We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Show Prices
#32 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 965: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had booked a suite. On arrival we was escorted from the main building to the next building. I believe the room we have belongs to someone and they empty it during the quiet months and let others use there room. The pictures I post will be of a sea view suite Most of the other rooms in this building...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
PestanaBay, Gestor at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Pestana Bay Hotel for your holidays and for your review on TripAdvisor, which deserves our best attention. Your feedback is very important for us and will help us to improve our services in the future. Your remarks have been duly taken note of and will be forwarded to the departments in charge. Please accept...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a great hotel would definately recommend, we had a lovely room overlooking the pool, plenty of sunbeds, the staff were ever so friendly and the food wa excellent especially the gala meal on Christmas Eve all waiter service and again what a fantastic assortment of food for New Years Eve. Thank you everyone for a great holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stanley u
PestanaBay, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference and for your review on TripAdvisor, which deserved our best attention. We are very glad to acknowledge your satisfaction while staying with us. Thank you for this opportunity as for your kind words and recommendation to future guests. We will be pleased to welcome you once again in a near future. Yours sincerely,...

berkshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want a nice quiet hotel, with the roar of the Atlantic to invigorate you, this is the place. If you want nightlife, then go somewhere else.! All rooms face the sea. We wanted the former and it suited us very well. Staff are delightful. It's all inclusive food and wine. All quite palatable, and once you got the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nefertari2
PestanaBay, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Pestana Bay Hotel and for your comments on TripAdvisor, which are very important for us. Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy to acknowledge your satisfaction. We would like to thank as well your recommendation to future guests. Hope we have the chance to welcome you back. With our best regards,...

Espoo, Finland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our holiday at Pestana Bay was a very pleasant one. The location is great about 5 kilometers from Funchal just by the sea. Our room was very nice and quiet with amazing sea view. Cleaning every day. Very helpful and friendly staff. The food was good and plenty of variety. The shuttle bus worked very well, many times a day...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ritva M
PestanaBay, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference and your review on TripAdvisor, which is very special for us. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your holidays with us while visiting Madeira Island. Thank you for allowing us to provide you memorable moments and for all your kind words about our services and staff. They are most...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Exellent service and very good stuff. Location was perfekt. Silent by other turist and noisy by Atlantic sea. Free bus to town and back. Food was good and variable with traditional methods. Sauna was good but not with dressing room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tea M
PestanaBay, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Pestana Bay Hotel and for your review on TripAdvisor, which is very important for us. We are very happy to know that you had a lovely stay in our company. Thank you for giving us this opportunity. Hope we have the chance to meet again. With our best wishes, The Management

Castleford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a room with sea view, this is lovely for looking out, but can be noisy at times when the sea is rough. (Not a lot you can do about this). Weather was good, only had rain on one day.New year fireworks in Funchal were spectacular. There is a kettle in the room,great for late night cups of tea!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Muvver57
PestanaBay, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference and for your review on TripAdvisor, which is very special for us. We are very happy to know that you had a lovely New Year's season with us. Thank you for giving us this opportunity and for your kind words. Hope we have the chance to meet again in a near future. With...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a week at the start of Dec16. Room had a great view of the ocean, love the sound of the waves on the pebbles. Food was good, (I'm a fussy eater!) good idea for the help yourself drinks station for wine and sangria and the outside bar for beer, the only thing I would say is that the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sallykate62
PestanaBay, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your preference and for your review on TripAdvisor, which is very special for us. We are very grateful to read your satisfaction along your stay with us and to know that we managed to provide you memorable moments. Your remarks concerning the drinks have also been noted and will be forwarded to the department in...

norton,cleveland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose this hotel based on the described facilities and location - but was disappointed by both....... - No Heated pool even though it said there was one - far too cold to swim in - The "GYM" had only a few machines - no weights, equipment or instruction - During my stay they closed one of the two bars....even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rkell2004
PestanaBay, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Pestana Bay Hotel for your New Year's holidays and for your review on TripAdvisor, which deserves our best attention. We would like to thank your kind words about our staff. They are most appreciated. We assure you we have taken duly note of all your comments in order to improve our service to the...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very welcoming check in. Comfortable rooms, with stunning sea views. Lovely location for strolling or longer walks. Courtesy bus great for getting you into Funchal and back quickly and runs frequently throughout the day. Food in the restaurant was varied and of good quality, unfortunately the dining experience was spoiled, at times, by items not replenished quickly or being kept...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela H
PestanaBay, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Pestana Bay Hotel for your Christmas holidays. Thank you as well for your review on TripAdvisor, which is very important for us. We are very happy to know that you had a lovely time during this season with us. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to provide you memorable moments and for all...

Suffolk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We checked in on 21st December for our weeks stay...we were in room 1004...our friends who had arrived an hour or so earlier were in 607...our room overlooked the beautifully maintained gardens, which we didn't mind as we could still hear the sea rolling over the rocky pebbled beach...(our friends hail from near Westward Ho! so was home from home...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LadyleeSuffolk
PestanaBay, Gestor at Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback and we hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. We look forward to serving...

1,062 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (831)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (190)
Viewed
View from Room (110)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (95)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
1:44
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (325)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (220)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Junior Suite (36)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Studio (26)
Viewed
Suite (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
2.0 km away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#22 of 86 in Funchal
2,133 reviews
1.2 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,718 reviews
3.3 km away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 4 in Santa Cruz
930 reviews
1.4 km away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,055 reviews
22.4 km away
Savoy Calheta Beach
Savoy Calheta Beach
#2 of 8 in Calheta
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel

Address: Praia Formosa, Funchal, Madeira 9000-247, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: $146 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Bay Hotel Madeira
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel Madeira/Funchal, Portugal
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Family Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#36 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
158 questions
Ask a question
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (158)

Questions? Get answers from Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher floor the better we were on 2 which was great”
 of 5 bubbles 503stanleyu, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All face the sea. The higher the better view.”
 of 5 bubbles nefertari2, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are nice with sea view and kitchenette. ”
 of 5 bubbles RitvaM729, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had room 517 very end room along corridor. Good veiw but would perhaps of liked one more to the centre of corridor. Would recommend a high floor as ground floors look quite dark”
 of 5 bubbles brendasiddles, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms have a more stunning view.”
 of 5 bubbles MandyR6, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay