Meliá Setubal

Meliá Setubal

Excelente acolhimento
Traveller (86)
Standard Room
Room & Suite (38)
Brot und Brötchen sowie Gebäck, Mandelkuchen und Müsli, Gojibeeren, Nüsse...
Dining (8)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#8 of 17 hotels in Setubal
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Meliá Setúbal is a 4-star hotel located in the city center with a privileged view over Bonfim Garden’s and next to the stadium with the same name. The hotel was recently renovated, with the entire interior having been modernized and value-added services created, creating a central point that allows offering all comfort and functionality to both leisure and business customers. The peninsula and the city of Setúbal are at the center of several possibilities. From the hotel you can easily access the beaches of Arrábida (Portinho, Galapinhos), or take the ferry to Troia and Comporta, enjoy a quick visit to Sesimbra or Azeitão, or quickly reach Lisbon or Alentejo for a 1-day visit. The modern Meliá Setúbal has a restaurant with a menu rich in Portuguese cuisine and local products, where you can taste the wines of the region, including Moscatel. Take advantage of the El Spa & Health club, where you can find the perfect atmosphere to relax in our indoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi and turkish bath or you can take advantage of the gym to work out. The modern rooms receive ample natural light and are equipped with a TV, Wi-Fi, air conditioning and a minibar. The hotel also has meeting rooms with natural light, an excellent restaurant and bar.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Children's television networks
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Massage
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
City View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Portuguese
Hotel links
Special Offer:30 years of Rewards

Location

Avenida Alexandre Herculano 58, Setubal 2900-206 Portugal
Name/address in local language
131Reviews2Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 55
  • 24
  • 12
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Belgranox wrote a review Nov 2022
Beckum, Germany81 contributions26 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here several times for business. The rooms are spacy, clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast buffet offers sufficient variety. The hotels central location allows to have most of the places of interest and restaurants in walking distance. The price level is adequate and even during holiday season not exaggerated.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Finding a free parking lot is not too easy. If you come after 6pm and leave before 9am, you can...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Melia Setubal, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Meliá Setubal
Responded Nov 15, 2022
Dear Belgranox, We appreciate the time you took to leave your comment about your stays at our hotel. Your comment is extremely important for the improvement of our services. We appreciate your words and rating, and we are extremely pleased to know that your stays at our hotel have been to your liking. We will be delighted to welcome you back in the future. Best Regards, Melia Setubal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lesley H wrote a review Sep 2020
25 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely hotel, fantastic staff, special mention to Ricardo who was great.
Rooms great, Rituals bath products and super large dressing gown.
Overlooking the park, about 10 minute walk into town on flat ground!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Both our rooms had balcony’s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Melia Setubal, Guest Services / Front Office at Meliá Setubal
Responded Oct 7, 2020
Dear Miss lesleyh597, Many thanks for your kind review and compliments. We are glad our team made your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Pedro Alves - Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fab wrote a review May 2019
Milan, Italy138 contributions59 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel location is good to reach the amazing beaches in the area in 15 minutes, the city center is all walkable from the hotel which fronts a beautiful park too. We arrived before check in time and the room wasn't ready yet. Mr. Ricardo took care of our luggages and gave us suggestion for the beaches in the area which was very kind and came out useful. When we got back we found other staff members but I must say they didn't show the same good attitude, checking in got slow and they also managed to change our assigned room without giving any explanation, which I found a bit odd since the assigned room wasn't ready before. I think this was due to the fact that I was traveling with my emotional support dog because of the flight here. If they had told me I could have explained. Also, the hotel room size isn't very big, rooms are renovated but our sink didn't work well and suffered some leaking. The hotel features a spa and gym but we didn't have enough time to try the facilities. Some parking spots are available for hotel guests, otherwise you'll have to look for a parking space on the road. As a gold member couldn't find anything special in the hotel, once more at check out Mr. Ricardo was kind enough to waive the pet fee, I appreciated the quick check out.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caz wrote a review Jan 2020
Landsmeer, The Netherlands1 contribution2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am currently staying here and I am forced to use my cellular at a as the telnet does not work at this hotel. I asked management and they said they can’t fix it and it’s not their problem. Bad service!! And I am here on business so need internet. They suggested I sit in the lobby, but being on Skype and discussing financial s is probably not a good idea in the lobby.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel M, Gerente de recepção at Meliá Setubal
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Dear Cazpullen, We apologize in advance for running out of momentary access to the internet, but according to what I was told the problem was resolved on the same day. There may have been a failure in the communication that the problem was being solved, as it happened later. We appreciate the time you spent leaving your comment about your stay at our hotel. Your comment is extremely important and helps us to improve our services. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the future. Best regards, Pedro Alves - Head of Reception
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
penguin427 wrote a review Jun 2023
Tenerife, Spain16 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
There is nothing positive I can say about this hotel or the area. What you read online is not what you get. Definitely not a 4 star. Go to the Vincci ponte de Ferro to see what 4 star is. The area is like being in a developing country with very limited restaurant venues to try
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just avoid the hotel and the area … drive through
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Melia Setubal, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Meliá Setubal
Responded Jun 20, 2023
Dear Penguin427, We apologize in advance for not meeting your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment about your stay at our hotel and in Setubal. We regret that you did not enjoy your visit to Setubal on this occasion, as Setubal is a beautiful city with a lot to visit and several restaurants to try. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the future. Best regards, Melia Setubal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travel30282178533 wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleaner stole my AirPods worth £250. The cleaner still works there as well. Hotel were useless in providing any sort of information on what was going on. If you have valuable belongings, I would be very concerned leaving them in the room whilst away. Apart from that, I’ve been to many melia‘s around the world, and was by far the worst in terms of facilities & breakfast. DO NOT GO HERE!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you have valuable belongings, there’s a very big chance they will be stolen.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel Melia Setubal, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Meliá Setubal
Responded Jul 4, 2023
Dear Travel30282178533, First of all, we would like to express our sincere apologies for what happened. We thank you for taking the time to leave us your comment, your opinion is very important as it helps us to improve our services. We are deeply sorry for your loss, we inform you that from the beginning we are trying to find the headphones, both the housekeeper and the person who cleaned the room tried to find, but really what was in your room was only a neck pillow and an adapter. We would really like to help you, but even with the locations you sent us we were unable to find the headphones. As is writen in the keycard holder given to you at the check in, the hotel does not accept any responsability for theft or loss, there is a free safety deposit box in the room where the valuables should be stored. We subscribe, with the confidence that we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel or any other hotel of the Meliá International group. At your service, Melia Setubal
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CJoannn wrote a review Dec 2018
Singapore, Singapore43 contributions64 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
1. Driveway to hotel was really rocky & difficult to pull up. There was no potter Nor bellboy to help.
2. Upon check in, room’s telephone was spoilt and we couldn’t get additional pillows
3. Room is small for a triple share
4. Hotel’s security is scary. I’m staying on the 6th floor. Room 609, and I can smell cigarette smoke. To my surprise, people climb onto the balcony to smoke, which means they can climb into my room too!
5. Stayed 2 nights - hotel did not replenish water(never mind, some European hotels do not replenish on a daily basis) , but they did not replenish the shower gels too!
6. (My trigger point) - went down for breakfast & there was no space, the breakfast area was quite small. So we had to share a Long table with a man, the waiter insisted that we had to sit just next to the man, and when we told him we wanted the other end of the table, he put his 2 hands up and shrugged, didn’t set the table for us, and we had to take the knife, fork and napkins to set it for ourselves.
7. I took 2 packets of cocoa back to my table. Trying to figure out do I want 2 packets with hot milk or one. The waiter walks over, offensively asked me if I was intending to drink the hot chocolate twice, if not I should return it.
8. Stained sheets and nobody bothered to change the sheets. Think I didn’t notice?
9. My room has this really weird smell, sometimes it smells like something is burnt, sometimes like yoghurt. Gosh? Every time I enter the room it’s a different smell.
I’m never staying here again, and you guys should really consider. I’m not sure if the reason I’m being treated this way is because I’m Asian, but this is the first hotel in Europe, of all my trips that treated me this way.
This isn’t a 4 star hotel! It doesn’t even deserve 3 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Enid W wrote a review Sep 2018
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia27 contributions18 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked Melia Hotel at Setubal because of the pool as it was very hot at the time of our travel. When we arrived, after we paid, we were told the pool was out of order. We were hugely disappointed and considered to cancel the second night of our stay and move to another hotel. But the hotel gave us an upgraded room. It was very large, spacious and with the view of the park, stadium. The room was clean, with all the necessary amenities. So we decided to stay and maybe raise the issues with the hotel management afterward (we only booked on the day via online but the pool had been closed one day before our booking).

We liked the central location of the hotel, and right opposite the building, there is a park and with plenty of free parking for our rental car. It was an easy drive to the beaches so we spent more time at the beaches instead and saw dolphins! Around the park, there were some good restaurants. The breakfast was buffet style, with hot and cold food selection. They were quite good. Overall, we were quite happy with our stay.

On our return, I wrote to the hotel, and they were very efficient in offering an apology and necessary compensation. I would suggest the hotel to contact coming guests by emails in future if there are maintenance works that would affect guests' stay because people book hotels for different reasons. I'm one who is addicted to relaxing by the pool or spa. I select hotels based on these facilities. If they are not available, I probably would not have booked them.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Higher floor, overlooking the park
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tb0rba wrote a review Aug 2019
Weingarten, Germany1 contribution1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really good hotel with an excelent breakfast.
Service is really good and the rooms quiet.
The only problem I see is the parking in lot, which is only available on the street, sometimes difficult to find spots according the arrival time at the hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Date of stay: August 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from josemgbrito, Diretor-Geral at Meliá Setubal
Responded Aug 30, 2019
Dear Mr and Mrs. tb0rba, Thank you so much for your nice words. We are pleased to know we were able to exceed your expectations and we hope we can welcome you again on your next visit to Setúbal! Kind regards, José de Brito General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
emend96 wrote a review Jul 2019
Wallkill, New York2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel staff was very accommodating, and especially the kitchen staff. They breakfast crew was absolutely wonderful, considering the amount of people that they were serving. We would definitely stay at this hotel again. Close to all the shops, and has a great pizza place around the corner.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Date of stay: June 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't take the sodas in the mini-fridge unless you want to pay 3 EUR for a coke. :)
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel M, Gerente de recepção at Meliá Setubal
Responded Jan 28, 2020
Dear Emilio M, Thank you very much for your review . We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff made you feel welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Pedro Alves
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Teresa asked a question Sep 2020
Madrid, Spain82 contributions56 helpful votes
¿Tienen garaje? El desayuno lo puedo tomar en el comedor como siempre? Gracias
Answer from Hotel M
2 helpful votes
Buenos dias, Si, el desayuno lo puedes tomar en el comedor. Saludos Cordiales.
Caroline G asked a question May 2017
Blankenberge, Belgium
Waar kan ik dichtbij en goedkoop parkeren als ik verblijf in het hotel ??
Answer from diretorsetubal
Setubal District, Portugal
Very sorry in the delay but we had serveral problems with our mail. We do not have garage, but there is free parking around the park Bonfim in front of the Hotel. Afther 18h30 usually there is no problema.
Travel30282178533 wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you have valuable belongings, there’s a very big chance they will be stolen. "
Read full review
penguin427 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Tenerife, Spain16 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just avoid the hotel and the area … drive through"
Read full review
Belgranox wrote a tip Nov 2022
Beckum, Germany81 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Finding a free parking lot is not too easy. If you come after 6pm and leave before 9am, you can leave your car free of charge in front."
Read full review
Lesley H wrote a tip Sep 2020
25 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Both our rooms had balcony’s"
Read full review
emend96 wrote a tip Jul 2019
Wallkill, New York2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't take the sodas in the mini-fridge unless you want to pay 3 EUR for a coke. :)"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Setubal area.
PRICE RANGE
C$153 - C$202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Premium Setubal Hotel
LOCATION
PortugalAlentejoSetubal DistrictSetubal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
112
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Meliá Setubal - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Meliá Setubal
Which popular attractions are close to Meliá Setubal?
Nearby attractions include 7 Escape (0.4 km), Estadio do Bonfim (0.3 km), and Rota dos Saberes e Sabores (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Meliá Setubal?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Meliá Setubal?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Meliá Setubal?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Meliá Setubal?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Meliá Setubal?
Conveniently located restaurants include Don Formozzini - Pizzeria Ristorante Italiano, Alegre-me - Healthy Brunch & Granel BIO, and Restaurante Saribas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Meliá Setubal?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Is Meliá Setubal located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Setubal.
Are any cleaning services offered at Meliá Setubal?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Meliá Setubal offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Meliá Setubal?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Portuguese.
All Setubal HotelsSetubal Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SetubalHotels near Meliá Setubal
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars