We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alto Lido Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alto Lido Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

547 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alto Lido Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 214: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015

On arrival we were asked if we would like to be upgraded at no cost. We found ourselves in a second floor studio apartment which had recently been renovated including a new laminated floor. We had a partial sea view and a adequate balcony from which we saw a pod of dolphins and a loose raft of cory shearwaters. Both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johng7930yu
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Upland, California, United States
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We stayed here for a week in July on a time-share swap. The hotel's location is fairly convenient to both Funchal (about 2 miles but up hill on the return--free hotel shuttle with very limited departure times) and tourist activities, mall, etc. The room was clean and the kitchen functional. Our only real complaints were the lack of an ocean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mouseparade
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2015

The hotel was faultlessly clean and the reception was bright and airy but parts of the hotel looked rather tired and dated, e.g. the dining room. The hotel itself is rather a maze and we had to take two lifts and walk down long corridors to get to and from our rooms! The staff were friendly but communication was poor;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diamond2607
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Went in February and had a great time. All staff were great nothing was to much trouble and very helpful had a great time, will go back. Funchal has changed a lot since the land slip especially along the sea front, well thought out and making it look good!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bob P
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewed 1 July 2015

We have spent 6 nights in this hotel and came home very satisfied. I have to point out that we have never stayed in a more quiet hotel, no noise, no doors banging in the morning, we could sleep as much as we wanted which is not common is such huge hotels. We rented a car so the hotel gave...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maja M
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Haverhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2015

This hotel was very nice and would be wonderful if the staff where helpful. The hotel run a courtesy bus three times a day into Funchal which we used on a couple of occasions the last time we used the bus it didn't turn up for the return journey. We had to get a taxi back and when we complained...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Allan J
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2015

I was transferred to this hotel from their partner hotel. The room was nice and big, mini kitchen with Oven. Not far from the city centre and supermarket nearby. The reception staff where extremely friendly. I would disagree with the previous comments about rude staff.. sometimes guests themselves are difficult and rude themselves and don't even realise it. For example,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rickyfaria
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

This is a 4* hotel, but the rating is not deserved. It is quite outdated and the service from staff is really poor. We went here, due to an offer, we paid 550€ for 2 including breakfast for a week, including flight from Copenhagen. From that perspective, we were quite happy here. The appartments are in 2 buildings, one to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pean
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Utah
Reviewed 14 May 2015

This was an RCI exchange for us, and one of our best. The bed was firm and comfortable; a sofa provided a sitting area, and we had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool, which we used. Our 5th floor location gave a good view onto the sea. We never ate in the restaurant, which seemed to be packed with tour...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank mule54
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

Balsall Common, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2015

Alto Lido provides clean, quiet and spacious accommodation and for us it was good value for money. We were given a large room (with twin beds pushed together), bathroom, pleasant balcony overlooking the swimming pool, a well- equipped kitchen with a spacious adjoining guest bedroom which had its own bathroom and separate balcony and TV. The sofa- bed in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Alto Lido Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back in the future. With kind regards to you and your family. Miguel Grosse Reception Supervisor

452 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Other (59)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (243)
Viewed
ADA Acessible Room (20)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Double Room (21)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (13)
Viewed
Junior Suite (27)
Viewed
One Bedroom Apartment (41)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Studio (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 km away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#44 of 87 in Funchal
693 reviews
0.7 km away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#21 of 87 in Funchal
156 reviews
1.4 km away
Duas Torres
Duas Torres
#41 of 87 in Funchal
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#42 of 87 in Funchal
308 reviews
5.8 km away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#35 of 87 in Funchal
348 reviews
1.4 km away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#45 of 87 in Funchal
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Alto Lido Hotel

Address: Estrada Monumental 316, Funchal, Madeira 9000-100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: $79 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Lido Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Alto Lido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Lido Funchal
Alto Lido Hotel Madeira/Funchal, Portugal
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alto Lido Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Dundee, United Kingdom
Lacombe
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Dorset

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Alto Lido Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Travelled with RCI so you probably won't get one.”
 of 5 bubbles AlanR901, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take a room with the garden view (very nice view + evening sun), but not in the left corner (its nozy).”
 of 5 bubbles jazzband88, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms, better views on higher floors,”
 of 5 bubbles ChristopherW1779, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 14th floor good view”
 of 5 bubbles kevbartlett123, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Main tower, sea/allotment view, high as possible above road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles SarahMcNicol66, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5