay. While we regret to hear of the issue you encountered, we are reassured that Tiago and Alfredo addressed it promptly and to your satisfaction. Our team is wholeheartedly committed to ensuring our guests' comfort and contentment. We are gratified to know that you enjoyed the spaciousness and comfort of your Deluxe room, alongside the variety of hot and cold foods offered during breakfast, including made-to-order eggs. Our aim is to ensure every guest starts their day with an enjoyable meal. It would be our pleasure to have you return on another occasion. Very best wishes, Alfredo Tavares The Beautique Hotels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachael D wrote a review Aug 2022
Exeter, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
On arrival we where greeted by the hotel reception who was really helpful and informative, and gave us a few recommendations for restaurants and where to go site seeing. Our double room overlooked the Main Street it was very clean and comfortable. I would highly recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chefe de Receção, Outro at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels
Responded Aug 31, 2022
Dear 893rachaeld, Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels and that you especially appreciated the service provided by our Team. Hoping to repeat the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future! Best regards, Maria Beatriz de Barros Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C-Lemons asked a question Sep 2023
priceA2150 contributions30 helpful votes
Is there a door to the toilet? Or is it just open to the room?
Answer from emmskELB
Glasgow, United Kingdom157 contributions77 helpful votes
There is a door
Answer from Marília P
Ponta Delgada, Portugal65 contributions64 helpful votes
Not self-service. They provide the service and you pay for it.
amy_vee_NH wrote a tip Jul 7
Manchester, New Hampshire53 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We didn’t have a car so we didn’t park."
Read full review
Wilson L wrote a tip Mar 2024
Brooklyn, New York23 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Consider going somewhere else"
Read full review
Hershel K wrote a tip Mar 2024
6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We arrived by train, so I'm not sure about the parking, the streets are narrow and parking seems to be hard to find. But that was just an observation. "
Read full review
emmskELB wrote a tip Dec 2023
Glasgow, United Kingdom157 contributions77 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Use public transport metro and trains great service Be prepared to do lots of walking"
Read full review
Momo341 wrote a tip Jul 2023
39 contributions17 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"-No need to take breakfast included"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lisbon area.
PRICE RANGE
C$254 - C$396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PortugalCentral PortugalLisbon DistrictLisbonBaixa, Rossio & Restauradores
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Madalena by The Beautique Hotels - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Madalena by The Beautique Hotels
Which popular attractions are close to Madalena by The Beautique Hotels?
Nearby attractions include Castelo de São Jorge (0.3 km), Escape Hunt Lisbon (0.3 km), and Duque da Rua (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Madalena by The Beautique Hotels?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Odaan, Stō Restaurante & Mercearia, and Floresta Das Escadinhas.
Is Madalena by The Beautique Hotels located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Lisbon.
Are pets allowed at Madalena by The Beautique Hotels?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Madalena by The Beautique Hotels?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castelo de São Jorge (0.3 km), Mosteiro dos Jeronimos (6.2 km), and Mosteiro de São Vicente de Fora (0.7 km).
Is Madalena by The Beautique Hotels accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Lisbon HotelsLisbon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LisbonHotels near Madalena by The Beautique Hotels
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars