Melia Madeira Mare

Melia Madeira Mare

Traveller (1730)
Room & Suite (637)
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Videos (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#46 of 95 hotels in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
With a breathtaking view over the Atlantic Ocean and with access to the sea-front promenade as well as to the small Beach- Gorgulho cobble stone beach, the Meliá Madeira Mare stands in the heart of the Lido zone, just ten minutes away from Funchal city centre, five from the main shopping and leisure centres in the tourist area and around twenty minutes from the airport. With its 220 modern and comfortable rooms, with a private balcony, the majority with a sea view, the hotel has contemporary, maritime-influenced lines and blends in perfectly with its surroundings.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Free breakfast
Evening entertainment
Children's television networks
Kids pool
Parking
Wifi
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Sauna
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kid-friendly buffet
Poolside bar
Airport transportation
Car hire
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:30 years of Rewards

Location

Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003 Portugal
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Madeira Airport
15.9 km
See all flights
Porto Santo Airport
72.9 km
See all flights
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2,591 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Melia Madeira Mare hotel garners accolades for its spotless environment and well-kept pools, with many visitors extolling the virtues of its cleanliness. While the rooms are often lauded for their ample space and stunning vistas, a few guests have raised concerns regarding maintenance. The hotel's service is largely celebrated for its cordiality, though the pool bar occasionally experiences delays. Nestled in a prime location close to the beach, it offers breathtaking oceanfront views. Opinions on the hotel's value vary, but the amenities, including a praised breakfast buffet, are widely appreciated.
Location
Beachfront
Atmosphere
Welcoming
Rooms
Spacious
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Efficient
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,591Reviews134Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,405
  • 799
  • 289
  • 66
  • 32
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
César M wrote a review Jul 2023
Sydney, Australia
Hotel's Favourite
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great overall hotel, well located (great restaurants and bars right next door), with great views, brilliant large suites, and service to match.
We stayed at a sea view suite, got a Madeira traditional cake, chocolates and fruit when we got in. The only really less than ideal item was that the room service options after 10pm are heavily reduced, but nevertheless good enough.
Happy to stay there again next time visiting Madeira
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina Nobrega, Other at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded Jul 11, 2023
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for sharing your feedback and review. Happy you enjoyed our facilities and services on the whole and appreciate your constructive criticism relative to the room service options after 22h00. Your input is vital in our ongoing efforts in achieving total guest comfort and satisfaction. We hope to have contributed to a relaxing and memorable holiday experience for you and look forward to your return next time your travel plans include Madeira Island and thank you for your preference in our Brand. With kind regards, Tina de Nobrega - GEX Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JamieEighteen wrote a review Oct 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed for one week at the end of September/early October.

Arrival at the hotel was easy via the aerobus from Funchal airport. This stops approximately 100 yards from the Melia.

I booked an ocean view room and upgraded to a superior ocean view room using a birthday gift voucher during online check in. Upon arrival this was confirmed by the friendly staff. The room was very pleasant with good aircon, a fridge, sofa and desk etc.

I received the (negative) result of my Covid test within 12 hours as scheduled and was able to go down to breakfast the following morning. Temperature checks were taken daily and gloves provided to minimise covid risks.

Breakfast was a solid enough selection of cold and hot options with an omelette station. There were also some local specialities.Breakfast could be eaten indoors or outside overlooking the pool.

Throughout the week staff were very pleasant and friendly, and the reception staff were able to accomodate a late checkout request.

In terms of location, there are bus stops for the No 1/2 line within 100 yards, 1.95 Euros one way and reasonably frequent. Uber was also available and was reasonably priced (around 6 Euros to the city centre plus tip).

There is a Spar shop just across from the hotel if you wanted to buy snacks and drinks, or a Pingo Doce supermarket within 200 yards with a wider selection.

All in all, I would happily come back to this hotel, and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing break.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neuza Barreto, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded Oct 9, 2020
Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for your positive review and comments. We're very happy we were able to deliver on our brand standards and that our services and facilities met with your expectations. We do hope to have contributed to a memorable holiday experience and thank you for your preference. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Martin aryeh W wrote a review Oct 2020
Jeruslem
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in this property for twenty three days. The location is well located in the lido area of Funchal and is an easy walk to many restaurants, shops including a supermarket and a number or tourist attractions and tot offices.The property is presented in a standard modern style and first impressions are good . Check in is very efficient and extremely friendly ,and automatically makes you feel that you have chosen well. Baggage handling is speedy and self parking is convenient in the hotels secure underground car park.The room (206) is a sea view and is very spacious and reflects the modern style of the hotel .The bathroom is of a similar standard with both tub with hand shower and a separate rain shower cubicle as well as his and her basins .Facilities in the room are more than adequate with excellent connectivity, ample storage efficient A/c good towels and linen and excellent water pressure toiletries are of the pump action variety which detracts from the five star standard additionally some standard items are missing from the room due to COVID 19 restrictions but are provided on request. Sleep quality is good but as is common in Portugal the bed is actually two large singles which are joined together on request making an emperor style double the join is completely unnoticeable when laying on the bed. Housekeeping is as expected and the room and general areas are very clean and compliance with COVID 19 restrictions is maintained at all times There is a complimentary breakfast which Is fairly comprehensive initially service was chef service only but a few days in to my stay this was changed to gloved and masked guest service via a one way system quantity quality and variety was of a good standard in my case I keep a kosher diet and the chefs kindly prepared for me items that were not generally available.Externally there is a beautifully maintained pool with ample loungers and reasonable gym with a combination of up to date technogym equipment and some slightly older startrac machines as well as a good range of free weights . I spend up to nine months of the year travelling across the world and am fortunate enough to have stayed in some of the best five star hotels available this property is at the lower end of the five star category but the staff are are definitely at the the high end , there are always people who stand out and for me they were Angelo demand and Lenin in the restaurant Hugo at the pool and all the reception in short this is a friendly well run hotel which offers great value for money and I would return if in Madeira.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neuza Barreto, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded Oct 19, 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and for your comments! We're certainly very proud and appreciate your positive comments relative to our team!!! Your special mention of Angelo, Lenine, Hugo and the Reception staff will also be shared with them and much appreciated. In a pandemic phase, unfortunately some of our services have suffered some restrictions; we do hope to return to normality in a near future. We're delighted your stay with us was most enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Madeira Mare. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
teddyontour wrote a review May 2021
Biarritz, France
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Having had several holiday attempts thwarted at the last minute because of the volatile pandemic situation I was delighted to finally make it to Madeira and the Melia Mare. Protocols were excellent everywhere from arriving at the airport and speedily tested. Having checked in to Melia I was asked to remain in my room until test results arrived which they did in under 6 hours.
Had a lovely spacious room and was perfectly content that for COVID reasons the room was serviced every other day. Protocols were very well set up and followed. Temperature was taken on entry to the restaurant and masks and plastic gloves whilst inside and serving from the excellent breakfast buffet. Very comprehensive and well presented. Fatima and Lenine, in particular worked tirelessly and cheerfully coping with comprehensive sanitising of every table at changeover. Likewise Hugo and pool staff worked very hard to ensure everything was scrupulously cleansed and maintained.
