Central Hotel

Central Hotel

View of the Acropolis from the rooftop restaurant.
Traveller (1019)
Room & Suite (468)
Thea Terrace Bar at the Central Hotel Athens
Dining (167)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#61 of 336 hotels in Athens
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Enjoy a brief business trip or discover the Ancient Greek civilization in the area around the hotel and relax in our completely renovated rooms with the stunning views of the Acropolis. All rooms are designed to meet the highest standards of accommodation and feature upscale furnishing and decoration.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Car park
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Rooftop terrace
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Rooftop bar
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, German, Greek, Italian

Location

Apollonos 21, Athens 105 57 Greece
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Athens Intl Airport
19.3 km
See all flights
Syntagma
5 minAthens Metro
Monastiraki
7 minAthens Metro
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles2,332 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Central Hotel's rooftop is a gem, boasting breathtaking Acropolis views and top-notch dining, despite the occasional hiccup in service and breakfast variety. Travelers frequently commend the hotel for its prime location, cleanliness, and value, noting the convenience to major sights without sacrificing a peaceful night's rest. The ambiance of the hotel is described as stylish and modern, complementing its vibrant setting. While the rooms are celebrated for their cleanliness and views, a few guests have pointed out that space is at a premium.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Stylish
Rooms
Cozy
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Friendly
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
2,332Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 884
  • 1,063
  • 291
  • 68
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Peter G wrote a review Sep 2022
Sydney, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Good location. It’s sort of close to everything between the tourist and shopping sectors and not too far to walk from the x95 bus to the airport.

Afternoon checkin staff are lovely. The morning team are more functional.

Breakfast is a good selection.

The room was a good size but the bathroom a little compact.

Bedding comfortable and air con worked well.

Our acropolis view room did provide a view but you have to open the window and lean out to see it.

Wifi signal was weak and dropped out several times.

We were on level 6 which is immediately below the rooftop restaurant. You can hear sliding of tables and chairs through dinner service until the small hours then about dawn I presume the cleaning crew take over to do their jobs.

I suspect I’d be much happier on any floor apart from level 6.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid level 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ELENI BLOUCHOU, Marketing at Central Hotel
Responded Oct 5, 2022
Thank you very much for your review about Central Athens Hotel. We apologise for any inconvenience and we look forward to welcome you back again in a future trip to Greece!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandy V wrote a review Jul 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
After a week in Kos, we stayed at the Central Hotel for 3 nights to explore Athens before heading back to the States. I was pleasantly surprised! Close to everything. Room was super clean, bed was comfy, and room was quiet! Good water pressure too! Thea’s, the rooftop bar, has a view of the Acropolis that would rival any in the city. Drinks were good and my chicken/pasta dish was excellent! Did I mention the view? The breakfasts had several options-fill up here and head out into the city for the day! ALL staff were friendly and helpful without making it seem like an inconvenience - which is rare these days. Cab to the airport is about 40 euros/45 minutes and the concierge organized it for us. Will definitely stay again if I ever get back to Athens!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ELENI BLOUCHOU, Marketing at Central Hotel
Responded Jul 26, 2022
Thank you very much for your kind words and recommendation about Central Athens Hotel! We will be very happy to welcome you back in a future trip to Athens!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Taleah T wrote a review Jan 2020
Reynella, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I, along with his family stayed at the Central Athens Hotel as three couples. The hotel is very clean and updated. We had three rooms on the same floor, each room was a good size and had all the basics. The only thing that had the potential to be an issue were the see through doors to the bathrooms. My partner and I had a room where the bathroom could be seen from the bed area. My partner and I didn’t mind, however this could be an issue for non-couples.

The roof top bar and restaurant is amazing! The food is good and at a reasonable price. The service is great. We loved having drinks on the roof top bar both inside and out.

The reception staff are helpful. We only had one issue were we were told that we couldn’t book a airport transfer until the day before and when we went to book it, we were told we had not given enough time (even though we came back when they said to). I think this may have been a communication error as we had 6 people and needed a van.

We would stay again :)
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CentralHotelAthens, Guest Relations Manager at Central Hotel
Responded Feb 1, 2020
Thank you for your detailed review and kind comments on Central Athens Hotel. We apologise for the communication error about your airport transfer and we look forward to welcome you back when in Athens again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
latife2021 wrote a review Sep 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a standard room and kept trying to find out if it had a balcony and a view of the acropolis. I even called the hotel but they didn’t have my booking because it was done through a third-party. I booked it through a third-party because there were no rooms available through the hotel. When I eventually arrived at the hotel for five nights that I had already paid for, I was sent to my standard room which was an interior room which I did not know and it looked onto an ugly wall 2 feet away from the window. It was so small and so depressing. Zero art on the wall, no tissues, no hairdryer and a tiny box that you couldn’t even open a suitcase in. I stayed one night out of the five nights but had to pay for all five nights. I couldn’t wait to get out of there and of course no refund was given. I did ask to change rooms but they were full and told me I had to wait two days until reservations was opened again to see if there was any possibility of changing rooms. Needless to say there were no pictures on their website of what my standard room looked like or what the outlook looked like. Absolutely horrible. I have provided a picture of the room.,
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ELENI BLOUCHOU, Marketing at Central Hotel
Responded Oct 5, 2022
Thank you for your review on Central Athens Hotel. We would expect from a professional of tourism, a travel agent like you, to have an unbiased judgement and a different understanding of the procedures within the hotel. You chose which room to book, at the non-refundable price of your convenience and as you understand when the room is not of your expectation and the hotel is fully booked there are very few things that may be done. In any case, we apologise for any inconvenience, and we hope you had an overall nice stay in Athens.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TartanTam2 wrote a review Oct 2023
Tayside
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Decent location with rooftop bar and views of Acropolis but thats as good as it gets for this hotel.
No personal touch. It was our honeymoon and we also requested a parking spot but reception staff were not away. We were stuck in the smallest room possible (112) with a huge mirror opposite the bed (that's NOT what we meant by honeymoon). The toilet/shower room was tiny, and had a faux window to the bedroom so you could see everything that was going on. Wifi in this room kept dropping. Ended up complaining the next morning and despite the night reception offering to swap me rooms at midnight (meaning there were spare rooms) the day stay wanted me to hang about till 12 noon for a room. Eventually got moved room and they gave us a bigger room with a decent size toilet and no dodgy mirror, with working WiFi (511).
Towels were all worn and ready to be thrown out. Was also quite noisy in the hotel rooms.
Beds were not comfortable and linen was poor quality.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you send in special requests, contact the hotel multiple times, so they are forced to read...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ELENI BLOUCHOU, Marketing at Central Hotel
Responded Oct 30, 2023
We deeply apologise for the inconvenience created! We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in a future trip to Athens to best host you in our hotel!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
fisher_eye_lens wrote a review Oct 2023
Campbell River, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Two visits over 4 nights in Athens. Front desk staff was very helpful, had my ferry tickets on hand when i arrived and also helped with transport to airport,
port and train station. It is a very lively, handy and safe location with a great view from the roof and we had a small balcony to view the street traffic. No shortage of anything you might want within footsteps. Close to the gardens as well. And we thought the breakfast offerings were very good. All around, satisfied.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ELENI BLOUCHOU, Marketing at Central Hotel
Responded Oct 30, 2023
Thank you very much for your review and comments about Central Athens Hotel! It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in a future trip to Athens!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kay K wrote a review Aug 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a pleasant stay in this hotel. Rooms are modern with a nice bathroom. Staff was friendly and very helpful.
Breakfast was a bit basic, but sufficient. Due to covid breakfast was served at your table by one of the waiters.
What made this hotel very nice, is the rooftop bar with a beautiful view on the Acropolis. Definitely worth it to have a drink there at night!
Besides the rooftop bar, also the location is great. It’s surrounded with good restaurants (Noodlebar and Sushimou I can recommend) and all the famous historical sites can be reached by foot within 15 minutes of the hotel. Moreover, it’s only 2 minutes from the big shopping street.
Would surely come back to this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ELENI BLOUCHOU, Marketing at Central Hotel
Responded Aug 27, 2020
Thank you for your review and kind comments on Central Athens hotel. As you mentioned, due to Covid19 situation we are obliged to work under certain regulations including the type and handling of food and beverages. It is our pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be happy to welcome you back again, soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
saariritush wrote a review May 2024
haifa
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Hello,
We arrived in Athens in May 2024, and then continued on a trip to the north. We have been in Greece many times and always enjoyed. We were recommended Hotel Central and we signed up for it at the beginning of the trip for 2 nights and at the end of the trip for 1 night. When we arrived for the last night, my partner entered the hotel parking to park the car, and I entered the lobby to receive the room. There were 2 men, one very nice, and the other really not nice, his name is Hanolis. When I asked for the room key, Hanolis informed me that first the parking must be paid in advance.. I told him that the room was prepaid. When my partner arrives at the lobby he will pay for the parking, as we did a week before, in the same hotel. It is not related to the room. I explained that we had come after 6 hours of driving from Ioannina and that I was tired. There was no one to talk to. He even grinned in front of me.
