We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

623 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 259: English reviews
Start your review of Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
 Click to rate
Monteverde
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed 5 nights & received a special discount that made this place even more of a great deal. The former monastery is part of Portugal's "pousada" system which adaptively reuses historic landmarks as hotels. This one on the outskirts of Guimaraes is typical-- wonderful setting, great staff, very nice rooms, and a fantastic breakfast included! Beautiful gardens too ;-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scotty23
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night in Feb and could not have been any happier. The staff are friendly and the room and hotel were just perfect. We spend ages just exploring the many public rooms and marvelling at the surroundings. Don't forget to explore the gardens as well and find the pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Washougal, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The town has lots to offer--a castle, a palace, nice shopping and eating areas--a car would be needed to get from the Pousada to the main part of town. BUT, it is an elegant property with a huge garden and forested area behind the building. The hallway of rooms is as long as a football field, and there are many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drkiki2015
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Pousada itself is beautiful- lovely garden, pool etc. The building is vast. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. However, the bar was not open when we went for drinks which was disappointing at the end of a day sightseeing. On our second night we bought wine and had drinks on the balcony at the end of the building overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heatherjanice
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães and for taking the time to post your opinion, as it helps us to get better. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet all your expectations. We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal. Best Regards, The Management

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This was the first stop in our Saga tour 'Postcards from Portugal' and was a scary drive to the top of a hill. The hotel is a former monastery so was very beautiful and well maintained. The lounges were very well appointed but the rooms were either modern 'cell' refurbishments which were tiny and along a very long corridor or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DuchessofJericho
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães and for taking the time to post your opinion, as it helps us to get better. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet all your expectations. We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal. Best Regards, The Management

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We were travelling through Douro Valley and had stayed in a very modern hotel , then a lovely traditional family hotel and finally this a Pousada. We chose it because of its history and location to Guimares old city and the cable car. It really is the most beautiful old building with beautiful formal gardens. The desk staff are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank megeenmurray
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to thank you! We were delighted to read the kind comments on the performance and attitude of our team and their services as our facilities provided by the Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães. We pride ourselves on our product and we work daily to achieve the lawful expectations of our guests, so it pleases us to...

Reviewed 27 December 2016

Almost everything was excellent. We had a lovely room at the front in the modern section of the hotel. The room was spacious and had a large window with a view. The staff were helpful and the breakfast was adequate but not spectacular, gardens were beautiful and defiantly worth a look. The large lounge area had an inviting open fire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pammelb
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Sta. Marinha and for taking the time to post your opinion, as it helps us to get better. We take all feedback seriously and we hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future. Best wishes.

Hendaye, France
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Everything was just perfect, the historical building can be a destination on its own. There are many corners inside the building where you can just sit and relax or read and it feels like walking through a museum. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly with an excellent knowledge of English. The rooms are the former monk cells, and include...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Helmut F
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted to hear you have enjoyed staying at Pousadas de Portugal. We would love to welcome you again, Kind Regards

Reviewed 15 November 2016

This is a remarkable place to stay. Together, the grounds and the pousada are vast. Everywhere you have the impression of being rather lost in huge spaces and high ceilings. Nevertheless, it is a human space, brilliantly remodeled with a perfect harmony between history and a large degree of modernity and comfort. The grounds were certainly magnificent in their time,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

Dear Customer, thank you for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes. The Management

Belfast, Maine
Reviewed 5 November 2016

We truly loved our stay at the pousada, and wouldn't have changed a thing. The beauty extends far past the monastery itself. Stroll through the gardens and along the pathways to experience peace and tranquility. Our dining experiences were exceptional, and the staff was flawless in their attention to detail. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gregszumilas
Maria S, Manager at Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes, responded to this review

We were delighted to read the kind comments on the performance and attitude of our team and their services as our facilities provided by the Pousada Mosteiro de Guimarães. We pride ourselves on our product and we work daily to achieve the lawful expectations of our guests, so it pleases us to know that we were able to provide a...

738 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (695)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (241)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Other (263)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guimaraes
0.1 km away
Hotel da Oliveira
Hotel da Oliveira
#2 of 19 in Guimaraes
434 reviews
0.4 km away
Santa Luzia Arthotel
Santa Luzia Arthotel
#4 of 19 in Guimaraes
115 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel de Guimaraes
Hotel de Guimaraes
#3 of 19 in Guimaraes
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
EMAJ Boutique Hotel
EMAJ Boutique Hotel
#9 of 19 in Guimaraes
109 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Toural
Hotel Toural
#5 of 19 in Guimaraes
246 reviews
15.1 km away
Melia Braga Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the city of Guimaraes, the Culture Capital of Europe 2012, you find the majestic Pousada de Santa Marinha, National Award of Architecture in 1985. The Pousada is a result of the restoration of the Monastery dos Agostinhos from the twelfth century. It is around 2 km from the historical centre of the city (classified as a Heritage Site by UNESCO). The Pousada de Santa Marinha is a fantastic escape, where tranquillity is an absolute certainty. Possessing a magnificent view of Guimaraes and considered the cradle city a cultural capital in 2012, where the first king of Portugal, D. Afonso Henriques was born. Guests can enjoy the outdoor pool or take walks through the scenic gardens of the Pousada or through the mountains of the historical city of Guimaraes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes

Address: Largo Domingos Leite Castro | Lugar da Costa, Guimaraes 4810-011, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Braga District > Guimaraes
Price Range: $118 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Guimaraes Santa Marinha Hotel Guimaraes
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guimaraes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Historic rooms are on the 5th floor (old monastic cells), but the newer rooms on the 2nd floor are larger”
 of 5 bubbles scotty23, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a city or garden/forested view, depending on your preferences”
 of 5 bubbles drkiki2015, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The older rooms seem preferential but not available for solo travellers.”
 of 5 bubbles DuchessofJericho, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There is a modern wing where tour groups stay but it lacks the charm of the older portions of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 528denisee, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The rooms in the old part of the building have lots of atmosphere and good views”
 of 5 bubbles Fkm20142014, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5