All in all I was delighted by my choice and look forward to returning to the excellent Melia Mare and delightful and charming Madeira. I’ve no doubt that restrictions elsewhere have led to a new influx of visitors most of whom, like myself will have been sorry it’s taken too long for us to experience the multiple delights of this splendid island and its people
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina Nobrega, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded May 27, 2021
Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for taking the time in sharing your review and for your most positive comments. We're certainly very proud and appreciative of your comments relative to our staff and thank you for making specific mention of Fatima, Lenine and Hugo and pool staff.. we're very fortunate in having a fabulous team !!! Your kind comments will be shared internally and will serve to further motivate us all in ensuring warm, friendly and efficient hospitality service to all those who choose to stay with us. We do hope we contributed to a memorable and relaxing holiday experience and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Thank you for your preference! With kind regards Tina de Nobrega GEX Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve T wrote a review Nov 2020
Durham, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a great seafront position with a 25 minute walk into Funchal or a 10 minute bus ride. It is very covid aware with hand sanitiser and masks being mandatory in all indoor public areas.
As a result it feels really safe. However, this seems to have affected the staff who are not welcoming or friendly and appear to use covid as an excuse to be surly. The only w who seemed genuinely interested to chat were Carlos- a trainee - and Lennie a jovial and friendly waiter.
In the rooms the cleaning was done on alternate days only (vivid being the excuse) and then things like tea and coffee were only enough for one day.
The rooms are excellent, but it did feel like we were zn inconvenience and that cost cutting was the real motive.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Sea view rooms are larger and worth the extra money
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neuza Barreto, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded Nov 9, 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and for your comments! It is with our guest’s comments and suggestions that we can improve our services. We are glad to hear that you felt safe with us during your stay. In a pandemic phase, unfortunately some of our services have suffered some restrictions, such as the room cleaning; we do hope to return to normality in a near future. We hope to have another opportunity in a near future to welcome you back to Melia Madeira Mare. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cannylad1973 wrote a review Dec 2020
North East England, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Due to ongoing travel restrictions, we ended up in Madeira over Christmas 2020 somewhat accidentally. However, it proved to be an excellent destination, so much so that we were genuinely astonished never to have hitherto given it serious consideration. The island is beautiful, clean, safe and offers a very wide variety of places to see/visit, eat/drink. The Melia Mare is a brisk, pleasant 20 minute walk from the centre of Funchal or less than 10 minutes in a bus/taxi located close to the hotel. The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and stylish. The staff were extremely friendly, courteous and professional. We had a room on the 5th floor with a 'side sea view'. The rooms were cleaned and bedding/towels changed every 2 days. Everything was very COVID-19 safe, including plenty of sanitiser stations, self temperature checks, mask wearing etc. The buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful, and very well organised for everyone's safety and comfort. The outdoor and indoor pool areas are very spacious, with constant cleaning and sanitisation of loungers, chair, tables etc. The hotel is in a lovely area, very close to the beach, surrounded by lots of shops, bars, restaurants as an alternative to going into Funchal centre. We would rate this hotel highly and would definitely include it as an option when we return to Madeira.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Sea View on 10th Floor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina Nobrega, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded Jan 7, 2021
Dear Valued Guest Thank you kindly for taking time in posting your detailed and very positive review of both our island and Meliá Madeira Mare. We're delighted you enjoyed our services and facilities and sincerely hope we contributed to a memorable, safe and relaxing experience during your time with us. Appreciate you very kind comments too relative to our staff which will be shared internally and only serves to further motivate us all to continue to provide warm, friendly, welcoming and efficient hospitality service to all those who choose to stay with us. We do hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future and thank you for your preference. For now our very best wishes to you and yours for a Very Happy and Healthy 2021 ! With kind regards Tina de Nobrega GEX MANAGER
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brian H wrote a review Jan 2022
Stevenage, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I with our 10 year old son stayed in the Melia Madeira Mare at the end of December 2021 for 6 nights We had stayed here before 4 years ago.
We stayed in a Royal Suite (half board basis) which was spacious, quiet, clean and had stunning views of the ocean.
Breakfast and evening meals were good - plenty of choice, good service and ample room between tables.
It was our son's birthday during our stay and Tomas (Restaurant Manager) organised a birthday cake for him which was lovely - a big thank you to Tomas.
We used the indoor swimming pool which was fantastic. We did not use the outdoor pool or the outside terraces.
We used the underground parking which worked very well.
Our only comment was that as we had booked the most expensive room it would come with a large balcony. In fact the balcony was not wide enough for a sunbed (although it is double width). We understood that to get a large balcony we should have booked a Master Suite (but these do not have separated rooms).
So please be advised: a Master Suite has non-separated rooms with a large balcony and a Royal Suite has separated rooms with a narrower balcony.
Final conclusion: An excellent hotel, with helpful staff in a good location with stunning views. Fully recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ocean views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina Nobrega, Other at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded Jan 11, 2022
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for reviewing us and for your kind and detailed comments. Much appreciate your making mention of our team who are indeed committed in providing warm, welcoming and friendly hospitality services to all those who choose to stay with us and your commendation will be passed on internally. Glad Tomás contributed positively to your son’s birthday and hope he enjoyed the cake ! We sincerely hope to have also contributed to a safe, relaxing and memorable holiday experience for you during your time with us and thank you for your preference. With kind regards, Tina de Nobrega - GEX Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Belinda T wrote a review Nov 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was expecting a really great hotel experience. But
The room cleaned only every other day, but refreshed for one day, so we ran out of coffee and loo roll on a regular basis. No bath robes in the room ‘due to COVID’ but aren’t towels more personal, it seemed that they were just cutting costs. The outdoor furniture was piled up in a heap, on the upper sun deck, so the hotel looked to be closed.
Thank goodness for Carlos (trainee) on breakfast reception and Lennie a server at breakfast who were terrific and actually spoke, and were interested. The breakfast was good and all precautions possible taken including mask wearing, using disposable gloves and temperature checks whilst you were there. The main reception staff either ignored customers or were hidden in the back office. Everywhere was very quiet and soul-less, far more could have been done create a warm welcome for so few guests, so very disappointed with the Melia. But loved Madeira even if we were forced home by the tour operator 6 days early.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neuza Barreto, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded Nov 16, 2020
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and for your comments! It is with our guest’s comments and suggestions that we can improve our services. Your special mention of Carlos and Lenine will be shared internally with all and much appreciated. We are glad to hear you have loved our beautiful Madeira island, and we are sorry that you had to leave earlier than expected. In a pandemic phase, unfortunately some of our services have suffered some restrictions, such as the in room amenities and the room cleaning, in accordance with the Directorate-General for Health’s guidelines and with certification ‘Stay Safe with Melia’ by Bureau Veritas; we do hope to return to normality in a near future. The room cleaning is scheduled for every other day, however if requested by the guest we will provide this service daily. We have removed all bathrobes, slippers, notepads and pens from guests’ rooms. Should guests require any of these items they are available upon request at the Hotel Reception Desk. We do hope to have another opportunity in a near future to welcome you back to Melia Madeira Mare. Kind regards,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul S wrote a review Oct 2021
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here for 2 nights in September, and really enjoyed it, so came back for 6 nights in October. Delighted to be upgraded from an executive room, to a corner suite, which is just wonderful, incredibly spacious.

It's a very spacious hotel, on a large hillside site, so it flows down the hill, in tiers. There's tons of outside space, with several terraces completely empty, so you can sit anywhere in peace & quiet. WiFi works everywhere.
The outside pool area is really nice, and also I enjoy the breakfast buffet. Everyone has to wear plastic gloves, and a mask when you're not eating, so I feel the covid measures are very good.

Indoor pool is medium sized, and almost empty, I had it to myself today for 40 minutes. You have to book the gym to use it, as staffing has obviously been cut due to all the economic problems, which I understand & can forgive.

There are some minor maintenance issues, but nothing which in any way spoiled my visit, and you have to remember they're recovering from a shutdown/lockdown, and taking that into account I think the facilities & value for money are wonderful.

Above all, what stands out here, is how courteous & kind the staff are. Everyone wants to offer great service, with a smile. I feel very much at home here, thanks for the people. Highly recommended. I'm working remotely here, on my laptop, and it's a great spot for that. Walkable into Funchal too, and plenty of local bar/restaurant/supermarkets.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: It's worth paying more for a better room, with an ocean view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tina Nobrega, Other at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded Nov 6, 2021
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for reviewing us and for your kind and detailed comments. Much appreciate your making mention of our team who are indeed committed in providing warm, welcoming and friendly hospitality services to all those who choose to stay with us and your commendation will be passed on internally. We sincerely hope to have contributed to a safe, relaxing and memorable holiday experience for you during your time with us and thank you for your preference. With kind regards, Tina de Nobrega - GEX Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cindy A wrote a review Sep 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is our 4th time at this resort. Service, food and spa is amazing. Given the current climate use of masks inside the hotel and most services still available.
We took the option of half board and the hotel provided us option to partner with other well known restaurants for dinner which were incredible. We will definitely come back again. Service, hospitality and stay is well worth your money at this 5 star hotel
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Neuza Barreto, Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Madeira Mare
Responded Sep 10, 2020
Dear Valued Guest Many thanks for taking time in reviewing us. We appreciate your positive comments very much!!! We're delighted your stay with us was most enjoyable and that our services and facilities met with your satisfaction once again. We look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Madeira Mare in the near future and thank you for your preference.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from GENERAL_LEE_VA
McLean, Virginia17 contributions25 helpful votes
Honestly don't know but the front desk crew is pretty good at answering emails.... Good Luck!!! LEE
Mememe673 asked a question Jan 2024
Terrebonne, Canada1 contribution
How much is the spa access?
Answer from Alan H
Yeovil, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
Sorry but do not use it
nia162018 asked a question Apr 2022
County Galway, Ireland1 contribution
Is this hotel convenient to go for swim in sea?
Funchal, Portugal8 contributions
Yes, we have a small pebble cobble beach as well as a public swimming pool complex with sea access within 100m ! Many thanks!
Funchal, Portugal8 contributions
Hi, the superior ocean view rooms are located on a higher floor level and some do have sunloungers with a larger than normal front sea view room balcony. The Master Suites have extraordinarily large balcanies. Many Thanks.
Funchal, Portugal8 contributions
Full board includes breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lunch is at the poolside bar with menu, dinner can be either buffet or table D´hôte. Drinks are not included. Many thanks..
agi wrote a tip May 2024
35 contributions8 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very loud music from outside bar. Good free car park."
Read full review
Madrika91 wrote a tip May 2024
Budapest, Hungary136 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay in ocean-view room, it is really worth!!"
Read full review
VickyB639 wrote a tip Apr 2024
Holywood, United Kingdom48 contributions34 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Superior Sea view rooms have an amazing terrace."
Read full review
GENERAL_LEE_VA wrote a tip Apr 2024
McLean, Virginia17 contributions25 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just go and thank me later!!!"
Read full review
Leslie W wrote a tip Feb 2024
Arden, North Carolina23 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Winter is an excellent time to be there. Centrally located in the hotel district, in walking distance of some great restaurants. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Funchal area.
PRICE RANGE
C$209 - C$317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
melia madeira mare hotel funchal, melia madeira mare resort and spa, sol melia funchal
LOCATION
PortugalMadeira IslandsMadeiraFunchal
NUMBER OF ROOMS
220
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Melia Madeira Mare - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Melia Madeira Mare
Which popular attractions are close to Melia Madeira Mare?
Nearby attractions include Passeio Público Marítimo e Jardins do Lido (0.2 km), Jardim Panorâmico (0.4 km), and Orchid Gifts of Madeira (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Melia Madeira Mare?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Melia Madeira Mare?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Melia Madeira Mare?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Melia Madeira Mare?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melia Madeira Mare?
Conveniently located restaurants include Indian Palace Restaurant, Sabor da India, and Lido’s Tavern.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melia Madeira Mare?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Melia Madeira Mare have airport transportation?
Yes, Melia Madeira Mare offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Melia Madeira Mare?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Melia Madeira Mare offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Melia Madeira Mare?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, and Portuguese.
All Funchal HotelsFunchal Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in FunchalHotels near Melia Madeira Mare
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars