We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Madeira Regency Cliff

Show Prices
#12 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Madeira Regency Cliff
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,099 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Madeira Regency Cliff
See the most recent reviews
Showing 883: English reviews
Liverpool
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I have just come back from Madeira after a weeks holiday and it wasn't long enough. I am a single traveller and have had varied experiences with rooms. HOwever, I couldn't fault this room. I had upgraded through jet2.com to a superior sea view room and the room was spacious which is a bonus when often as a single traveller...

 Report
Helpful?
15Thank Alison C
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel. Regarding our rooms, we do not have single rooms; we have double rooms for single use, which is why you had a very spacious. We look forward to welcoming you in a very near future. Kind Regards Iolanda Fernandes...

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Just returned from Madeira, staying at the Regency Cliff. Hotel is absolutely spotless. Staff are courteous, friendly and extremely knowledgeable. It was just fabulous to sit on the terrace having breakfast with the most amazing view of the coastline and sea. We requested two rooms together on the 4th floor, and that is exactly what we got. The lunch menu,...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank amber573
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, which I will share with the whole Team. We are very pleased to learn that your enjoyed your holiday. We hope to see you back in a very near future. Kind Regards Iolanda Fernandes General Manager

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We have just returned from a great fortnight at the Regency Cliff. Everyone was courteous and professional from the lady who kept our room spotless to senior management. A special mention has to go to Mogda one of the waitrsses who never stopped smiling at mealtimes and always ready with help and advise if needed. The only thing I woiuld...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank roy p
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to learn that you had a great holiday. Regarding our courtesy transfers, at the moment we have two journeys in the morning to the centre and two journeys back to the hotel. However, there several ways to go to city and the less expensive is...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just returned from our 4th - yes 4th time at the Regency Cliff Hotel. We keep going back for many reasons. First of all it's in Madeira, then there's the location, the friendly and very helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble. Add on the marvellous views from our room and the terrace restaurant, the food, particularly the buffet breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank RonCoom
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your continued preference during the past years. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed, once again, your holiday in our hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you next year, With Warm Regards Iolanda Fernandes General Manager

Armoy, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We have just returned from our stay at the Regency Cliff. Spotless hotel, professional and courteous staff. Large room with balcony. Good selection at breakfast buffet. But the highlight has to be the Terrace, looking out over the sea. Amazing! You can have breakfast, lunch or dinner served on the terrace and there is also additional seating if you just...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank bellaone50
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are glad know that you enjoyed your stay and that you would not hesitate to recommend our hotel. We hope to see you back in a very near future. Kind Regards Iolanda Fernandes General Manager

cleveland
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My wife and I stayed for the second time June 18 for two weeks. We requested and upgrade to a corner room direct to the hotel and all we asked for was done to the letter. The fact that this was our second visit in nine months and we will visit again in the next year after Teneriffe (Oct.) and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank billogbob
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed once again your holiday in our hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you next year, With Warm Regards Iolanda Fernandes General Manager

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the hotel and have found in very well presented with good facilities and very friendly staff. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to our friends. The hotel is reasonably small and quiet, which is what we like, and located well out of the town centre but it is within walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mcfly54
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your opinion. We are glad to learn that overall you enjoyed your holiday and that you would not hesitate to recommend Regency Cliff to your friends. Regarding the evening meals we have 3 times per week thematic Buffets including a variety of salads, 5 main courses and 6 different deserts. On the other days...

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We just came back from a week in Madeira in this hotel. It is a very nice (small scale) hotel with excellent service and friendly staff. The highlight of the hotel in our opinion is the beautiful terrace with a nice view over the coast line and the sea. Every morning we enjoyd a fantastic breakfast in the sun on...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sander78
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff. Our Restaurant Mistral has in fact a beautiful terrace from which it is possible to enjoy a fantastic view of the ocean. The terrace is open all day but the service hours are: 07h30 till 11h30 and 17h30...

Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We needed a short 5 day break somewhere warm and we looked again at Madeira, we did look around at other hotels just for variation but we decided that we couldn't fault the Madeira Regency Cliff last time we were there so it was crazy to try somewhere else. Evening meals were excellent,(we were half board) and the staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank jim o
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Madeira Regency Cliff. It was indeed with great pleasure that we welcomed you for the 2nd time. We sincerely hope to see you back next December, With Warm Regards Iolanda Fernandes General Manager

UK
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic week at the Regency Cliff in June. This was our first holiday in Madeira and we are pleased to say we made our choice on the basis of TA Reviews; we were certainly not disappointed. Everything about the hotel exudes excellence. The only issue one could raise was that one of the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank CDinNI
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for your contribution which I am sure will help future guests. We are most pleased to learn that you had a good experience at Madeira Regency Cliff and that you were not disappointed with your choice. I would only like to clarify Trip Advisor readers about the CAR PARKING. We have in total 12 parking places:...

818 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (510)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (113)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
View from Room (87)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (173)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (222)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Beach (1)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Junior Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (19)
Viewed
Suite (37)
Viewed
Superior Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (71)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
2,714 reviews
0.7 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
784 reviews
3.1 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.8 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa Quinta da Calaca 6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Price Range: $129 - $691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal, Portugal
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Madeira Regency Cliff staff and other travellers.
36 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (36)

Questions? Get answers from Madeira Regency Cliff staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room above ground level (Level 1) for better views and privacy”
JohnP909, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We suggest the third floor”
Widdy4, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avoid floor 1 and views from the eastern side may be more interesting but all views are of sea.”
jimmR428IE, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all overlook the sea.”
keithm470, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms caught the sun and overlooked the pool area”
K7052IKpaulm, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5