We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Madeira Regency Cliff

Show Prices
#12 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Madeira Regency Cliff
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,079 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 866: English reviews
Start your review of Madeira Regency Cliff
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Ticked all the boxes for a week in the sun. Easy transfer from airport. Relaxed hotel with friendly efficient staff, waiter service evening meals which were of a choice of set menus or a la carts. Set in a perfect location for sightseeing and shopping, seaviews for every room, pool sauna gym.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacqui h
PEAK DISTRICT ENGLAND
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a fabulous time in this lovely hotel. From our arrival to our departure, we couldnt have been more comfortable. The staff are just lovely and nothing is too much trouble. I stayed with My Father , his first trip back to this hotel after my Mums passing away and the way the Manager and staff treated us was with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MOUSEHOUSE43
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is just outside central Funchal but buses 1 and 2 stop almost outside and quickly take you right into town (about 10 minutes ride) This hotel is adults only and no more than 60 rooms and offers a really friendly atmosphere and personal service The breakfasts are self service with waiters bringing you tea or coffee to your...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Wacky the Wizard
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A return visit to Madeira after 5 years, the Regency Cliff has retained its essential character but looks modern and fresh. The staff are all helpful and anxious to please and this is reflected in the relaxed atmosphere in the hotel. The breakfasts are a buffet of hot and cold - fruit cereals juice meats egg bacon sausages toast cobs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bigfrank49
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Madeira Regency Cliff. It was a great pleasure to welcome you again. We hope to see you soon, With Kind Regards Iolanda Fernandes General Manager

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for our Golden Wedding Anniversary and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were well looked after. They did not know on arrival that it was our wedding anniversary but we were upgraded to a premium room for the superior room we had booked with two balconies, great views, spacious room and were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris H
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delightd to learn that you had a wonderful holiday and that you were pleased with the service provided. Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you, With Kind Regards Iolanda Fernandes General Manager

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from two weeks at this hotel. Very pleasant stay in a comfortable room on the 4th floor. Originally had a room on the 5th floor but this was directly underneath the dining room and terrace and very noisy. Room was changed quickly although we did pay quite a hefty supplement. All staff, apart from a couple of waiters,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thatsawelcome
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are pleased to learn that overall you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for your comment which had our best attention. Rest assured that we will take into consideration all your observations. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future. With Kind Regards Iolanda Fernandes General Manager

Woking
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

How people can rate this as 5 stars beggars belief. They clearly haven't lived. The service is underwhelming. The atmosphere is more typical of an old folks home. The food is decidedly the poor side of average. Why put tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms if you don't restock them. On the plus side the views from the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JonathanHWoking
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is always with regret that we acknowledge that we did not manage to fulfill our guests expectations and for this we sincerely apologize. W value all opinions as they help us to maintain and improve our services. Rest assured that we will take into consideration all your comments. With Kind Regards Iolanda Fernandes General Manager

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent the last week here and had a most enjoyable time. All staff throughout the hotel were welcoming and helpful, We arranged to be collected at the airport and we couldn't have been better welcomed - the driver Is an asset to the company. The buffet breakfast eaten either out on the terrace or inside when we had a few...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gillian S
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Madeira Regency Cliff with Trip Advisor readers. We are very pleased to acknowledge that you had a most enjoyable stay and that you will certainly recommend the hotel. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you once again, With Kind Regards Iolanda Fernandes General Manager

Aylesford, Kent
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just enjoyed another 3 week holiday at this fantastic hotel where we always receive a very warm welcome from the management and staff, they are always so friendly, courteous and most helpful at all times. This was our 9th visit and we hope there will be many more! We just love the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BryanandSue
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing once again Madeira Regency Cliff as your hotel in Madeira. We thank you for your continued loyalty and preference. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your 9th stay and we all look forward to welcome you, With Warm Regards Iolanda Fernandes General Manager

Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had another excellent stay, this was our fourth stay, but the first time for Christmas & New Year, we recommend to anybody to go at this time, if only once, the lights and fireworks are spectacular.Already booked for Christmas & New Year again this year. The staff and management are excellent and will help you in any way they...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank vernonhow
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your continued loyalty and preference. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed once again your holiday. Madeira Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you, With Warm Regards Iolanda Fernandes General Manager

815 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (507)
Viewed
View from Room (87)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (113)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (170)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (222)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Junior Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Suite (37)
Viewed
Superior Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (71)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,618 reviews
0.7 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
768 reviews
3.1 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.8 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: $126 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal, Portugal
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Madeira Regency Cliff staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question
Kent
over a year ago
london
20 days ago

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Madeira Regency Cliff staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“even though there is a buffet set out for breakfast-do ask if you like any other way of your eggs cooking -they will happily oblige”
 of 5 bubbles MOUSEHOUSE43, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“4th floor and lower”
 of 5 bubbles Thatsawelcome, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for a third or fourth floor on one of the side corridor us”
 of 5 bubbles JonathanHWoking, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We chose a superior room which gave us a spacious room with a balcony and seaward facing. It was quiet which we appreciated.”
 of 5 bubbles 557gillians, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“3 floor and 4 floor .....and choose a room with sea view......”
 of 5 bubbles eagle007, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5