it is certain that providing service is not appropriate. Such suspicion towards returning guests? And for what? After all, get the money for the room a long time in advance. You have already received advance payment for the hotel and two days parking.
If he is an employee of the hotel, you should check compatibility, if he is the owner (I read reviews about him), you should consider whether to take such a hotel.
We travel a lot and spend a lot of time in hotels, not used to this kind of behavior.
I do not recommend the Central Hotel in Athens.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Louise H wrote a review Sep 2020
Swansea, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one day at end of Greek Island hopping trip. Wanted somewhere close to the main attractions we failed to visit last year. Perfect location, walkable to so much. Fantastic rooftop bar/restaurant with excellent service and the view! Dimitros on Reception was incredibly helpful with some things we needed to organise. It will definitely be my go-to hotel whenever I visit Athens next.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ELENI BLOUCHOU, Marketing at Central Hotel
Responded Sep 25, 2020
Thank you for your review and kind comments on Central Athens Hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a nice time in Athens. We look forward to welcome you back again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janice C wrote a review Nov 2022
Longboat Key, Florida
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are a family who really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. They arranged our transfer from the airport to the hotel and then to the cruise port. Breakfast was extensive and varied with both hot and cold items,something for everyone. Everyone was very friendly from the front desk to the breakfast room employees. airconditioning was wonderful and the hotel was very quiet. This is also one of the few hotels which are truly handicap accessible.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ELENI BLOUCHOU, Marketing at Central Hotel
Responded Nov 29, 2022
Thank you for your review and nice comments about Central Athens Hotel! We are very happy you enjoyed our location and services with your family and we look forward to welcome you back in a future trip to our country!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sara F asked a question Feb 2022
Liverpool, United Kingdom98 contributions10 helpful votes
is there tea and coffe facilities in the rooms?
Answer from CentralHotelAthens
Athens, Greece5 contributions1 helpful vote
Good morning and apologies for the belated answer! The area where the rooftop tub used to be is now an additional space of Thea Terrace Bar and Restaurant. Breakfast service is either on the rooftop or the first floor restaurant depending on the COVID 19 guidelines every time.
Steve Sharon L asked a question Jul 2021
Tipton, Indiana69 contributions34 helpful votes
Is there UBER available to get from the airport and around the city while we are there?
Answer from CentralHotelAthens
Athens, Greece5 contributions1 helpful vote
UBER is not working in Greece but there are other taxi apps that could work for you, like Taxiplon or Taxibeat.
Ilayda D asked a question Feb 2020
Istanbul, Türkiye27 contributions9 helpful votes
Do we need reservations for the rooftop?
Answer from surya77
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany441 contributions259 helpful votes
For dinner I would definitely book!!
Miro G asked a question Aug 2019
5 contributions4 helpful votes
Can we smoke in the room
Answer from CentralHotelAthens
Athens, Greece5 contributions1 helpful vote
Good afternoon! Central Athens Hotel is a non-smoking hotel. Thank you for asking.
zorbatheowl wrote a tip Mar 2024
Barnsley, United Kingdom45 contributions57 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room with Acropolis view is well worth booking"
Read full review
anemone wrote a tip Feb 2024
Heraklion, Greece353 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Safe place to stay by your self"
Read full review
Steve P wrote a tip Jan 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The staff are awesome and helped us to make our stay enjoyable, down to organising car hire and drop-off"
Read full review
Lisa D wrote a tip Dec 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia199 contributions87 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Tell the front desk the night before if you’re going to need a taxi and they will order one for you."
Read full review
TartanTam2 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Tayside120 contributions26 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you send in special requests, contact the hotel multiple times, so they are forced to read them....especially if you need parking."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Athens area.
PRICE RANGE
C$194 - C$255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
athens central hotel, central hotel athens
LOCATION
GreeceAtticaAthensSyntagma
NUMBER OF ROOMS
84
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Central Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Central Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Central Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Plaka (0.3 km), Dimos Jewelry (0.2 km), and Ale Blues (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Central Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Central Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Central Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Central Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Central Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Victory Cafe, Symposio Resto Bar, and Vegan Beat.
Is Central Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Athens.
Does Central Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Central Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to Central Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parthenon (0.5 km), Acropolis (0.5 km), and Herod Atticus Odeon (0.7 km).
Is Central Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Athens HotelsAthens Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AthensHotels near Central Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars